We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Location isn't everything” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Hotel Bethesda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
GreenLeadersSilver level
Southern NJ
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Location isn't everything”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We were booked into this hotel by the NIH. It was difficult to find the entrance because the sign only says Valet Parking. After we circled the block I pulled in and was told it was going to cost $22 for parking. After some hesitation, the valet told me I had another option which was to park across the street for free until 7am Monday morning (we were staying on Sunday night). Supposedly we had a larger room with 2 double beds yet it seemed on the small side. Maybe they were referring to the bathroom which was large because it was handicap accessible. The coffee pot was missing from the room when we arrived but housekeeping brought one up when we brought it to the front desks attention. There is a variety of restaurants within about 6 blocks. We went up to the rooftop pool and discovered it was overrun with a large party scene including drinking and very loud music. Not a very family oriented atmosphere. The hotel charged us for 2 nights and we only stayed one night plus the room was paid for by the NIH and should never had been billed to us. It has been difficult to get the charged removed from our credit card. Don't waste money on the Starbucks downstairs which overcharges. I think next time we will ask NIH to book us into another hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank russofSNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear russofSNJ, your critique of our hotel charges are a bit unfair. Our Front Office Manager remembers that your reservation was made by you through a prepaid non-refundable website and not made through NIH. Also, our parking and Starbucks pricing is one of the most competitive in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    363
    186
    101
    50
See reviews for
247
159
59
499
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I will not stay here again and am entirely disappointed with the entire experience. I thought the Double Tree was a quality hotel but I was wrong and won't be coming back. I was especially disappointed with the staff attitudes and their lack of attention to my requests. I was simply in shock when they called me at my 9 month old daughter's bedtime and told me they did not have any cribs and that they had to throw a bunch away because they were unsafe. I asked what I should do and the lady on the other end said she didn't know. I told her my daughter needs a place to sleep. She asked if I wanted to speak to a manager and I said yes. I was forwarded to a voicemail and left a message. I was not called back by the manager or followed-up with at all. My friend went down to the front desk and simply stated this is not acceptable, this is a baby, and they need to get a crib to us TONIGHT. After much pleading and protesting on our part, 1 hour later a crib showed up at the door after my daughter fell asleep on me in the bed. On top of that, we received mixed responses about our other requests (fridge, high chair) and they didn't show up until several hours (or a day) after our arrival. I was under the impression a request for these items would insure that they were present to make our stay with our family comfortable and convenient... I was wrong. If the Double Tree can't afford to make these requests available to guests, they shouldn't offer these amenities. If they have a finite number of cribs, fridges, etc., they should be able to figure out how many are going to be 'checked-out' and thus should not promise something they cannot provide. Horrible experience...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Sharon, we impress on our team daily the importance of responsiveness to our guest. This is usually one of our strong areas. We have recently replaced some of our older cribs with new ones. I truly hope you give us the opportunity to serve you again and change your perception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Fitness center not open 24 hours. Breakfast not ready to be served at 6:00 am on Sunday morning although this is stated on the web site. Mattresses in room extremely soft. Noise from hallway and adjacent rooms interfered with sleep.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Hi Elizabeth, our guests are able to access the fitness center 24 hours with their room key card. Timeliness within our various F&B areas are extremely important to us, we will keep a close eye on the issue you mentioned regarding breakfast. One of the most frequent compliments we get is about the comfort of our beds. Also, the noise level you experienced from the adjacent room is also pretty rear for us. We truly hope to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
71 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed for three days and had no problem with service, from front desk to housekeeping. Yes, the cookies are always a hit. The room was spacious, clean, and the bed/tv were on the newer side. However, the hotel itself, especially the hallways, are old and have a musty smell that should be addressed.

The location cannot be beat! There are so many places to eat within walking distance (perhaps 30 restaurants I counted within a 7 block radius). And there are two metro stops within a 10 minute walking distance (although I understand the hotel provides a shuttle). I was in Metro Center DC within 6 stops.

The price for the location is very good. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VegasLovr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Our family of four found this location to be very convenient to traveling to DC by the Metro. Bethesda, MD is a nice town with many great places to eat. The hotel breakfast is pretty standard fair for the buffet style but it's good and the staff is wonderful. The hotel entrance is located in the tunnel where you pull your car in when arriving. Not much street presence. Once inside it's much better. It was hot and the roof top pool was a hit. The view is enormous but the kids never noticed. We don't mind walking so the 10 minute walk to the Metro was not a big deal for us but they do have a shuttle if necessary. If you have an early morning flight be aware the shuttle service begins at 0700. We'll be back and will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Eric Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg
Level Contributor
70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed here for one night. We had no issues, the hotel was clean, staff was friendly, room was okay. We walked a short distance to the DC metro and on our way home, we jumped right on the interstate. Good central location. We also loved the free cookie!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChassidyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I thought I had seen it all, but much to my surprise, I found a couple of charges ($5.30) made directly to my credit card that did not appear on the bill at checkout time. When checking for receipts, none were to be found, so I called the hotel to find out what I "bought". As it turns out, I was told it was for bottles of water that were placed in my room. The odd thing, though. I never touch those, at least not in the US.

I suppose if you're traveling on the Company's dime, those "incidentals" slip below the radar. But when you are the Company, it adds up.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fngl51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bethesda hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
#7 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 stars 1,328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bethesda Court Hotel
Bethesda Court Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#2 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 360 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
1.7 mi away
Bethesda Marriott
Bethesda Marriott
#6 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 stars 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Bethesda

Property: Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
Address: 8120 Wisconsin Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-3624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bethesda
#5 Business Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Bethesda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Doubletree Hotel Bethesda is located in the heart of trendy downtown Bethesda, MD, just 30-45 minutes from all 3 Washington D.C. area airports. Doubletree Bethesda is the closest full service hotel to the NIH and Bethesda Naval Medical Center, convenient to the Capital Beltway, I-270 Technology Corridor, and Washington D.C. attractions. The hotel offers guests complimentary Internet and a complimentary shuttle to the Redline Bethesda and Medical Center Metro Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cancelon and Expedia so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Bethesda
Bethesda Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing