We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Exceptional hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doubletree Hotel Bethesda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bethesda, United States
1 review
“Exceptional hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

I have stayed at this location on several different times and have never had any complaints. The hotel is nicely maintain, rooms clean, the staff very courteous and helpful, the rates are reasonable, and the location is excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Douglas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Hi Douglas, thanks for making Doubletree Bethesda your home away from home. We will make every effort to continue earning your trust. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    377
    196
    109
    53
See reviews for
260
169
63
515
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Great hotel in all aspects if you want to be in Bethesda. Food was excellent. Rooms were updated. Business center was comprehensive. Meeting rooms were well equipped and there were many break options for drink and snack. The attendees loved the break station. And......the cookies! Just delicious.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank DAZAlexandria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Daz, I am happy you enjoyed your experience with us. We will continue to deliver consistent warm and caring service to our guests. We hope to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

The Double Tree Bethesda is a fantastic place to stay - perfect location, staff are VERY friendly and extremely helpful. Rooms are spacious and clean, Lobby is beautiful. Overall quality is second to none!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Lindsey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Hi Lindsey, thanks for your kind comments. We will continue to build on a culture that seeks out memorable relationships with our guests. We hope to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

It's nice to feel welcome when you walk inside and that's how we felt as we received our warm chocolate chip cookies at check in! The room was very clean, though there was a slight food like odor we couldn't quite place. The lines were fresh and clean and the room was well lit. We forgot to bring a corkscrew and when we asked for help, we were given one along with a smile and 2 wine glasses! Highly recommend to all, especially families headed down to visit students at the schools nearby...a 12 minute car ride to American University! The 2 double beds worked for the 3 adults and there was a desk with a chair...we thought there might have been a piece of furniture missing as there was a large empty space where another chair or small couch might have once been. the bathroom was small but clean and fine for an overnight. We should have requested more towels...the staff is very friendly and helpful. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank eaglebunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Eaglebunny, I am glad you chose to stay with us and had such a great experience. Hopefully we’ll see you again soon; BTW…The rooftop pool in the summer is great for families as well..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Great place to stay for Walter Reed or NIH travelers. Parking is an add, but you can self park behind in a city parking deck with Go Park Now app or with coins for less. All hotels in Bethesda are expensive, but this one provides great access to the Medical Center (i.e. Walter Reed) or the NIH.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Caleb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Hello Caleb, thanks for your review. I am glad your stay went well with us, please come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortlandt Manor, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We arrived on a Friday afternoon and no food was being served for lunch. At dinner time we had to eat a hamburger at the bar because the restaurant was not open for dinner either. The phone next to the bed did not work. There was only one chair in the room which had two queen size beds!

Room Tip: Make sure everything works and there is more than one chair in the room.
See more room tips
Green Features: I liked the dispensers for shampoo, conditioner and body wash.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoEllen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Hi JoEllen, Your description of dinner experience is quite unusual; I will look into this further. We offer our full dinner menu in the evenings and often receive great compliments about our food. We hope you will try us again for a more favorable experience that we are known for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Painted Post, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

While I am typically a fan of Hilton-branded properties, my experience at the DoubleTree Bethesda gave me ample reasons to reconsider my assessment.
I arrived last Saturday night during a torrential downpour to find cars blocking the hotel entrance and a valet attendant who told me to "go park your car in a city lot a couple of blocks away". After walking back to the hotel with my bags in the rain, I arrived to find a rude and unprofessional front desk clerk who told me (1) I had no reservation (2) you have already checked-in, and finally (3) that I did indeed have a reservation but that there was some type of system issue. After waiting while he left to speak and joke with the other desk clerk, I finally was given a room key. As I walked away from the desk, he yelled for me to come back, grabbed my folio and changed the room from the Hilton HHonors floor to another part of the building. While the room was clean, the hotel has obviously seen better days and is in need of significant upgrade.
After calling room service 3 times without anyone answering, I went downstairs to the restaurant to try and find something for dinner. My frustration levels only increased as I waiting for the restaurant server to end a personal call on their cell phone before taking my order for a burger and salad. While the food arrived within the promised 30 minutes, I certainly expected better from DoubleTree.
The perfect ending to the day involved the hotel's fire alarm and evacuation siren going off at midnight and joining my fellow guests outside the hotel entrance for almost an hour before being able to return my room via the stairs!
I spend 50+ days a year in hotels and have elite status with Hilton HHonors and a number of other chains. The DoubleTree Bethesda is not up to the usual standards one expects from Hilton properties. Very disappointing service and inexcusable treatment...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FlyFishGuyNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear FlyFishGuy, based on your feedback it is quite obvious that you had a “not so great” experience with us. We are definitely better that what you described. I would hope for another chance to serve you in the future and to change your perception of our service levels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bethesda hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
0.3 mi away
Bethesda Court Hotel
Bethesda Court Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
#7 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#2 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
0.0 mi away
American Inn of Bethesda
American Inn of Bethesda
#8 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Bethesda

Property: Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
Address: 8120 Wisconsin Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-3624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bethesda
#5 Business Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Bethesda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Doubletree Hotel Bethesda is located in the heart of trendy downtown Bethesda, MD, just 30-45 minutes from all 3 Washington D.C. area airports. Doubletree Bethesda is the closest full service hotel to the NIH and Bethesda Naval Medical Center, convenient to the Capital Beltway, I-270 Technology Corridor, and Washington D.C. attractions. The hotel offers guests complimentary Internet and a complimentary shuttle to the Redline Bethesda and Medical Center Metro Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Bethesda
Bethesda Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing