We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
GreenLeadersSilver level
NJ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed here for a sightseeing trip with our young boys to Washington DC. This hotel sits right on top of the Metro. It's a 20 minute trip to the sights in DC and about a 10 minute trip to the National Zoo. The staff was friendly and helpful and the rooms were clean and spacious. Hotel is in walking distance to many good restaurants and small shops.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rmwm918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    395
    336
    174
    134
See reviews for
328
180
82
656
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We booked this hotel for a weekend stay in the DC area and was very pleased with the fantastic location just above the metro station on the Red line. It put us close to the downtown at a great price. The previous weekend I stayed at the Hyatt Regency in downtown Houston so was was a bit disappointed at how old this hotel felt (lobby, fitness center and guest rooms) but as I said, you can't beat the location and getting a Priceline deal always helps! They offer coffe in the morning to all guests, or some reservations include a breakfast as well. It is a sparse selection, but nice enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstancja K, Front Office Manager at Hyatt Regency Bethesda, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Kate,

We greatly appreciate your positive feedback.
I am very glad to hear that the location of our property, as well as condition exceeded your expactations.
We are looking forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, CO
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Expensive and dated but clean with a friendly although not exceptional staff. Good location right above the Metro stop with plenty of restaurants nearby. Food, drink and Internet were overpriced. Glad my company was paying the bill.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smcaffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstancja K, Front Office Manager at Hyatt Regency Bethesda, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear mscaffrey,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. I am glad to hear that you were pleased with our property's convenient location and customer service our staff provided.
We are looking forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

I stayed at the Bethesda Hyatt for 6 nights to attend a medical convention being held at the Marriott Wardman Park. Both hotels are right next to Metro stops and it was an easy 11 minute, 5-stop ride on the red line to get to the Marriott where the convention was being held.

The Hyatt was 1/2 the price of the Marriott when I made my reservation, and included a free continental breakfast for AAA members.

I'm normally a nit-picker and difficult to please when it comes to hotels but I have to say this is a great hotel! Great service!. Spacious room and bathroom with a sensible layout. My room also had a crib (!) and a small refrigerator. I think they must use this room for people with toddlers when they stay here.

I was delighted they have white bed covers since any stains or evidence of critters would be easily seen. Kudos to the management!

Spotlessly clean.

The housekeeping people saw that I was using the caffeinated coffee filters in the morning with the in-room coffee maker, and started leaving extra coffee filters. Nice touch! Much appreciated by this caffeine nut.

They gave me free in-room internet (normally $10/day) when I checked in as a bonus for staying 6 nights and for being enrolled in the Hyatt frequent flier program. The internet was faster than what I have at home. You have to re-register for it every day which was no big deal but mildly annoying.

Nice exercise facility on the top floor. The pool was a little small for swimming laps.

Check-in and check-out was a snap. When I checked out they initially wanted to charge me for some 1-800 calls I made using a phone card, but I had checked with the hotel operator before I used my phone card and was told there was no charge for those, and they cheerfully and instantanously removed the phone charges.

The only downside with the room is that the air conditioning blows right on the bed at night, which I find objectionable so I turned it off and it got a little stuffy after a while.

The location is fantastic-right at the metro, and there are literally dozens and dozens of places to eat within a few block walk in the new Bethesda shopping district south and west of the hotel.

Check out Rice Paddies Grill 4706 Bethesda Ave for a dirt cheap Vietnamese dinner. I had the rice paper shrimp rolls with peanut sauce and a giant bowl of noodle soup with meat in it for around $12. Also check out Moby Dick (a mideastern food chain) at 7027 Wisconsin for a fast, and cheap mideastern dinner. The place rocks and is delightfully disorganized and high energy. Both of these places have no atmosphere and are largely take-out fast dinner places.

All in all, a great stay at a great hotel. No real complaints. I'd go there again in a second.

The metro trips including my initial and final trips to the airport totaled around $60 for the week. There's an unlimited metro pass for a week that costs about the same, and a 'smartcard' option that might have saved about $10 over the week but the person manning the booth wasn't there to sell me one when I arrived at Metro airport. You can get them on-line before your visit.

Room Tip: Ask for free internet if you're staying there for a few nights. Also, if you're on the Hyat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dpennes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
200 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Have seen recent reviews panning the place, but I thought it was pretty good. Yes, it's been there a while, but didn't seem unacceptably old to me. I didn't notice any stains or bad smells in my room or hallway. The bathroom was clean, and bed comfortable. Room temperature was not a problem, either. The only (minor) hassle was elevator congestion when meetings let our--everyone is rushing to their room at the same time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Runpicu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

This Hyatt has definitely seen better days. The bathrooms are in need of updating and the walls are paper thin. We could hear every word of our neighbor's telephone conversation. Breakfast is overpriced and sub-par. However, there are a ton of places to get good food within just a couple minutes walk. Staff were nice an the Metro convenience made up for some of the drawbacks. I would really only recommend this hotel if you can get a good deal.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bob_Pas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstancja K, Front Office Manager at Hyatt Regency Bethesda, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear SAI22,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are glad to hear that you were very pleased with the customer service you received and the location of our property.
I sincerely apologize for the noise issue and I would like to inform you that we diligently work to resolving this matter up to our guests' satisfaction.
Please, do not hesitate to contact us directly for future reservation needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We have stayed here on numerous occasions due to the location being perfect for our business and personal visits. Great location does not give license to neglecting this property as the owners have. The rooms are disgusting, old, smelly, bathrooms that have cracked floors and dark old lighting, worn towels, disgusting carpets.

On top of all of this, the price is simply outrageous for what you are getting. And on every visit we attempt to order a latte at the lobby bar in the mornings, but the machine is broken ALL THE TIME!
Seriously, Hyatt needs to take a good look at this operator, you are all missing the boat on an opportunity here. What happened to pride of ownership? I am selling my stock this week, this company should be ashamed.

PS the Service staff does try but they are sick of making excuses for management/ownership. They are saints for having to listen to everyone complain so much.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SAI22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstancja K, Front Office Manager at Hyatt Regency Bethesda, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback.
I sincerely apologize for the fact that your stay did not meet your expectations and the challenges encountered. As our guests' satisfaction is top priority, we will look closesly into your comments.

Best Regards,
Konstancja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bethesda hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
0.5 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
0.2 mi away
Bethesda Court Hotel
Bethesda Court Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
3.5 mi away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#2 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.5 mi away
American Inn of Bethesda
American Inn of Bethesda
#8 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Property: Hyatt Regency Bethesda
Address: 1 Bethesda Metro Ctr, (7400 Wisconsin Ave), Bethesda, MD 20814-5325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bethesda
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bethesda
#4 Business Hotel in Bethesda
#5 Family Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Bethesda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 12-story atrium welcomes guests to 390 luxurious guestrooms and suites, located directly above the Metro Red Line's Bethesda stop, just 6 miles from the White House. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is located in the heart of downtown Bethesda, one of the most renowned communities in the Washington, D.C. metropolitan area. Bethesda is well known as a lively chic destination with over 200 ethnic restaurants, boutiques, local art galleries and trendy hot spots, all within walking distance of the hotel. Bethesda is also home to many associations and corporations, such as The National Institutes of Health (NIH) and the National Naval Medical Center. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is also nearby Suburban Hospital, Lockheed Martin, Chevy Chase Bank Headquarters, and Clark Construction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hyatt Regency Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Bethesda Hotel Bethesda
Bethesda Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Bethesda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing