We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
GreenLeadersSilver level
Strathaven
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Perhaps the best feature of this hotel is its location ie next to a metro station. The hotel itself looks dated and lacks some of the refinements expected in a four star establishment. I also found it noisy in the bedroom where there appeared to be a continues air noise which affected my sleep during the first night. The initial solution suggested to me was that I switch on the air conditioning fan then I wouldn't hear the background hum ??? I was then provided with ear plugs and shortly after offered a different room. As we were fully unpacked we decided to keep the original room and use the ear plugs if necessary. To their credit the hotel did provide complimentary breakfast for the final three mornings.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    371
    294
    141
    64
See reviews for
275
148
75
581
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walnutport, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

My in-laws (not Trip Advisor folks) stayed at this hotel for the Thanksgiving holiday. This hotel is nowhere near Hyatt standards. Their room (#312) was not clean. The bedside table was cracked and damaged. The only place to put the coffee pot was on the counter next to the bathroom sink, leaving no room for toiletries, etc. On the third floor, there was a recent large 'stain' on the wall in front of the elevators. It had not been cleaned. The carpet was threadbare.

They won't be staying at this hotel again, and I advise you to stay clear of it.

Room Tip: I've heard they've remodeled some rooms. If they have, perhaps one of them might be accepta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KLPCLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Bethesda, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Good Afternoon KLPCLT,

Thank you for bringing your experience from the Hyatt Regency Bethesda to our attention. I am do sorry to hear about the condition of the hotel and it's guestrooms during your visit. I have forwarded your remarks to our executive management to follow up with this property and make sure we do not have any other issues with housekeeping and speak of renovations. Again, thank for bringing this information to us and if you would like to speak about this matter further, please feel free to contact our Guest Relations Associate. Hope you have a great holiday.

Warm regards,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Spending time with my daughters in Bethesda. Walked past the Hyatt, ate in the restaurants there, but never actually stayed.

Excellent service, get a room upgrade...terrace with a great view!

Traveling to visit your own kids fir the holidays can have plenty of built-in disappointments, but Thu shotel was not one of them.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Bethesda, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your stay! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your Thanksgiving holiday with your family and at our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed the service and view at the hotel. I hope we can welcome you back this Thanksgiving.

Regards,

Belinda M - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Stayed one night - Nov. 28 to Nov. 29. Room was clean. Nothing too fancy, but okay for the night. What I really liked was the online check in. We were not checking in until 8pm. It was a convience to do it on line and use the kiosk to get the room keys. No waiting in lines! Only bad note was a heavy cigarette smell by the elevators on the 3rd floor.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

No way is this a Hyatt?!!! When we arrived the valet acted surprised that we would even consider valet parking after our 12 hour drive in heavy rains... No bellman. No welcome. Then we decided on a late dinner at the grill. The waiter was friendly but kept coming back to say they were out of everything we wanted!!
The decor is a wreck table side lighting hanging dangerously off the walls.... Hyatt should be ashamed of this hotel!!!! We won't be back!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Bethesda, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Greetings Melissa R,

Thank you for going out of you way to provide your feedback on your past stay at the Hyatt Regency Bethesda! Our sincerest apologies for the many challenges you encountered upon your arrival of this location and we will definitely be forwarding your comments to our executive management so we can ensure this never happens to any future guests. If you would like to speak about this matter further, we are more than happy to speak with you. Please contact our Guest Relations department. Hope we can welcome you back.

Warm regards,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I stayed at the Hyatt Regency in Bethesda for 5 days earlier this month. The room was clean and the bathroom was well stocked with towels and wash cloths every day. The room service attendants were also very nice. The best part was the location of the Metro. I loved that I could walk out the door and enter the Metro.

That said, the walls of the room as super thin. I could hear the people in the rooms next to me talking. My room was on the third level and I was able to hear the noise from the lobby level, as well as firetruck and police sirens, which seemed to go off on the street quite often. I had a hard time sleeping because I need complete silence. If you're like that as well, then I would recommend bringing ear plugs.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alisha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

It has sort of become a tradition for us to stay at a Hyatt during a long-distance move, the night before we move into a new apartment.
We have had such a great experience at the Hyatt in downtown Boston that we didn't even look at other hotels in downtown Bethesda.
However, this hotel does NOT meet the Hyatt standard.
Not only are the rooms outdated, the amenities do NOT feel 4-star (see below: i.e. no safe in the rooms!).
I cannot speak for the day staff, however, the night staff is HORRIBLE.
They have a horrible attitude and are the furthest thing from welcoming!

Pro (yes, singular):
- Room service from the Daily Grill. The gentleman who brought our room service was very nice, and a welcoming change from the rest of the staff we encountered!

Cons:
- No safe in the room
- No mini fridge in the room
- No real comforter: a super thin "down" comforter that is barely there and that is not enough to feel warm
- Rude front desk staff at night: horrible attitude and manners
- It took more than half an hour to get a pair of slippers, and got attitude from the guy at the front desk when I called to see why the slippers were not delivered yet
- Very noisy hotel: noise echoes from the lobby, since the rooms are around the interior balcony around the lobby
- The parking garage is a separately managed garage - it is not the hotel's garage AND there is not direct access from the garage to the hotel. One must take an elevator from the garage and go out to the street and then walk over to the hotel.
- We were not greeted by anyone when we pulled up to the hotel. We were stuck behind a car that pulled up and blocked the driveway in front of us. We had no idea where the parking was and no one came to help us for a long time. It was not a welcoming experience.

BOTTOM LINE: It shocks and appalls me that this is a four star hotel, and that the Hyatt chain blemishes its name with this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IstanbuliteinUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethesda
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
0.2 mi away
Bethesda Court Hotel
Bethesda Court Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 369 reviews
0.5 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
#4 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
3.5 mi away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#2 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 351 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bethesda Marriott
Bethesda Marriott
#7 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 stars 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Property: Hyatt Regency Bethesda
Address: One Bethesda Metro Center, (7400 Wisconsin Ave), Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bethesda
#4 Business Hotel in Bethesda
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bethesda
#5 Family Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Bethesda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 12-story atrium welcomes guests to 390 luxurious guestrooms and suites, located directly above the Metro Red Line's Bethesda stop, just 6 miles from the White House. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is located in the heart of downtown Bethesda, one of the most renowned communities in the Washington, D.C. metropolitan area. Bethesda is well known as a lively chic destination with over 200 ethnic restaurants, boutiques, local art galleries and trendy hot spots, all within walking distance of the hotel. Bethesda is also home to many associations and corporations, such as The National Institutes of Health (NIH) and the National Naval Medical Center. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is also nearby Suburban Hospital, Lockheed Martin, Chevy Chase Bank Headquarters, and Clark Construction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Bethesda Hotel Bethesda
Bethesda Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Bethesda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing