We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't really enjoy my stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 20, 2007

I only stayed at the Doubletree Bethesda for one night in Feb 2007 and it was my first time staying there. I am not sure if I would stay there again. First I would like to say that since their hotel is going through construction or renovation, they should list that information on the first page of their website before you make a reservation. If I had known, I would not have stayed there. When I pulled my car up to the front by the main door and went inside to check in, when I came back out I noticed there was little paint chips all over my windows. At first I thought it was damage to my car until I noticed I was able to clean it off, but that still should not have happened. I also wanted to add that they charge $14 for parking, but when you go to park your car in the parking garage it looks so horrible down there - if their parking was free in that garage, I would never park there either. Lastly I wanted to say that while I stayed in my room I could hear street noises through the vent and I was on one of the top floors. I don't think I'll be staying there again. Wasn't expecting that from a "Hilton hotel".

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank layedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,225 - 1,231 of 1,251 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2006

I stayed here for three days at the end of October. I was in DC and business and did not have time to sample the hotel's amenities (fitness room, room service, etc), but the room was spacious and very clean. I was on the eighth floor. Though it looks like there is still some renovating going on, it didn't effect me at all, but I was never there during the day.

Bed was comfortable, great towels, nice big desk, new-looking LCD TV. I would recommend this hotel for business. It is not very close to a metro stop (it's between two stops), but it is on a bus line. I didn't have a car, but at $14 per day, parking seemed very expensive.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank cfnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2006

I stayed there a few days in mid August and remodeling is still in progress. The rooms themselves are super comfortable and pleasant, but it takes at least 10min for an elevator to arrive and stairs aren't an option. And the parking garage has tight parking given the construction activity.

Location is fine, as it's only 2 miles from the capitol beltway and it's on the edge of downtown Bethesda, with nice restaurants an easy walk.

Staff was OK - reception could have been more helpful (had to ask her to double check my reservation when she originally said they did not have it) and we were given inaccurate directions to the local Starbucks (hotel coffee is suboptimal), but the staff waiting with me at the elevators was certainly nice enough.

Overall, this was not up to what I'd have expected of a Doubletree -- not worth the price given the construction. Wait until 2007 before staying here. At present, there are probably better options for the $200 we paid/night.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RFJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2006

The difficulty with this hotel was getting transportation to the airport. I asked the bellhop to call me a cab, and when he gave me the runaround, I asked the front desk, who also gave me the runaround. At a hotel of this caliber, calling cabs for guests should be a no-brainer, but no one seemed to know what to do. Eventually, a limo driver offered to take me to the airport for $5 above the taxi rate, which I took him up on. (I had to wonder if the bellhop was getting a kickback from the limo driver, but have no way of knowing).

In any case, I have higher standards for a Doubletree hotel and will be using other hotels in Bethesda in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BusyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2006

This is a great hotel for the price (we got it on Priceline for $55 a night). We had a room facing the street, but the noise wasn't a problem - perhaps because it was Memorial Day weekend. There were several soccer teams staying at the hotel so it was busy and the lobby was crowded at times. The hotel is about a half mile from the metro stop. We took the shuttle there and walked back. The room was extrememly clean, and the bed was wonderful - pillow top, down comforter, loads of pillows. I think they are in the process of refurbishing the rooms as the dumpster in back was full of old carpeting, etc. We didn't try the restaurant, but there are lots of places to eat within walking distance.

Stayed: May 2006
1  Thank anonymousPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank ראובן מ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swieder2017, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled on business
Thank DuarteFernandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded May 30, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bethesda hotels
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
#7 of 11 in Bethesda
1,729 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bethesda Court Hotel
Bethesda Court Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bethesda
433 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Bethesda Marriott
Bethesda Marriott
#2 of 11 in Bethesda
136 reviews
3.1 mi away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#6 of 11 in Bethesda
440 reviews
0.0 mi away
American Inn of Bethesda
American Inn of Bethesda
#8 of 11 in Bethesda
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Bethesda

Address: 8120 Wisconsin Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-3624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bethesda
#1 Green Hotel in Bethesda
#5 Business Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range: $97 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Bethesda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Doubletree Hotel Bethesda is located in the heart of trendy downtown Bethesda, MD, just 30-45 minutes from all 3 Washington D.C. area airports. Doubletree Bethesda is the closest full service hotel to the NIH and Bethesda Naval Medical Center, convenient to the Capital Beltway, I-270 Technology Corridor, and Washington D.C. attractions. The hotel offers guests complimentary Internet and a complimentary shuttle to the Redline Bethesda and Medical Center Metro Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Bethesda
Bethesda Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing