We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, needs work”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 25, 2013

First, the positive, the location is nice, as it sits on top of a Metro station. The fitness center is also very nice. Unfortunately, there is more. This hotel is in desperate need of a multi-million dollar renovation. The rooms are in a sad state, worn carpet, popcorn ceiling, discolored walls. The amenities, specifically TV, don't work properly, and when you ask them to fix it, they blow you off as a whole hotel problem which spanned 3 weeks. The public areas are very worn, very dark, with more bad lighting, bad carpet, bad wallpaper. IMO, this property does not deserve the Hyatt Regency label. The hotel will reply with the fact that they try to rely on great customer service, but I found that lacking also.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Bethesda, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Hi mrsooner,

Thank you for taking the time to share comments about your recent stay at our Hyatt Regency Bethesda. I am sorry to learn of the room cleanliness and television issues you experienced during your visit with us. This is not typical of the Hyatt experience our guests should come to expect while staying at our hotel. If you would like to further discuss, please feel free to contact me. I am happy to assist you.

Safe travels,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,704)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Regency Bethesda
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,291 - 1,297 of 1,704 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the staff. They were consistently helpful, friendly and attentive. Nothing was too much trouble for them.
My room was huge (but I am used to small British hotel rooms!)
The location is excellent, right beside the metro and close to all the fabulous Bethesda restaurants. I would definitely recommend to others.

Room Tip: I was glad to have a room on the first floor which meant I didn't need to keep taking the lift...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I just spent three nights at the Hyatt Regency Bethesda while I was attending a meeting. I have no complaints. My room on the eighth floor was spacious, clean, and quiet. The staff with whom I interacted was pleasant and professional. The food that was provided during the meeting was exceptional and plentiful. The location is convenient and there are lots of great restaurants in the area. If you travel to/from the hotel on the Metro and have a heavy suitcase (as I did), I recommend using the elevator on the corner to access the station. The escalator from the station to the street seems like it's about seventeen miles long.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sustramo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This place is great. I often stay here for work and also sometime for personal stays when I return to the area. The location doesn't get any better. It is literally built on top of the Bethesda Metro stop. I recommend staying here even if you are tourist checking out DC. It is a quick ride downtown (if WMATA is working and if it is during the week). You will never run out of places to eat especially because of the Mortons in the lobby and also The Daily Grill which has a killer happy hour (5$ wells and also cheap snacks) if you are on a budget. Th reason I continue to return is because I know what to expect. I am familiar with the staff and even know a few by name. Even if I don't return for 2-3 months, the same staff members remember me and even remember my room preference.

Keep in mind, don't be pressured to park Valet or even under the hotel. There are THREE county parking garages within walking distance. Set up an account on your smartphone for during the week and you don't have to feed coins. Parking is free after 10:00pm and on weekend. Just look up Montgomery County Parking Garages and check it out for yourself.

By far the cheapest alternative to valet and the garage under.

Anyways, I look forward to staying here (even when I work in Baltimore). Home away from home.

(Penthouse pool and gym) Gym is limited but Pool/hot tub is cool!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YankeesBaseball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Bethesda, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Hi YankeesBaseball,

Thank you for taking a moment to share feedback about your recent visits to our hotel. We are glad to hear how well our location works for your travel needs. Being located directly above the metro makes it easy for our guests to navigate the local area. It's great that you have taken the opportunity to enjoy the Daily Grill. It will be our pleasure to have the opportunity to welcome you back!

Safe travels,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The location is great. It probably was built to be state of the art hotel some thirty years ago. Just pathetic. It is an a very sad use of prime real estate on top of the Metro. The rooms are fine. it is just so out of date ..pretty good restaurant around the area. Bethesda needs a new hotel. This needs to be demolished.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soupgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

For every good experience you have here, there seems to be a bad experience to counteract it. The room was comfortable, yet the AC was so loud that it made it hard to sleep when it constantly shut on and off at night. We finally just turned it to the lowest setting and it remained on the entire night as white noise.

The pool on the top floor has a great view and is fun to splash around in, yet the blue paint on its rim was flaking off everywhere, filling the water with floating paint chips.

The people are friendly yet upon leaving, the doorman tried to pull a quick bait and switch by telling us that a taxi to the airport cost up to $70 (though on a Sunday, it was only $58) and that we could get a town car for a flat fee of $60. But when we were led back to the office to pay, suddenly the price jumped to $65, and both the driver and doorman were rude when we declined to be ripped off and took a taxi.

The hotel is right on the red subway line into downtown Washington DC (about a 20-25 minute trip) but the WiFi costs $9.95 per day and is super slow (it takes Google maps about 1 minute to load).

So not the worst hotel, but certainly not the best.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wuppertaler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The great advantage of this hotel is its location- right next to the Bethesda Metro stop. The red line Metro can connect you to almost anywhere you wanna go to in DC. There is also a great parking garage - felt safe there,... even at 1:15AM! The staff are friendly, helpful, and courteous. The gym and pool are free. The gym provides free headphones to use during your workout. All pluses.

Negatives: room 314 where I stayed was nicely appointed - no fridge tho! However, the A/C was really noisy - felt like a jet engine in the room. Also, they charge $10 for wifi in the room. C'mon ... this is the 21st century!! Free wifi when you pay more than $1XX a nite should be a given!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KingOfTheValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bethesda hotels
0.5 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
0.2 mi away
Bethesda Court Hotel
Bethesda Court Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bethesda
431 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Bethesda Marriott
Bethesda Marriott
#5 of 11 in Bethesda
125 reviews
3.5 mi away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#4 of 11 in Bethesda
432 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Address: 1 Bethesda Metro Ctr, (7400 Wisconsin Ave), Bethesda, MD 20814-5325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bethesda
#4 Business Hotel in Bethesda
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bethesda
#5 Family Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range: $114 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Bethesda 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 12-story atrium welcomes guests to 390 luxurious guestrooms and suites, located directly above the Metro Red Line's Bethesda stop, just 6 miles from the White House. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is located in the heart of downtown Bethesda, one of the most renowned communities in the Washington, D.C. metropolitan area. Bethesda is well known as a lively chic destination with over 200 ethnic restaurants, boutiques, local art galleries and trendy hot spots, all within walking distance of the hotel. Bethesda is also home to many associations and corporations, such as The National Institutes of Health (NIH) and the National Naval Medical Center. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is also nearby Suburban Hospital, Lockheed Martin, Chevy Chase Bank Headquarters, and Clark Construction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Bethesda Hotel Bethesda
Bethesda Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Bethesda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing