We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We've stayed at this hotel twice in the last 3 weeks, and we're going back again this weekend. It has become our home away from home when visiting Washington, DC. Great hotel, close to the Metro and the downtown DC area. Hotel is situated in a neighborhood full of a variety of ethnic restaurants. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

978 - 984 of 1,252 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

Terrible front desk staff. There was never anyone working on the front desk when I needed assistance. I had to wait around for someone to show up. Very rude front desk staff. Rooms were nice and clean.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Catherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed here for a conference. Room was very spacious. Light bulb went out in one of the lamps but that was not a big deal to me. There were plenty of stores and restaurants around the hotel to go to and eat or get something you may have forgotten. Very nice place. Great for smaller scale conferences. Had great foods/snacks available during conference as well.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camikins99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2015

Thank you so much for the kind words. Honestly, I appreciate your recognition. Please come back again soon. Be sure to check our doubletreebethesda.com for our new summer pool package and special promotions, there are great deals to be had for your next visit. Best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We were very disappointed by the party atmosphere of this hotel. We were looking for a relaxing stay, but instead indurred people hanging out in the hallways partying late at night and a mess at the pool from people hanging out at the pool in the evening, drinking, etc.. The accomodations were fine, but our experience was not what we expected.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2015

Hello Robert, I really appreciate you taking the time out to let us know of your experience. The CC on file is for booking the room however on arrival you have the option of presenting that same Credit Card or a cash deposit which is $25.00 per night for incidentals. In reference to the parking the hotel only does Valet parking which is charged to the rooms and you settle at the end of your stay. Therefore the difference from your deposit was what was refunded to you on departure. All this information is stated on our web site and at the Desk when you check in. I hope this clarifies what really happens.Thanks for your feedback and I hope you try us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

You have to pay 100.00 cash when checking in? for damages? really, I thought that's why they had our cc on file? Then when checking out, they kept 25.00 of it for parking? No-one said anything about being charged for parking! Paid to much for hotel, didn't look like it did on line.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2015

Hey Robert B,

I really do appreciate your feedback and wanted to better help you understand what happens when you make a booking. The CC on file is only held for the booking of the room and is not charged until you present it on arrival or your second option is a Cash deposit which is what you have decided to do. The cash deposit is $25.00 per night for incidentals. In reference to the parking, the hotel only does Valet parking which is charged to your room and is settled at the end of your stay however you wish to pay. Apparently you had cash on the account so it withdrew the amount from there and you got the difference which was refunded to you. Thanks for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay, the room was great - suite with a full kitchen and warm cookies - yay! The hotel location was very nice. They offer valet parking for $12 on the weekends, but they have free parking directly across the street and we were offered that at the time of valet. We thought that was very nice because they really didn't have to tell us.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Edna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2015

Hi Edna M., thank you for staying with us and for your feedback. It’s great to know that you enjoyed the room accommodation overall. Please come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed here recently for a meeting at the National Institutes of Health. It is closer to NIH than other Bethesda hotels if you want to walk, and the room was reasonably comfortable, although the bathroom was tiny. But the rest of the hotel and amenities leave much to be desired. The restaurant charges $18 for a skimpy "buffet" (I got a free coupon as a Gold member) - go up the street to the Pancake House for a better and cheaper meal. Internet access is sluggish - I had to plug into the broadband cable provided in the room, and it's still slow. The gym area is OK, but one of the elliptical machines was broken and dirty towels are piled up on the floor. I'm a frequent visitor to other Doubletree hotels where everything is clean and it was disappointing to see this inattentiveness. The 2nd-floor conference area looked nice, although I did not use it, except to print my boarding pass in the business center ("it's COMPLIMENTARY!" a staff member assured me. Well, I should hope so!) Next time I'm in Bethesda, I'll probably stay at the Hyatt or Hilton Garden Inn, even though they are slightly further from NIH.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Avatar627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Hello Avatar, thank you for your feedback. I am glad you were happy about the comfort of the room and the hotel proximity to NIH. Our breakfast buffet variety and standards competes well with any 4 star restaurant in the area, we are also reasonably priced. Our internet connection was upgraded a year ago to a more robust system. We will do a walk through test to ensure there are not connectivity issues throughout the building. The day you experienced pool towels on the gym floor is an exception to the norm, we have since put in place corrective measure to prevent the pool towel bin from overflowing. I do hope you try us again the next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bethesda hotels
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
#7 of 11 in Bethesda
1,727 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bethesda Court Hotel
Bethesda Court Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bethesda
433 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Bethesda Marriott
Bethesda Marriott
#2 of 11 in Bethesda
134 reviews
3.1 mi away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#6 of 11 in Bethesda
439 reviews
0.0 mi away
American Inn of Bethesda
American Inn of Bethesda
#8 of 11 in Bethesda
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Bethesda

Address: 8120 Wisconsin Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-3624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bethesda
#5 Business Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range: $97 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Bethesda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Doubletree Hotel Bethesda is located in the heart of trendy downtown Bethesda, MD, just 30-45 minutes from all 3 Washington D.C. area airports. Doubletree Bethesda is the closest full service hotel to the NIH and Bethesda Naval Medical Center, convenient to the Capital Beltway, I-270 Technology Corridor, and Washington D.C. attractions. The hotel offers guests complimentary Internet and a complimentary shuttle to the Redline Bethesda and Medical Center Metro Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Bethesda
Bethesda Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing