We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and reasonably priced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Hotel Bethesda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
GreenLeadersSilver level
Westchester, NY
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Convenient and reasonably priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed at the Doubletree over Christmas while visiting family in the Bethesda area. The hotel was clean, the staff courteous, and the breakfast (included in the room rate) was good. The hotel in convenient to several major hospitals and is walking distance to a cute area with restaurants and Starbucks. We'll stay here again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank frequenttraveler9724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. Your kind feedback is greatly appreciated. Consistency, warmth and excellence are our culture and I am happy that you enjoyed the experience. I will ensure that your feedback is shared with our team. We look forward to seeing you soon. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    352
    179
    93
    48
See reviews for
234
154
55
483
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
111 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed here for four nights over Christmas in 2012. In general I found this hotel to be a great choice for downtown Bethesda, certainly better value and equal amenities to the much pricier Hyatt down the street, which I have reviewed in the past. The staff is friendly and helpful.

The hotel is modern and clean with a starbucks and a restaurant/bar in the lobby. I had a cup of coffee from the starbucks and didn't try the food in the restaurant (visiting family so ate meals out) but it was a pleasant space.

Fitness center is excellent with new life fitness treadmills and good ellipticals, set of free weights, pleasantly located on the penthouse level so the room is bright and airy.

Room was extremely large if a little dark, bed incredibly comfortable. Got some great sleep while staying here. Maid service prompt and thorough.

There is a $15 fee for valet parking (and parking is valet only). I used the garage across the street which is free on weekends and holidays and only availed myself of the valets once, they were very pleasant and prompt.

My only gripe is that as a hilton gold member the perks seem sort of limited- there's a "pantry" that you can help yourself from at any hour and you pick between points and free breakfast. The pantry contains 100% junk food, I would prefer a rooftop lounge or something for gold members.

I recommend this hotel for a stay in Bethesda, it was extremely pleasant and the price was unbeatable for the quality.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neimanmarxist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback. It gives us great joy whenever our customers feel that they are winners after their experience with us. Providing competitive value and excellent service is our top priority. Thanks for choosing us, and we hope to serve you again soon..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I had a nice lunch ( the food was ok) and work out before my meeting. Clean rooms and great customer service. Idid manage to get a cookie. Valet parking was fast and easy. It was close to many restaurants that you could easily walk to.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelG882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights, had an excellent stay. Room was spacious, clean, modern. Staff were friendly and helpful. Nice starbucks right in the lobby if you don't want to sit down for big breakfast. Free wifi! Walking distance to metro and lots of restaurants.

Will note that my stay as a guest was excellent, but as the organizer of a small meeting had a slightly different experience. Room was well set up and easy to use, but took a long time to get an answer on questions in advance, people weren't always easy to locate. Still, overall a fine experience.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oneoverbeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Main Line area-Philadelphia, PA USA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed here for two nights for a conference held within the hotel. The conference facilities were great and very convenient. The hotel is about a mile from the metro station. Service was very good, food just OK. There is no spa. The room was very basic, with no mini bar, refrigerator or anything special. The usual $5.00 bottle of water is provided. On the positive side, you do get free wifi which was of good quality throughout the hotel. Staff was very friendly and attentive. Lots of good restaurants within a block or two and I'd suggest eating out where possible. The food provided for the conference was reasonable however. If you are looking for a place to stay for a day or two, this is just fine. If looking for a vacation resort, there are better options.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is a quick, bullet point review: the Good:
* Large Rooms recently renovated
* Excellent Location
* Priced Right
* Extremely comfortable beds
* Service at wine bar/restaurant was excellent
* Bath was clean
* The warm cookie at check in is a nice welcome--too bad they aren't provided every day!

The Not So Good:
* I was never able to get hot water from the shower and warm water was spotty at the sink. I noted this on the repair comment card first night, but nothing was done. At checkout, I did indicate my unhappiness at not having hot water in my room-a small compensation was given for my restaurant bill, which I appreciated but I would have expected more since hot water would seem to be a basic.
* Rooms have heating/air conditioning via wall units-which I have found are always noisy.
* Although I did not need to park a car, it does not appear that there is enough on site parking available.
* It did not appear my room was vacuumed at any time during my stay (3 nights) based on observations.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UMworldtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Togi M, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Bethesda, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for your valuable feedback. Although you have highlighted some positive aspects of your recent stay with us, we do appreciate the details of your concerns, so we can address and correct the deficiencies. Thank you again for taking valuable time to share your comments and for selecting our property for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethesda
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
#5 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 stars 1,231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bethesda Court Hotel
Bethesda Court Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#2 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 351 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
1.7 mi away
Bethesda Marriott
Bethesda Marriott
#7 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 stars 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Bethesda

Property: Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
Address: 8120 Wisconsin Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-3624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bethesda
#5 Business Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Bethesda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Doubletree Hotel Bethesda is located in the heart of trendy downtown Bethesda, MD, just 30-45 minutes from all 3 Washington D.C. area airports. Doubletree Bethesda is the closest full service hotel to the NIH and Bethesda Naval Medical Center, convenient to the Capital Beltway, I-270 Technology Corridor, and Washington D.C. attractions. The hotel offers guests complimentary Internet and a complimentary shuttle to the Redline Bethesda and Medical Center Metro Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Bethesda
Bethesda Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing