We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, especially for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Bethesda - Washington DC
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Bethesda
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed here for four nights over Christmas in 2012. In general I found this hotel to be a great choice for downtown Bethesda, certainly better value and equal amenities to the much pricier Hyatt down the street, which I have reviewed in the past. The staff is friendly and helpful.

The hotel is modern and clean with a starbucks and a restaurant/bar in the lobby. I had a cup of coffee from the starbucks and didn't try the food in the restaurant (visiting family so ate meals out) but it was a pleasant space.

Fitness center is excellent with new life fitness treadmills and good ellipticals, set of free weights, pleasantly located on the penthouse level so the room is bright and airy.

Room was extremely large if a little dark, bed incredibly comfortable. Got some great sleep while staying here. Maid service prompt and thorough.

There is a $15 fee for valet parking (and parking is valet only). I used the garage across the street which is free on weekends and holidays and only availed myself of the valets once, they were very pleasant and prompt.

My only gripe is that as a hilton gold member the perks seem sort of limited- there's a "pantry" that you can help yourself from at any hour and you pick between points and free breakfast. The pantry contains 100% junk food, I would prefer a rooftop lounge or something for gold members.

I recommend this hotel for a stay in Bethesda, it was extremely pleasant and the price was unbeatable for the quality.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank neimanmarxist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Bethesda - Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Thank you for your valuable feedback. It gives us great joy whenever our customers feel that they are winners after their experience with us. Providing competitive value and excellent service is our top priority. Thanks for choosing us, and we hope to serve you again soon..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,081 - 1,087 of 1,297 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2012

I had a nice lunch ( the food was ok) and work out before my meeting. Clean rooms and great customer service. Idid manage to get a cookie. Valet parking was fast and easy. It was close to many restaurants that you could easily walk to.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michaelG882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RBernard, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Bethesda - Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights, had an excellent stay. Room was spacious, clean, modern. Staff were friendly and helpful. Nice starbucks right in the lobby if you don't want to sit down for big breakfast. Free wifi! Walking distance to metro and lots of restaurants.

Will note that my stay as a guest was excellent, but as the organizer of a small meeting had a slightly different experience. Room was well set up and easy to use, but took a long time to get an answer on questions in advance, people weren't always easy to locate. Still, overall a fine experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oneoverbeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed here for two nights for a conference held within the hotel. The conference facilities were great and very convenient. The hotel is about a mile from the metro station. Service was very good, food just OK. There is no spa. The room was very basic, with no mini bar, refrigerator or anything special. The usual $5.00 bottle of water is provided. On the positive side, you do get free wifi which was of good quality throughout the hotel. Staff was very friendly and attentive. Lots of good restaurants within a block or two and I'd suggest eating out where possible. The food provided for the conference was reasonable however. If you are looking for a place to stay for a day or two, this is just fine. If looking for a vacation resort, there are better options.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is a quick, bullet point review: the Good:
* Large Rooms recently renovated
* Excellent Location
* Priced Right
* Extremely comfortable beds
* Service at wine bar/restaurant was excellent
* Bath was clean
* The warm cookie at check in is a nice welcome--too bad they aren't provided every day!

The Not So Good:
* I was never able to get hot water from the shower and warm water was spotty at the sink. I noted this on the repair comment card first night, but nothing was done. At checkout, I did indicate my unhappiness at not having hot water in my room-a small compensation was given for my restaurant bill, which I appreciated but I would have expected more since hot water would seem to be a basic.
* Rooms have heating/air conditioning via wall units-which I have found are always noisy.
* Although I did not need to park a car, it does not appear that there is enough on site parking available.
* It did not appear my room was vacuumed at any time during my stay (3 nights) based on observations.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UMworldtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Togi M, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Bethesda - Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Thank you for your valuable feedback. Although you have highlighted some positive aspects of your recent stay with us, we do appreciate the details of your concerns, so we can address and correct the deficiencies. Thank you again for taking valuable time to share your comments and for selecting our property for your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

It was a really good place to stay. The shuttle picks you up from the Metro and can take you there too. Only a 10 min ride. You can walk it too. Only takes like 15 min or so. Its a nice little walk. The front desk was courteous and I had no complaints about them. They gave us the cookies which were delicious. And we had them everyday we stayed. The only complaint was the toilet, I had to hold the handle down till it flushed but everything else was on point. Well worth it!

There is a pizza place right across the street and a CVS and 7-11 a couple blocks away. You gotta go to Rock Bottom Restaurant not far at all. Delicious..

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corona79us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Togi M, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Bethesda - Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We will review your comments with our team, so we can address your noted deficiency. Thank you also for highlighting the positives about our staff and service, as our entire team is always focused on taking care of our guests. Thank you again for sharing your valuable feedback and for selecting our property for your stay. We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bethesda hotels
1.8 mi away
Bethesda Marriott
Bethesda Marriott
#2 of 10 in Bethesda
163 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
#6 of 10 in Bethesda
1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#5 of 10 in Bethesda
453 reviews
0 mi away
American Inn of Bethesda
American Inn of Bethesda
#7 of 10 in Bethesda
319 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Bethesda - Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Bethesda - Washington DC

Address: 8120 Wisconsin Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-3624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bethesda
#5 Business Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range: $94 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Bethesda - Washington DC 3.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree by Hilton Bethesda - Washington DC is located in the heart of trendy downtown Bethesda, MD, just 30-45 minutes from all 3 Washington D.C. area airports. Doubletree Bethesda is the closest full service hotel to the NIH and Bethesda Naval Medical Center, convenient to the Capital Beltway, I-270 Technology Corridor, and Washington D.C. attractions. The hotel offers guests complimentary Internet and a complimentary shuttle to the Redline Bethesda and Medical Center Metro Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Bethesda - Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Bethesda
Bethesda Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing