We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Stay, Friendly Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Hotel Bethesda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
GreenLeadersSilver level
Philadelphia
1 review
“Very Nice Stay, Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

Stayed over the weekend and enjoyed our stay. The bed was super comfortable. I had a great sleep. The decor in nice and breakfast was scrumptious. Many choicese to choose from. Would recommend again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank misty1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT-Bethesda, Owner/ manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, August 23, 2009
Thank you for your valuable feedback and helpful insight. We strive to exceed guest expectations by learning from the experiences you share with us. We look forward to your return visit in the future and allowing us to make us your home away from home

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    352
    178
    93
    47
See reviews for
234
154
55
482
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, MD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

This hotel has a phenominal staff. We had planned to go out fo the evening but with no idea where to go. The staff had plenty of suggestions including lists, maps and the best way to get there. We had a wonderful night sampling the best of Bethesda right outside the back door. We must have had 150 bar/restaurant choices within a four block square. We sampled some of the sushi inside the hotel and it was first rate. The accomodations were very nice and of course very clean. The summer rates are incredible too. We only stayed one night, but we wanted to stay a lot longer.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingTom90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne,Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

We stayed here for 3 weeks, on holiday and to attend a conference. The hotel was great value, we paid in advance and got a rate around USD80 per night. Reception service was good, we got everything we asked for. The dining room breakfast was perhaps a little expensive, but there are plenty of excellent breakfast places all around. In fact, the best thing about this hotel was it's proximity to a full range of great restaurants, all within easy walking distance. In three weeks, we could have eaten in a different place for every meal of every day. The room cleaning was somewhat variable. Sometimes we had bathroom supplies which weren't replaced when used up, or coffee sachets not filled up. But the room size was great, and we had a great view from the 15th floor over the streets of downtown bethesda. The business centre had computors which were free to use, they seemed to be open whenever needed, even very late at night.. It's a 10 minute walk to the metro, and the beds are soft and comfortable with good quality linen. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank learnmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

As a professional Meeting Planner, I support a number of events locally and across the country. The Doubletree Bethesda Hotel and Executive Meeting Center is a wonderful venue for corporate meetings and events. The staff is very personable, professional, solution-oriented, and friendly. I will sum up my experiences to the analogy of a marriage of convenience (oh-my-goodness-my-biological-clock-is-ticking-I'll take you-yeah the one holding the fried bologna-sandwhich!) versus a long-term marriage commitment with a truly compatible spouse. Operative word being compatible.

A marriage of convenience with a spouse that is practical, relatively attractive and “good for you” may offer security and mundane contentment. This type of union could work well for many years depending on how conservative your needs are. However, for the romantic, you experience and come to anticipate joy and longevity with a truly compatible spouse who exceeds your expectations and whose approach to life and problem solving may be just as effective, but different, delightfully innovative, and completely out-of-the box from anything you have ever experienced. For me, the Doubletree Hotel and Executive Meeting Center is that "compatible spouse" who literally offers the comfort of freshly baked chocolate chip cookies each day upon request.

Most hotels offer a consistent, traditional standard hotel experience that meets the customer’s basic lodging and meeting needs. However, the Doubletree Bethesda Hotel and Executive Meeting Center appeals to modern, savvy Meeting Planners with its state of the art audiovisual support and equipment, trendsetting execution of banquet services and functions, and comfortable meeting space.

Only a few negatives, I wish they had a sister-property in downtown DC; limited parking during hectic times; and the erratic, charbroil food smells from the neighboring restaurant in two meeting rooms at this facility. However, the hotel responded very quickly with no excuses in offering a solution to adequately address this last concern. I still maintain my opinion that the Doubletree Hotel and Executive Meeting Center is a venue that is conducive to a fun, budget sensitive and productive meeting experience. Besides we all could use some good clean fun, as we try to formulate answers to the harsh realities and uncertainties of these economically challenging times at meetings.

Monica Washington, CGMP
Meeting Planner

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rxeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

I reserved this through priceline, so I paid significantly less than the hotel's website. Was put in a handicap room which was totally fine for me. I must say I would not rate this high if I paid the website price for the value factor. Hotel is very clean and nice. Staff is very friendly, even the valet staff. We had problems with the hot water and the maintenance guy was over in 3 mins even at 11:30 p.m. I was very impressed. Overall, very happy stay. Free internet, although could pay $10 for faster speed. Oh one note on parking, park across the street on the second level because overnight is free. But you would have to wake up before 7 a.m. to feed the meters. Valet is $20. Expensive!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tumbleweed5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

First impressions of the hotel are OK, with a nicely decorated lobby area (albeit with no natural light, as another reviewer observed). Check in was fine, but the elevator is the first hint that this is an old hotel that has not been kept up to par.

Leaving the elevator I was confronted by an A/C grill that had peeling paint and water damage. The door to the room had been damaged (a number of times, apparently) and painted over, making it appear very shabby. The room itself was decorated nicely enough, but was very 'rough around the edges'; paint peeling from the bathroom ceiling, chipped furniture, stained carpet. The in-room A/C was appallingly noisy, and started up at random with what can only be described as a blast of cold air.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, and there was a nice (though pricey) selection of organic food available from the restaurants and room service. The Doubletree has a great location and the potential to be a great hotel, but really needs total refurbishment to justify being part of a Hilton brand.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stooga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

I found the Bethesda Doubletree slightly dingy in a basement-y sort of way. I arrived a day ahead of a meeting on a warm sunny day, anxious for fresh air after a day of traveling. But the lobby was depressing with no natural light at all. Moreover, the front desk clerk informed me that there are no outdoor spaces available for sitting, and no rooms at all with openable windows.

The room was outdated and cheaply furnished which is not a major problem, but when I used the bathroom at night I found I was sharing it with cockroaches. Sorry, but that was my limit. I'll stick to the Bethesda Marriott next time around.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Overhear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethesda
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
#5 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 stars 1,230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bethesda Court Hotel
Bethesda Court Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#2 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 351 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
1.7 mi away
Bethesda Marriott
Bethesda Marriott
#7 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 stars 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Bethesda

Property: Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
Address: 8120 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814-3624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bethesda
#5 Business Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Bethesda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Doubletree Hotel Bethesda is located in the heart of trendy downtown Bethesda, MD, just 30-45 minutes from all 3 Washington D.C. area airports. Doubletree Bethesda is the closest full service hotel to the NIH and Bethesda Naval Medical Center, convenient to the Capital Beltway, I-270 Technology Corridor, and Washington D.C. attractions. The hotel offers guests complimentary Internet and a complimentary shuttle to the Redline Bethesda and Medical Center Metro Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Bethesda
Bethesda Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing