We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 1, 2014

The service in this hotel is excellent. The hotel is located about 3 blocks from restaurant row. Many, many choices available. You are greeted by every employee with a warm welcome. The rooms are above average and well maintained.
With every review there are a couple of you can do better. I think it's cheesy to charge $10.00 a day for internet. You can stay at a days in for $39.00 and get free internet. Also, prices for coffee and breakfast items for a continental breakfast are way, way too high.
I would return

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,729)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,195 - 1,201 of 1,729 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2014

A lovely hotel ,close to the Metro this Hyatt rates a 4. The beds are most comfortable and the lack of noise is most appreciated. The desk staff is a pleasure and pets are welcome. Just think: enter the parking lot,take the elevator to the main level, enter the hotel,take another elevator to your room. How easy is that! Although we stayed during late Spring, this convenience would be a plus in the cold months.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annem68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

I stayed at this hotel one night this week, and the experience was OK.

The hotel location is convenient, right on the Bethesda metro station. I could walk to a few restaurants nearby.

Overall, the hotel looks outdated, not what I would expect from a Hyatt Regency.

As a Hyatt Diamond member, I get free breakfast. It took me a while to realize that breakfast was available at the bar, with very few pre-made items. It looks embarrassing for the hotel to charge $18 for some items out of the fridge and a few pastries.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

On a positive note, the hotel is convenient to great restaurants and stores in downtown Bethesda and to the Metro to get into DC. The staff was very helpful and the restaurant next door, outstanding.

I stayed here 10 years ago and remember it being quite a fine hotel. I don't think they've done updating since then and my room definitely showed significant wear & tear and a very outdated look.

I think all hotels should include wireless in the price and there should be updated outlets right by the bed for phone charging.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
4  Thank Groupworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Have stayed here a couple of times when travelling for work. The staff have always been really friendly (not too over the top). The restaurant serves a decent breakfast. The room service menu is not that special (encouraging you to find something outside of the hotel). One of the hotel restaurants is a little pricey, the other is pretty average. The hotel itself is very clean, beds are comfortable, quiet rooms. The gym facility is basic but adequate. I have enjoyed my stays here.

Room Tip: I've had a hotel room facing Wisconsin avenue and even with road works outside it has been fairl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyEats_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

There's a lot to do in Bethesda and the location of the Hyatt Regency makes it easy and convenient for meetings in Bethesda and in DC. Very friendly staff, nice amenities - rooms are a little dated, but very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miguel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

No, I don't blame George III for the shortcomings of this here hotel. Just making a conversation. Easy access to the major highways, subway (metro?), Bethesda Circulator, dining and shopping. Public parking two blocks away, free on weekends - otherwise you are out of 12-20$ per 24 hrs. As in "no free hotel parking". Room - 1 queen bed - was nice and spacious, somewhat updated, but lacking even a smallest of refrigerators. Remember parking? - well, no free anything, unless you are a Diamond member - except for the Washington Post and that other rug I don't recall. The NY Times are available in the gift shop in the lobby with the usual Confederate surcharge. WiFi - kinda slow - would set you back 10 bucks unless you are a Diamond, you know the drill. Gift shop is convenient, but overpriced, as are the on-site restaurants and the 3.75$ bottle of Aquafina water in the room. Don't be surprised when at 7:13 am on a lovely Sunday morning you'd be presented with a serving of tea, coffee, and 2 plain bagels with something masquerading as a cream cheese (13.50 per bagel) which you - purely incidentally did not order.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gordonsmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bethesda hotels
0.5 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
0.2 mi away
Bethesda Court Hotel
Bethesda Court Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bethesda
433 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Bethesda Marriott
Bethesda Marriott
#2 of 11 in Bethesda
135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
3.5 mi away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#6 of 11 in Bethesda
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Address: 1 Bethesda Metro Ctr, (7400 Wisconsin Ave), Bethesda, MD 20814-5325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bethesda
#4 Business Hotel in Bethesda
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bethesda
#5 Family Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range: $114 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Bethesda 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 12-story atrium welcomes guests to 390 luxurious guestrooms and suites, located directly above the Metro Red Line's Bethesda stop, just 6 miles from the White House. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is located in the heart of downtown Bethesda, one of the most renowned communities in the Washington, D.C. metropolitan area. Bethesda is well known as a lively chic destination with over 200 ethnic restaurants, boutiques, local art galleries and trendy hot spots, all within walking distance of the hotel. Bethesda is also home to many associations and corporations, such as The National Institutes of Health (NIH) and the National Naval Medical Center. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is also nearby Suburban Hospital, Lockheed Martin, Chevy Chase Bank Headquarters, and Clark Construction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Bethesda Hotel Bethesda
Bethesda Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Bethesda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing