We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs TLC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
GreenLeadersSilver level
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Needs TLC”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

On the plus side, Great location right above Bethesda Metro, central to Bethesda bats & restaurants and close to DC attractions. They do have a pool.

On the down side, the building is really showing its age. It needs some upgrades and more attention to detail in housekeeping & maintenance. Our shower wall looked like it was about to crumble, there was a good layer of dust everywhere, and fake shrubs in the common area were falling apart. The two restaurants in the hotel are overpriced for what they offer, and one of them (the one that provides room service) closes at 11.

There is no sound dampening between rooms, so if you are a light sleeper, beware. Our neighbors were pretty quiet, but we could hear them in the bathroom as if they were in our own room.

Parking at the hotel is about 3x as much as a neighboring garage, so shop around!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katiegray72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstancja K, Front Office Manager at Hyatt Regency Bethesda, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback.
Although the property did not meet your expectations, I hope we were able to provide excellent customer service we pride ourselves in.
We are lokking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    458
    393
    209
    154
See reviews for
390
203
95
774
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights because I was attending a meeting that was held at this hotel, which made it very convenient. The staff at the bar in the lobby was very friendly. The hotel has a metro stop just a few steps away from its doors -- which is very good. I am not too familiar with the area, but could find a number of decent restaurants and coffee places within walking distance. These are the reasons why I gave it 3 stars and not 2. I shared a deluxe king bedroom on the 3rd floor and found it quite mediocre, for 239$ per night + tax. The carpet in the room was stained and just didn't look clean. Generally this hotel could be characterized as functional, but certainly it is not pretty in any way and it could do with some freshening up. The lobby is noisy and the room I had, like most other rooms, overlooked the lobby area through a huge open space that works very well as a resonator for all sounds. I tried a few times to ask for a shower cap but never managed to get one. There is a funky telephone system and to pick up your messages you actually have to call an operator and talk to someone. Under the pretense of an eco-friendly policy the hotel attempts to encourage guests to not have their rooms made up daily (yes, you read correctly!) or to not have the towels changed daily. At check-out the staff was not able to split a bill between 2 credit cards and a supervisor had to be called, but she was on the phone so I waited for over 10 minutes.

Room Tip: There are a few rooms that do not overlook down on the lobby area. Try and get one of those, but avo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariaalessandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I wanted to stay in a good hotel near DC without having the prices of actually staying in DC. So, I booked this hotel, which has a Metro stop below it which would take me on a quick ride into the city. The room was fine. Since it was just myself staying in the room, space wasn't much of an issue. I did notice what looked to be (hopefully) a food stain on the bed sheet, which I didn't notice until the next morning. Other than that, no major complaints. I would consider staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My family usually stays in Arlington Va, but wanted to try another location wilst in DC. We attempted to check in, but the hotel did not have our reservations. They DID allow us to use their office to contact expedia,com to see what happened. Long story short,...it was some type of misunderstanding with the reservation on the hotels behalf. (strike one) The hotel desk worker didnt offer any type of discount or breakfast comp, so my husband asked!! She agree'd . The next morning they charged our room for the breakfast and 25 dollars for parking (strike 2), which the front desk worker agree'd on 12 dollars the day before. When my husband went the to question the front desk worker, he was clearly agitated and rude. slamming the receipt and being very disagreeable, making it seemed as if we were trying to get over on them. At the same time the front desk worker was having serious conflict with another hotel guest and directed security to "GET RID OF HIM!" which we found VERY rude to treat another hotel guest like that. (strike 3)We were appauled!!!
On to the rooms: they were hot and stuffy. very small rooms for such a big hotel. 4 people in our room (2 which are kids) felt cramped.
The only thing that saved this hotel was the pool and hot tub on the top floor. The weight room was nicely done!!!

I don't see my family staying at the Hyatt every again. The Embassy Suites is a MUCH better hotel for the money and you get FREE FULL breakfast.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel. Not good value for the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john_esainko, Front Office Manager at Hyatt Regency Bethesda, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay with us. I sincerely apologise for all the challenges you encountered and would love the opportunity to speak with you further on your expereince. Please feel free to contact me directly at fleur.jubb@hyatt.com
Take care
Fleur Jubb
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bethesda hotels

Newport News, Virginia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I checked in via the website, and upon arrival was given a room which was not clean. Curly hair on my bed, along with a stained bedding on my friend's bed, hair in the bathroom, and the just feeling that we were in a room that hadn't been touched. Susanne at the front desk was wonderful when we explained what we walked into and switched our room. She followed up with us and let her manager know what had gone on. Please give her a raise. It was okay, definitely a lot better than the first room, but just not what we expected from a Hyatt. I have stayed at several Hyatts and have never had a problem with rooming or anything. The rooms were not like the pictures depicted on the website. The manager sent my friend and I a bottle of wine along with fruit etc. That was appreciated but unfortunately the damage was done, but wasn't as bad as our initial reaction of sleeping in my Honda and cancelling our reservation. I travel a lot and this is the first time I have ever written customer service about a rather lackluster experience. I work hard for the money that I make and I feel that the money spent was a waste, as if I just threw it in the toilet. Again, the manager and staff did follow up during our stay, but the more we thought about it the more we were unhappy and probably won't ever stay at that hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ambsfierce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john_esainko, Front Office Manager at Hyatt Regency Bethesda, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Good Afternoon
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review online of your recent stay. I sincerely apologise for the cleanliness issues you expereinced. Your recognition of our staff is certainly appreciated and we have shared that with our team. I would love the opportunity to speak with you further regarding your stay and you can contact me directly at fleur.jubb@hyatt.com
Wishing you happy travels
Fleur Jubb
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel four or five times now. This recent visit was the first time I was back in about a year and a half.

The Good
The staff continues to be very friendly and helpful. There are two decent restaurants in the hotel, Morton’s Steakhouse and The Daily Grill. There are other good restaurants just a short walk from the hotel. The hotel is directly above the Bethesda Metro stop (Red Line), which is very convenient.

The Not So Good
The rooms are starting to look worn out. You know how white linens and towels get gray when they get old, well that is what was in the room. The carpet looked like it needed to be cleaned and it needed to be vacuumed. The grout in the bathroom floor and shower was in desperate need of a scrubbing. There was a red velvet chair in the room that had hair stuck all over it. It wasn’t a dump, but it was in need of upkeep.

The wireless internet access was sketchy at best. It didn’t work at all my first night there. After that it was hit and miss. I had to use my own WiFi card several times to get online.

Since I am a Gold Passport Platinum member, I was supposed to get a Wall Street Journal each morning, but I never got one. With Platinum status I am also eligible to get an upgrade to a preferred room. Rather than being given an upgrade, I was offered one for $15/night.

Parking is a bit strange here. The garage is directly under the hotel. Parking cost $12 per day…unless if you want to actually use your car. If you want in and out privileges with the car, then parking is $20 per day. I found it odd that they charge you 66% more to use your car. The staff at the check-in desk said if I was leaving in the morning and not coming back until the evening, I was better off just paying the daily rate of $12 each morning when I leave the lot.

Overall this stay was disappointing compared to my previous ones. It wasn’t horrible, but it was average at best.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neutron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed here for one night and found the experience quite satisfactory. The facility has a very good location if you have business or friends in Montgomery County/Bethesda. It not bad if you have to go into DC but there are better options if this is your case. The staff is welcoming, efficient, and competent. Good parking facility and Metro access.

The lobby is the classic older Hyatt version, a straight up, open, airy approach to common space. Having a Morton's Steakhouse off the lobby is a nice benefit as are the multiple restaurants within walking distance...but for those of you who know, this is Bethesda that is to be expected. Our third floor room was next to the elevator and quiet...an untypical surprise!

The bathrooms and amenities were fine....not great and not bad.....you will not remember them either way good or bad. Our rate of $169 was an attractive value.

Worth a try if you are in the area.

Room Tip: "Go high my friends"......... on the courtyard side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CGCx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bethesda hotels
0.2 mi away
Bethesda Court Hotel
Bethesda Court Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bethesda
420 reviews
0.5 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#2 of 11 in Bethesda
420 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bethesda Marriott
Bethesda Marriott
#6 of 11 in Bethesda
108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Property: Hyatt Regency Bethesda
Address: 1 Bethesda Metro Ctr, (7400 Wisconsin Ave), Bethesda, MD 20814-5325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bethesda
#4 Business Hotel in Bethesda
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bethesda
#5 Family Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Bethesda 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 12-story atrium welcomes guests to 390 luxurious guestrooms and suites, located directly above the Metro Red Line's Bethesda stop, just 6 miles from the White House. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is located in the heart of downtown Bethesda, one of the most renowned communities in the Washington, D.C. metropolitan area. Bethesda is well known as a lively chic destination with over 200 ethnic restaurants, boutiques, local art galleries and trendy hot spots, all within walking distance of the hotel. Bethesda is also home to many associations and corporations, such as The National Institutes of Health (NIH) and the National Naval Medical Center. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is also nearby Suburban Hospital, Lockheed Martin, Chevy Chase Bank Headquarters, and Clark Construction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Bethesda Hotel Bethesda
Bethesda Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Bethesda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing