We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Lovely but not Luxury” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Bethesda to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   One Bethesda Metro Center, (7400 Wisconsin Ave), Bethesda, MD 20814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 15% off
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
GreenLeadersSilver level
Southeastern,Pa
Level Contributor
98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Lovely but not Luxury”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotel is billed as being luxury accomodations. While the hotel is very nice and very clean, I wouldn't call it luxury. If I were taken to the room blindfolded and opened up my eyes inside, I would think I was at any number of Hamptons I have stayed at which I also don't consider luxury.(Luxury = Ritz Carlton, Waldorf etc...) Our room was large and comfortable, my husband and I both slept well on the comfy king size bed which is rare for us in most hotels.The bathroom showed some wear and need of updating but beyond that I have no complaints about the room. The pool hours were rather frustrating. Most hotel pools are open all day every day however this one had split hours only til 5- 9 PM on Friday. Included continental breakfast was nice and included a breakfast sandwich, fresh fruit bowl, coffee and juice, plenty for us to fill up on for the day. They also served Starbucks coffee with Torani syrups which was a nice bonus. Had I not brought my own Verizon Jetpack, I would have probably also been pissed to find that internet access in your room was $9.95. The best thing this hotel has going for it is its staff. Everyone from the front desk to the bellman (sweet Raul), to the girls running the breakfast station was wonderfully friendly and helpful .Location to DC is awesome with Metro station right out the front door. If I ever go back to Bethesda, I will stay here again.

Room Tip: we had a corner room number 408 away from the large and sometimes noisy atrium
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank artsygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    371
    294
    139
    63
See reviews for
275
148
75
578
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed here for a conference. My room was large and clean apart from the desk and nightstand having a thin coat of dust. The room was quiet from hotel and outside noise, just the heating clicking on and off woke me up every time the first night.

The biggest issue was the hot water in the shower in the evening. It would run hot for a minute or two and then get progressively colder. 2 nights it went to lukewarm, the third night it was ice cold. Others did not have this problem in the morning. The wifi did not work reliably in the evenings either - it would connect, but pages would not load. So, was unable to do work I needed to do.

The conference room arrangement is awkward as the ball room is below the meeting rooms and has a separate elevator for access. The food was variable - one meal was great, the other not so much. The same 3 food choices were served at all 3 receptions on 3 different days.

The location is great - right on top of a metro station and lots of great restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelGoose11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Spent a few day here as part of a mid-sized conference and had a very nice experience. The front desk got my room early and was very patient and gracious as I struggled several times with my electronic access card (sometimes these things need a special 'touch' and I just couldn't get it). The room was much better than average, with a very comfortable bed, 'comped' WIFI, and free WSJ (thankfully, not the USA Today) available at the front desk. I have to say the hotel also did a wonderful job keeping 300 conference guests comfortable and well fed because the food and service were first-rate. Was there a negative? Sure..the fitness center could have been a little larger. Bottom line: I was very satisfied here and will happily come back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here for work recently, which was an alright experience. The hotel is near a metro station and short walking distance from many restaurants and bars.

The purpose of my visit was a series of meetings which were held in the basement levels of the hotel, which are serviced by separate elevators, and steps/escalators only to the first floor below ground. This was not ideal, but the rooms were the usual sort of style.

The breakfast buffet for our meeting was small in selection. Lunch was generally very appetizing!

Having been asked if I wanted a daily newspaper, I accepted but never got one delivered.

The pool area was only accessible for limited hours during the day, which I don't understand.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Somebodytolove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I stayed at the Hyatt Regency Bethesda last month. It was a good stay. Easy check in - my room was ready by 11:30 AM! Room was clean - but needed updating in a major way. Bathroom needed it the most. The ice machine on our floor (10) didn't work - so we had to use the one on another floor. The continental breakfast is very sparse - don't expect a lot of choices. There is a metro station right underneath the hotel - so location was great! Many restaurants and bars within walking distance. Overall a decent stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CoralExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I recently stayed at Hyatt Bethesda while attending meetings at the National Institute of Health. It is extremely convenient due to metro stop directly below the property and NIH shuttle bus to and from the property. Check in was also painless. That is why it is ranked average. However, the room (308) feel below typical Hyatt standards - Old carpet, cracked tiles in bathroom, grout missing in baseboard tiles in bathroom, mold in tile surrounding tub, wallpaper beginning to lift in bathroom. Lack of maintenance made the bathroom feel grimy. When asked upon checkout about my stay, I told the desk clerk that the room was not up to Hyatt standards, and she shrugged her shoulders and said "I know." That said, the bedding was in good shape and the bed was comfortable for one person. The right side of the bed has had more use than the left side, so it would be good to rotate mattress. I will check other properties near NIH before returning in several weeks.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgage30445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pendleton, ny
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband, teenage son, and I recently stayed at the Hyatt Regency Bethesda. The room was clean, very quiet, and comfortable. Bathroom was a little dated but, again, was clean and had a good shower. You do need to specify that you want a quiet room (if that is what you want!). The casual restaurant, The Daily Grill, offered high quality dinner at a fair price (we were actually pleasantly surprised at the quality - assuming that it was going to be typical hotel, tourist food, but instead it was obviously homemade and just really good!) Very conveniently located to American University and Bethesda itself was great. If you are parents to an AU student, I recommend staying at the Hyatt Regency Bethesda.

Room Tip: request a quiet room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethesda
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
0.2 mi away
Bethesda Court Hotel
Bethesda Court Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 368 reviews
0.5 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
#4 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
3.5 mi away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#2 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bethesda Marriott
Bethesda Marriott
#7 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 stars 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Property: Hyatt Regency Bethesda
Address: One Bethesda Metro Center, (7400 Wisconsin Ave), Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bethesda
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bethesda
#4 Business Hotel in Bethesda
#5 Family Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Bethesda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 12-story atrium welcomes guests to 390 luxurious guestrooms and suites, located directly above the Metro Red Line's Bethesda stop, just 6 miles from the White House. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is located in the heart of downtown Bethesda, one of the most renowned communities in the Washington, D.C. metropolitan area. Bethesda is well known as a lively chic destination with over 200 ethnic restaurants, boutiques, local art galleries and trendy hot spots, all within walking distance of the hotel. Bethesda is also home to many associations and corporations, such as The National Institutes of Health (NIH) and the National Naval Medical Center. Hyatt Regency Bethesda is also nearby Suburban Hospital, Lockheed Martin, Chevy Chase Bank Headquarters, and Clark Construction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotwire, Odigeo, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Hyatt Regency Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Bethesda Hotel Bethesda
Bethesda Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Bethesda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing