We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Okay,...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bethesda Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bethesda Marriott
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Okay,...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights on vacation. Pros: Nice class, rooms/bathrooms were clean, free shuttle to the medical center (metro station). Cons: No microwave or fridge, hotel employees weren't very helpful, room was too hot and the temperature could not be adjusted, lobby was crowded, internet wasn't free (i found out later it was free in the lobby, which the hotel front desk lady didn't mention,...) Overall, not at all a good Marriott.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taylor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    166
    112
    45
    21
See reviews for
100
54
43
194
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DeWitt, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a weekend as a chaperone of a huge 8th grade field trip to DC. Hotel was very nice, very clean and seemed to accommodate the crowds very well without affecting other visitors. Food we ate there was very good as well. Rooms were extremely clean and bathrooms as well. Location was also very good. I was nervous thinking staying this far outside of DC would make a commute into the city take a long time but it never seemed bad. The beds were really comfortable. Slept great!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
83 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is dated, but I came back for the location close to relatives. The front desk must all trained by the same bitter sassy person. Horrible experience at checking in, was lied to about the room, and the staff was not apologetic. When I requested to change the room, he even used a sassy teenager tone to ask if there's anything else. Not a good place for business meetings either. The concierge lunge only opens at certain hours not through out the day. Do not come to this place.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IntBizTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bethesda hotels

San Diego
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I visited this hotel with a group of colleagues on a business trip. When I went to shower in the morning there was no hot water and sadly this was the case for the duration of my 4-day stay in February. While the water was cold, the room was hot and although I turned the thermostat to its lowest setting, warm air continued to come through the vents. There is a Goldylocks pillow situation. They are either very large decorative pillows that will have you sleeping upright or 3 tiny sleeping pillows that, when combined, equal one normal sized pillow. The hotel has a strong perfume smell if you like that sort of thing. This is one of the few hotels in the area without a metro station nearby so transportation is a bit lacking. With all of that being said, the shuttle service has been very accommodating, food was great, the staff has been very pleasant and helpful and the rooms are clean so at least this is working for them.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
Level Contributor
164 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I chose this location because of its proximity to WRNMMC. My family's Platinum Elite status did get us a lovely room upgrade, but that is where the goodness ended. The hotel has a very heavy "air freshener" fragrance that is fed through the ventilation system. Sadly, I am sensitive to perfumes and this made my stay very uncomfortable. There were upholstered chairs in the room that looked so worn and dirty we chose not to use them. Eggs Benedict were served with raw whites, no one bothered to come back to the table, so I just returned to the podium after ten minutes for my check. The management needs to walk the floors and see/smell what the guests do.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GOarmywife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The hotel is great, the rooms were nice and the bed was so comfortable. The staff was good despite the hotel was crowded and sold out. The restaurant is pricey but worth it...great food. I would definetly stay there again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank cnplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Biscayne, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We had been receiving treatments a the NHI and this hotel is the only one that provides transportation at any time to and from the hospital. The rooms are clean, they serve Startbucks all day, the restaurant is expensive but they have a great bar. This hotel is for us the perfect hotel when we are in Bethesta. A great place to rest.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcela b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bethesda hotels
1.9 mi away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#2 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 358 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
#7 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 stars 1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
2.0 mi away
Bethesda Court Hotel
Bethesda Court Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 382 reviews
2.3 mi away
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bethesda Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethesda Marriott

Property: Bethesda Marriott
Address: 5151 Pooks Hill Rd, Bethesda, MD 20814-5499
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bethesda Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bethesda Marriott is a reinvented Bethesda hotel near city attractions- with a newly redesigned lobby, restaurant, and guest rooms. You can experience the transformation of the Bethesda Marriott, a premier Maryland hotel where reinvented guest rooms and lobby, luxury amenities and attentive service set the pace for an exceptional stay. Conveniently situated in the thriving Capital Region northwest of Washington, D.C., the list of things to do is endless as guests find themselves surrounded by hundreds of restaurants, art galleries, museums and shopping. Located only two miles from downtown Bethesda, our hotel's fine services include complimentary shuttle service to the downtown district and other local destinations including the National Institute of Health, Montgomery Mall and the Metro's Red Line which provides continuous service to downtown Washington, D.C. Guests also enjoy direct access to I-270 and I-495 from our sophisticated Bethesda, MD hotel. Boasting 18,500 square feet of flexible, state-of-the-art event space, our hotel is ideal for corporate meetings, professional gatherings and elegant wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Bethesda Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bethesda Marriott Hotel Bethesda
Marriott Bethesda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing