We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very Convenient for a Business Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very Convenient for a Business Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

There's a lot to do in Bethesda and the location of the Hyatt Regency makes it easy and convenient for meetings in Bethesda and in DC. Very friendly staff, nice amenities - rooms are a little dated, but very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miguel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    377
    316
    153
    110
See reviews for
300
163
80
617
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
143 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

No, I don't blame George III for the shortcomings of this here hotel. Just making a conversation. Easy access to the major highways, subway (metro?), Bethesda Circulator, dining and shopping. Public parking two blocks away, free on weekends - otherwise you are out of 12-20$ per 24 hrs. As in "no free hotel parking". Room - 1 queen bed - was nice and spacious, somewhat updated, but lacking even a smallest of refrigerators. Remember parking? - well, no free anything, unless you are a Diamond member - except for the Washington Post and that other rug I don't recall. The NY Times are available in the gift shop in the lobby with the usual Confederate surcharge. WiFi - kinda slow - would set you back 10 bucks unless you are a Diamond, you know the drill. Gift shop is convenient, but overpriced, as are the on-site restaurants and the 3.75$ bottle of Aquafina water in the room. Don't be surprised when at 7:13 am on a lovely Sunday morning you'd be presented with a serving of tea, coffee, and 2 plain bagels with something masquerading as a cream cheese (13.50 per bagel) which you - purely incidentally did not order.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gordonsmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I stayed at the Hyatt Bethesda from May 28th- May 30th. I was there for a work conference. I stayed in a room with 2 double beds. The rooms were slightly outdated and very basic, but they were clean. It was suitable for a work visit.

The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. I enjoyed dinner at the Daily Grill the first night. Very delicious!

Easy access to the Metro.

The morning of my first conference, I was not thrilled with the breakfast served. I went up to the gift shop to see if they had any yogurt in the refrigerated section. They did not. I asked the clerk behind the desk where I could get fruit and yogurt. He sent me to the Daily Grill restaurant. I ended up paying $14 for yogurt, fruit, and granola. The very next day, I found out they have a little breakfast area in the lobby where you can buy fruit, cereal, yogurt, hard-boiled eggs, etc. I was a bit disappointed that the clerk did not give me this information.

Hotel gym - very small. The pictures were misleading. Very clean.

Here is my biggest complaint - The wi-fi service at this hotel was not free. I had to pay every 24 hrs. for wi-fi, unless I sat in the lobby. I was not going to do work in the lobby. Not only do you have to pay for wi-fi, but there is no cell service in the meeting rooms. This is extremely inconvenient and not practical at all. This hotel seems like a hotel mostly used for conferences and meetings, so I strongly advise they rethink their wireless access.

Overall - clean, food pretty good, friendly staff, terrible wireless access and phone service.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lama1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterman, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

I had an unpleasant experience. Outdated. The rooms were ok but not very clean. We turned on the air conditioning and it blew out a bunch of dirt ad dust. Water bottle in our room was disgustingly dirty. Staff was rude. The highlight was the conference rooms but the ballroom was difficult to get to. Not worth the cost.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank sradtke393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Bethesda, responded to this review, September 30, 2014
Good Evening sradtke393,

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback from your visit to Hyatt Regency Bethesda. I am so sorry to hear this stay did not meet expectations. I definitely understand your frustration, to ensure these challenges do not occur in the future I have forwarded your comments and concerns to our executive management so they are able to step in a resolve the issues. We hope to welcome you back.

Warm regards,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I have stayed at a number of Hyatt Regencies in recent years. All of them I experienced have been showing their age. This one in Bethesda, was less so, seemingly better maintained than the others.

Stayed here one night for business meeting. Some of my colleagues were on a lower floor and could hear noise (an entire high school class was here for a class trip!) from the restaurant at the lobby level. Elevator wait >5 minutes since only one bank of lifts for all the guest floors.

On the plus sides:
1) Location--located immediately next to a Metro stop
2) Staff--friendly and helpful

Some potential negatives
1) atrium design means noise from lobby can be heard all the way to top floor
2) limited elevators for number of rooms--can mean long wait if large groups are staying here



Summary: would stay here again for business in the area, but not for leisure

Room Tip: ask for higher floor in corners further away from atrium
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trvlcnst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Hotel sits atop the Bethesda METRO station with quick access to DC on the Red Line. The Woodmont Triangle dining district is a few short blocks away. Rooms are very nice and clean, but nothing exceptional. Service throughout the property is attentive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing Wisconsin Avenue
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The location of the hotel was awesome. There were a lot of restaurants, some retail, and a couple theaters within walking distance. There is a metro station beneath the hotel that will get you to the monuments and tourist sites in 15 minutes with one train switch.

The rooms were dated. There were very few outlets in the rooms. The bathroom were outdated, and there no vents which caused drywall damage on the ceiling. There was also no room refrigerator. They also disabled the ability to switch TV inputs, so I couldn't use my Chromecast as an alternative to the mediocre list of channels available.

A lack of elevators made getting from your floor to lobby a slow task at times.

There are two restaurants on site. You have Morton's, a high end steakhouse, and the Daily Grille (a good, but more affordable option). There is also a Dunkin Donuts across the street.

All in all the location made the shortcomings tolerable, but the price tag is hefty for the lack of in room amenities.

Green Features: They do claim to be green, and minimize water consumption, etc...
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keo_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bethesda hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
0.5 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
0.2 mi away
Bethesda Court Hotel
Bethesda Court Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#2 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 359 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
2.2 mi away
Bethesda Marriott
Bethesda Marriott
#6 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 stars 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Property: Hyatt Regency Bethesda
Address: 1 Bethesda Metro Ctr, (7400 Wisconsin Ave), Bethesda, MD 20814-5325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bethesda
#4 Business Hotel in Bethesda
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bethesda
#5 Family Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Bethesda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 12-story atrium welcomes guests to 390 luxurious guestrooms and suites, located directly above the Metro Red Line's Bethesda stop, just 6 miles from the White House. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is located in the heart of downtown Bethesda, one of the most renowned communities in the Washington, D.C. metropolitan area. Bethesda is well known as a lively chic destination with over 200 ethnic restaurants, boutiques, local art galleries and trendy hot spots, all within walking distance of the hotel. Bethesda is also home to many associations and corporations, such as The National Institutes of Health (NIH) and the National Naval Medical Center. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is also nearby Suburban Hospital, Lockheed Martin, Chevy Chase Bank Headquarters, and Clark Construction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hyatt Regency Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Bethesda Hotel Bethesda
Bethesda Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Bethesda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing