We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Pretty good for a business trip” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Hotel Bethesda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pretty good for a business trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I've stayed here a number of times on business, as the agency I work for contracts with this hotel Service is consistently good with efficient check-in and check-out. Rooms are definitely not luxurious, but they're comfortable and clean with good layout and reasonably nice decor. This is a reasonably good hotel for a business trip. I would not want to stay here if traveling for pleasure, though. Hotel is in a rather dreary location, but it's close to the NIH.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nester101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Nester, thank you for the feedback. We often get compliments about our location and the proximity to upscale bars and restaurant literally across the street. Our shuttle service to the metro four blocks away and shops within walking distance are huge pluses. Our rooftop pool is very popular with our guests, presenting the best view of downtown Bethesda. We do have a variety of room choices, most of which are larger than the one you described. We are also in the process of replacing some of our room furnishings; this should be completed within the next three months. Thanks for choosing our hotel, I really hope to see you again maybe on a leisure trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    362
    185
    101
    50
See reviews for
246
159
59
498
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

--The location was perfect! Close to Walter Reed, Bethesda Row, lots of places to eat, etc. --The layout of the room was very cramped. There was very little space to walk between the desk chair and bed to get through to the rest of the room. It was not convenient. The chair in particular was in bad condition. Having a corner room with two large windows was awesome. There was no stand to put my suitcase on. Normally there's one stored in the closet in hotel rooms. --The fitness center needed cleaning. There was no phone in there to call the front desk, so when I realized the water dispenser was empty I couldn't call down (I didn't have my cell phone on me). Some of the machines (like the ellipticals) needed servicing. --The elevator situation was very aggravating because only 2 of the 3 elevators went all the way to the penthouse (PH). There was no way to request only those 2 elevators though. Sometimes it was a long wait to catch the right elevator. --I really like that the hotel recycles. --The customer service was disappointing. Many of the front desk workers were unfriendly and I had a hard time understanding many of the workers because they did not speak English well. The woman who were working when I checked out were very friendly though. Only one time was I able to able to contact someone at the front desk from the phone in my room within a reasonable amount of time. Usually I gave up and physically went to the front desk or called on my cell phone. One night I stopped at the front desk at 9 PM to ask for clean towels. I was told they'd be brought right up. An hour and a half later it was getting late and I called downstairs because I needed to get ready for bed (I had an early morning). I told the woman I was getting ready for bed and asked that the towels be left on the floor outside my room because I was in my pajamas and couldn't open the door. Luckily I had showered earlier since I had no clean towels left that night. When a man brought the towels up he kept knocking on the door and I asked him to leave the towels on the floor (which was gross) because I wasn't dressed to open the door. The front desk staff apparently hadn't relayed that message to him. --The first night I called in-room dining because I had a question about the menu. The woman said she didn't work the breakfast shift and couldn't answer a simple question. The prices for all items (e.g. orange juice, hot tea) should be put on the in-room dining card. --I really appreciated the shuttle to Walter Reed, although each staff member gave me a different version of when it left in the morning, how to get on it, etc. Also, when I filled out an online form asking about the shuttle before booking the hotel no one responded. --Having a microwave and refrigerator in the room was great. The refrigerator was not plugged in though, which I didn't realize until I put leftovers in it and realized it wasn't cold. It was also full of mold.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jolene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hi Jolene, we appreciate and take your comment very seriously… We are glad you appreciated our location and shuttle service… There is a phone in our fitness room; we also take pride in cleaning our fitness room and service or equipment at least twice per day. Our chairs in our guest rooms will be replaced with brand new chairs within the next two to three months. Thanks for mentioning our recycle program; we are very passionate about this effort which is also popular with our guests. We are accustoming to getting great feedback about the friendliness and efficiency of our staff; we will continue to push for excellence in this area. We have investigated all the areas of concern you mention and have put into progress corrective measures. Thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Illinois
Level Contributor
163 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This hotel does except the local government per diem rate of 224 per night and that is the only reason I stayed here. Close proximity to public transportation and the Navy hospital, otherwise close to nothing worth going to. Check in was very nice, I was given 2 tiny bottles of water and some extremely delicious cookies and the desk clerk was very nice. The large bottles of water in the room would cost $5. The room itself was fairly minimal, the room was your average size with the usual furniture. The cool part of this hotel was the roof top pool that gave a decent city view and would be a nice area to hang out. I wouldn't stay here on a personal trip as most people probably don't any way which is how this hotel gets away with it's gouging.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room on a higher floor so as to have a nicer view, this is one of the larger build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank knexster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Hello Knexster, You mentioned some positive things about our hotel, our great proximity to NIH and Walter Reed, you also mentioned your great check in experience received complimentary cookie and bottled water. Overwhelmingly, the feedback we usually receive from our guests has always been "great value, reasonably priced, great amenities and convenient location"…Price gauging is not a word we are accustom to seeing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The hotel was immaculate. The food was excellent. The cookies were warm and so yummy. The location was convenient to my conference location. The valet service was very helpful. I parked in the parking garage vs valet and it was much cheaper and very close. The valet gentleman assited me every step of the way.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, on behalf of the entire Doubletree Bethesda Team I want to say a big thank you for your kind heartfelt words about our hotel services. We hope to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Friendly efficient staff. Nice location and good amenities. Close to great shopping and restaurants. Had a very pleasant stay. Great for both business travel and a family trip. Close to the metro and Washington DC.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Vinny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Hi Vinny, I shared your kind feedback with our staff, and they are thrilled. We take a lot of pride in trying to delivering friendly efficient service to every guest who walks through our doors. I am glad you felt it... We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The hotel for the most part is nice enough. The room itself is dated aside from the bedding which is very nice. The bathroom is decent size but the fact that the oversized door swings into it made bathing my 8 month old in the tub quite difficult. Some of the Pro's would have to be the nice beds, the fact that they offer a shuttle bus to and from Walter Reed throughout the day starting at 7am, a starbucks coffee shop in the hotel, free internet access, and are located near a variety of restaurants. The staff was friendly and especially helpful. The con's..... no self parking, only valet parking which costs $22 a week day and $12 a weekend however there is a parking garage behind the hotel that offers week day parking for $.80 an hour and free parking on the weekend, the area around the hotel is not especially nice and the view of the torn down gas station out our window were less than pleasing. The hotel itself was nice but overall I think we paid more than we should have for what we received.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JDHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Hi JDHL, thank you for your feedback. You were kind enough to mention quite a few pros about our hotel, thank you. The torn down gas station you mentioned is being cleaned up by a developer; it is a proposed site for a bank. Most of our guest appreciates the area around the hotel for its proximity to restaurants and shops. We believe that our rates are very competitive in the Bethesda area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Needed a reasonably priced place to stay for a night away from parenting and tried this for the first time. Easy walking distance to restaurants and has a shuttle to the metro. VERY friendly and helpful staff. Room and lobby looked great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank DCTraveler2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bethesda hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
#7 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 stars 1,319 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bethesda Court Hotel
Bethesda Court Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#2 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 359 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
1.7 mi away
Bethesda Marriott
Bethesda Marriott
#6 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 stars 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Bethesda

Property: Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
Address: 8120 Wisconsin Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-3624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bethesda
#5 Business Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Bethesda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Doubletree Hotel Bethesda is located in the heart of trendy downtown Bethesda, MD, just 30-45 minutes from all 3 Washington D.C. area airports. Doubletree Bethesda is the closest full service hotel to the NIH and Bethesda Naval Medical Center, convenient to the Capital Beltway, I-270 Technology Corridor, and Washington D.C. attractions. The hotel offers guests complimentary Internet and a complimentary shuttle to the Redline Bethesda and Medical Center Metro Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Bethesda
Bethesda Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing