We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“inexpensive but not at all cheap” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doubletree Hotel Bethesda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
GreenLeadersSilver level
OK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“inexpensive but not at all cheap”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2009

I got a great price on my room -- heck, the rental car was more expensive -- and was fearing a fleabag place. Not so! This is a clean, well-kept, somewhat cushy hotel, with bigger rooms than you can get for much more money in downtown DC. The hotel is built in a funny shape so that every room has a corner window -- lots of light and a good view. The staff are wonderfully courteous. The only thing I would say about the room I had was that the bathroom was a little small and cramped.

Location is GREAT. I had no idea that Bethesda had so many good restaurants, but it's a gourmet-ethnic paradise and everything is walking distance from the hotel. Also, the Tastee Diner a few blocks away is not to be missed for breakfast -- the hotel does have Starbucks in the lobby as well as a restaurant, but eating in the hotel seemed silly with so much else around. It is a short walk to the Metro, which is easy access to all the sights in Washington.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank empireofdirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    377
    194
    108
    53
See reviews for
259
169
62
515
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
GR, NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2009

We had two wonderful nights at the Doubletree. From the first minute we pulled up, the valet parking staff took great care of us, the check -in went smoothly (chocolate cookies to eat on the way up to your room), a big fruit basket at the front desk, and we had a king size bed on a pure floor. The best part was the breakfast. Once again, the restaurant staff was friendly and the food selections amazing. We told our friends the next time we come down, we are going to have brunch at the Doubletree. Not only would I recommend this hotel to a friends and family, I would stay there again. Great job!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PgalC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida City, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2009

This was my first visit and I will definitely return. We booked a King room and were upgraded to a large king room. The room was clean, bright and spacious with a balcony and flat screen TV. The bathroom was a bit small, but well lit with nice amenities. There was a nice bar for the evening and a Starbucks for the morning. There were many great restaurants within walking distance. My tip to other visitors who are driving, would be to use the Woodmont Ave. Public Parking which is directly across the street from the back of the hotel. It is free on weekends, safe, well-lit with plenty of parking. I think $20 for valet parking is excessive, especially when you are staying there as a Hilton Honors member. Also, we come and go alot and the tipping was too much.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crazyaboutpandas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2009

Stayed at the Doubletree for 3 nights early this year, and I was very impressed. The room was very large, and extremely well furnished. There was free internet, which was a massive bonus, and makes a change from paying the usual $10-$15 per day. The staff were also friendly and attentive. Perhaps the only thing I'd slightly mark the room down on was for the bathroom, which was a little small by Hilton standards.

Location-wise, the Doubletree is in a decent location on Wisconsin Avenue, a short walk from the NIH and also the metro station for getting in to DC.

This is clearly a business hotel, and Bethesda is clearly a business town, and the Doubletree serves its function very well.

  • Liked — the free internet and the large room
  • Disliked — the bathroom was a little small
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank John_Lewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
249 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2008

The room was pretty big and clean, but the bathroom was very small. The heater was ridiculous - too loud and inconsistent temperature. The service was excellent, but when somebody in our party tried to figure out how to book a trip they were clueless. We are told that the restaurants are excellent but did not have a chance to try them out. If you have to be in Bethesda this is an adequate place to stay; otherwise there are many other choices in the DC area.

  • Liked — Clean and centrally located
  • Disliked — Tiny bathroom
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ExperiencedTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohnert Park, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2008

Great location for visiting D.C. You are not in the downtown but are surrounded by great food, shopping and people. Everybody we encountered in the hotel where very helpful and friendly. We stayed on the 14th floor and had a great view of all the tree's changing color in the late fall. There is a Morton's of Chicago just four blocks down and if they are busy there is always space at the Ruth Chris across the street.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Valet Parking
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SavvyTraveler008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2008

Stayed at the Doubletree for two weeks while attending a conference at USUHS. First, if you are a government traveler I would suggest booking through Fedrooms.com - I had already booked through Hilton.com and found the room at a much lower rate (1/3 of the government per diem rate) on Fedrooms and, when I called the hotel directly, they gave me that rate - so save the taxpayers some money! (you must have your government ID - they check). Check-in process was seamless. One caveat: while I heard that they advertised park-yourself-parking for $17 (vs $20 for valet), there is only valet parking. However, if you are coming for a weekend you can park for free after 10 PM on Friday through Sunday at either an open metered public parking lot across the street, or at a public parking garage behind the hotel on Woodmont. As a Hilton Honors member I had a slight upgrade on the room; the first night there was a problem with the in-wall heating unit in that it banged intermittently all night, punctuated by a pipe problem, resulting in a lack of sleep. However, the front desk staff (Jonathan) was exceedingly accommodating the next day and moved me no-questions-asked. The room was clean, comfortable and large, high floor view with a nice view of the NNMC-Bethesda complex in the near-distance. Bathroom was a bit small but well-appointed. Staff were all friendly. Breakfast was a bit steep ($15 for the buffet) but the quality was fairly good. Housekeeping was on the ball and the room was picked up nicely every day. There is a washer and dryer ($1.25 for either, plus $0.50 for soap) on the fifth floor - helpful for long-term stays. The morning shuttle to the Medical Center metro is not a circulator - it leaves at 7 AM sharp for its one trip, otherwise you walk. If you arrive at the Metro stop and want a ride to the hotel, you need to call the hotel directly and they will send the shuttle (I found out after getting soaked from the 10 minute walk in the rain); keep the hotel phone number in your PDA or cellphone! All in all, a very nice stay - I would definitely recommend it and will stay here every time I travel to Bethesda. Also, if you're visiting American University it is three stops away on the Metro or a 10 minute drive, tops.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sfisherphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bethesda hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
0.3 mi away
Bethesda Court Hotel
Bethesda Court Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
#7 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#2 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
0.0 mi away
American Inn of Bethesda
American Inn of Bethesda
#8 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Bethesda

Property: Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
Address: 8120 Wisconsin Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-3624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bethesda
#5 Business Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Bethesda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Doubletree Hotel Bethesda is located in the heart of trendy downtown Bethesda, MD, just 30-45 minutes from all 3 Washington D.C. area airports. Doubletree Bethesda is the closest full service hotel to the NIH and Bethesda Naval Medical Center, convenient to the Capital Beltway, I-270 Technology Corridor, and Washington D.C. attractions. The hotel offers guests complimentary Internet and a complimentary shuttle to the Redline Bethesda and Medical Center Metro Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Bethesda
Bethesda Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing