We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Get it on Hotwire for cheap” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Get it on Hotwire for cheap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We got this hotel on hotwire when you pick that you want a 4 star hotel and you don't know what hotel you get until after you book. We paid a little over $100 a night for this hotel and I probably wouldn't pay more.

Pro's:
Staff very attentive.
Great location!

Con's:
Rooms are older and somewhat outdated. Has a huge atrium and isn't super modern. You'll notice the carpeting in the rooms and bathroom flooring need some updating. Make sure you budget for parking and wifi, because those cost extra.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanH2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    371
    294
    143
    65
See reviews for
276
148
77
582
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The rooms are nice, staff friendly and amenities solid at this standard Hyatt business hotel. Unfortunately, the large, multi story atrium straight out of the 1970s makes almost all of the rooms noisy when the lobby bar is in use. the location is superb, right above the Bethesda metro stop, surrounded by unique shops and restaurants with very few chains.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

First, the positive, the location is nice, as it sits on top of a Metro station. The fitness center is also very nice. Unfortunately, there is more. This hotel is in desperate need of a multi-million dollar renovation. The rooms are in a sad state, worn carpet, popcorn ceiling, discolored walls. The amenities, specifically TV, don't work properly, and when you ask them to fix it, they blow you off as a whole hotel problem which spanned 3 weeks. The public areas are very worn, very dark, with more bad lighting, bad carpet, bad wallpaper. IMO, this property does not deserve the Hyatt Regency label. The hotel will reply with the fact that they try to rely on great customer service, but I found that lacking also.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Bethesda, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Hi mrsooner,

Thank you for taking the time to share comments about your recent stay at our Hyatt Regency Bethesda. I am sorry to learn of the room cleanliness and television issues you experienced during your visit with us. This is not typical of the Hyatt experience our guests should come to expect while staying at our hotel. If you would like to further discuss, please feel free to contact me. I am happy to assist you.

Safe travels,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the staff. They were consistently helpful, friendly and attentive. Nothing was too much trouble for them.
My room was huge (but I am used to small British hotel rooms!)
The location is excellent, right beside the metro and close to all the fabulous Bethesda restaurants. I would definitely recommend to others.

Room Tip: I was glad to have a room on the first floor which meant I didn't need to keep taking the lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordentown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I just spent three nights at the Hyatt Regency Bethesda while I was attending a meeting. I have no complaints. My room on the eighth floor was spacious, clean, and quiet. The staff with whom I interacted was pleasant and professional. The food that was provided during the meeting was exceptional and plentiful. The location is convenient and there are lots of great restaurants in the area. If you travel to/from the hotel on the Metro and have a heavy suitcase (as I did), I recommend using the elevator on the corner to access the station. The escalator from the station to the street seems like it's about seventeen miles long.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sustramo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This place is great. I often stay here for work and also sometime for personal stays when I return to the area. The location doesn't get any better. It is literally built on top of the Bethesda Metro stop. I recommend staying here even if you are tourist checking out DC. It is a quick ride downtown (if WMATA is working and if it is during the week). You will never run out of places to eat especially because of the Mortons in the lobby and also The Daily Grill which has a killer happy hour (5$ wells and also cheap snacks) if you are on a budget. Th reason I continue to return is because I know what to expect. I am familiar with the staff and even know a few by name. Even if I don't return for 2-3 months, the same staff members remember me and even remember my room preference.

Keep in mind, don't be pressured to park Valet or even under the hotel. There are THREE county parking garages within walking distance. Set up an account on your smartphone for during the week and you don't have to feed coins. Parking is free after 10:00pm and on weekend. Just look up Montgomery County Parking Garages and check it out for yourself.

By far the cheapest alternative to valet and the garage under.

Anyways, I look forward to staying here (even when I work in Baltimore). Home away from home.

(Penthouse pool and gym) Gym is limited but Pool/hot tub is cool!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YankeesBaseball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Bethesda, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Hi YankeesBaseball,

Thank you for taking a moment to share feedback about your recent visits to our hotel. We are glad to hear how well our location works for your travel needs. Being located directly above the metro makes it easy for our guests to navigate the local area. It's great that you have taken the opportunity to enjoy the Daily Grill. It will be our pleasure to have the opportunity to welcome you back!

Safe travels,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The location is great. It probably was built to be state of the art hotel some thirty years ago. Just pathetic. It is an a very sad use of prime real estate on top of the Metro. The rooms are fine. it is just so out of date ..pretty good restaurant around the area. Bethesda needs a new hotel. This needs to be demolished.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soupgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethesda
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
0.2 mi away
Bethesda Court Hotel
Bethesda Court Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 369 reviews
0.5 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
#4 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
3.5 mi away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#2 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 351 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bethesda Marriott
Bethesda Marriott
#7 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 stars 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Property: Hyatt Regency Bethesda
Address: 1 Bethesda Metro Ctr, (7400 Wisconsin Ave), Bethesda, MD 20814-5325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bethesda
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bethesda
#4 Business Hotel in Bethesda
#5 Family Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Bethesda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 12-story atrium welcomes guests to 390 luxurious guestrooms and suites, located directly above the Metro Red Line's Bethesda stop, just 6 miles from the White House. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is located in the heart of downtown Bethesda, one of the most renowned communities in the Washington, D.C. metropolitan area. Bethesda is well known as a lively chic destination with over 200 ethnic restaurants, boutiques, local art galleries and trendy hot spots, all within walking distance of the hotel. Bethesda is also home to many associations and corporations, such as The National Institutes of Health (NIH) and the National Naval Medical Center. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is also nearby Suburban Hospital, Lockheed Martin, Chevy Chase Bank Headquarters, and Clark Construction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hyatt Regency Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Bethesda Hotel Bethesda
Bethesda Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Bethesda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing