We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“extremely good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
GreenLeadersSilver level
grand rapids
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“extremely good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2009

While the room we had was somewhat small, it was clean and very nice. Maid service was good . We had a special pay in advance rate which made the hotel one of the best values we have ever had in this area. Location is very good, as well and even convenient to go to downtown D.C. Hotel even gave us complimentary continental breakfasts, although that was nothing to write home about. Also space for that was somewhat limited. Maybe rate was lower because of Thanksgiving holidays, but it was less than other similar hotels in area.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    395
    336
    175
    134
See reviews for
328
180
82
657
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2009

The location is great. It is sitting above the subway red line, which bring you to downtown within 30 minutes. Everything in the room is ok, not new or old. No mini fridge. The bed is good to me but a little bit soft for my parents. We lived in the 2nd floor and far from the elevators. So it is still quiet and no view at all. The staff is professional and polite, although she didn't find a room in high level as I requested. Maybe it is because this is a priceline room. Anyway, it is ok overall since the priceline price is 60 including tax. Will consider future stay. ps. There is Nation Health Institute and many other research centers here. Therefore, a lot of conferences are held in this hotel and nearby. Sometimes the hotel will be very busy even not in the tourism season. No free internet.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank macrocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2009

I am student who stayed at this hotel for a conference. The front desk was always busy which did not allow the staff to give the costumers any additional attention. Due to the fact that it is an older hotel there are only three elevators for the all the floors and rooms in the hotel which was also frustrating at times. The architecture of the building causes the building to echo which is also very annoying late at night; the building doesn't seem to get truly quite until around 10:30pm. The rooms were average. Hair dyer was provides. The rooms were cleaned during the day. I think the biggest downfall for me was that it lacked free internet connection which was frustrating. It costs something like 10 dollars (maybe even more) a day for internet... not acceptable. At one point my group asked the help desk where a good restaurant would be to eat at, he told us, but when we got there it was closed, basically no help.
One up side to this hotel is the location because it is right next to the subway, although it takes about 30 minutes to get to DC from this location. However, there are several hotels close to this station, I would stay at one of those.
All in all... you should prob. stay somewhere different.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vjack0887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
219 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2009

We stayed here in October of 2009 for two nights and were really happy with our stay. The hotel is a modern bulding with nice elevators and clean rooms. The location is also very convenient - only 15-20 minutes from downtown Washington (Georgetown is even closer - straight on Wisconsin Ave). The parking in the garage was $10 for overnight parking which was quite reasonable.
Overall, I would definitely recommend a stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, WV
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2009

We pricelined this hotel and had a nice October weekend at this Hyatt in Bethesda. It’s a business persons hotel with all the good and bad that goes with that. The room was clean and spacious. TV had HBO. The lobby was huge. A concierge was on duty at all times. But internet was extra ($11/day), no coffee in the room, and no free breakfast like at a Fairfield Inn for example.
The Metro stop that we used to get into DC is in the basement of the hotel. How convenient is that! We also enjoyed the Capital Crescent rail trail nearby and the vibrant Bethesda restaurant & shopping scene. I refused to pay Hyatt for internet and instead dragged my laptop over to Barnes and Noble for their free wi-fi. A Starbucks is nearby too.
The bottomline is that you get a lot of value by staying in Bethesda. The Hyatt was fine for us, though why they don’t include internet in the price is beyond me.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WVCliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

Sad but the hotel is in need of upgrading and the chain seems ot be ignoring it. The staff are wonderful but with little to work with. For the high prices I would expect more. Yet it is always busy with business travelers. The weekend rates are justified but week day rates are outrageous for the quality of the room.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snjjz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2009

I do think this was probably a nice hotel at some point. It has a great location on top of the metro and is also interconnected to Morton's and the Daily Grill. I read the bad reviews before staying here but did so anyway because we were attending a wedding and this was the hotel that everyone was staying at. We also got a $69/night rate through hotwire which I thought was fair. The rack rate was $99/night which would have been overpriced - in this economy you can find much nicer for $99/night in the Bethesda area. That was the price at the Bethesda Marriott North also, and while the location is not as great, the hotel is about ten million times nicer. Anyway, the service was fine here (nothing to brag about but no complaints either), the hotel was just dingy and really really needed updating... to the point that I was afraid to sit on the chair in the room without being fully clothed because it looked so gross and old. Also, our room REEKED of cigarette smoke, which was not pleasant. There were also stains in the toilet- when I first saw them I thought the toilet was dirty, but I think they were rust stains. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cpapa84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bethesda hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
0.5 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
0.2 mi away
Bethesda Court Hotel
Bethesda Court Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
3.5 mi away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#2 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.5 mi away
American Inn of Bethesda
American Inn of Bethesda
#8 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Property: Hyatt Regency Bethesda
Address: 1 Bethesda Metro Ctr, (7400 Wisconsin Ave), Bethesda, MD 20814-5325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bethesda
#4 Business Hotel in Bethesda
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bethesda
#5 Family Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Bethesda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 12-story atrium welcomes guests to 390 luxurious guestrooms and suites, located directly above the Metro Red Line's Bethesda stop, just 6 miles from the White House. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is located in the heart of downtown Bethesda, one of the most renowned communities in the Washington, D.C. metropolitan area. Bethesda is well known as a lively chic destination with over 200 ethnic restaurants, boutiques, local art galleries and trendy hot spots, all within walking distance of the hotel. Bethesda is also home to many associations and corporations, such as The National Institutes of Health (NIH) and the National Naval Medical Center. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is also nearby Suburban Hospital, Lockheed Martin, Chevy Chase Bank Headquarters, and Clark Construction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hyatt Regency Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Bethesda Hotel Bethesda
Bethesda Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Bethesda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing