We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but little things irked me.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but little things irked me.”
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Very clean, friendly staff. Nice indoor/outdoor pool and a great gym. But I was left feeling...eh, after my stay. Maybe it was because we had to change rooms due to an a/c problem during our stay, (We did get free breakfast and parking for our trouble) Maybe it was the one tiny washer/ dryer for the entire hotel that some people would leave their clothes in all day that let me down. Could have been the overpriced, bland food in the restaurant that left me feeling not so excited. But I think it was the weird layout of the room. My feng shui was so messed up! Double doors that can't open properly because the bed is in the way, sliding door to bathroom that doesn't lock but the door to the main room does and then you have to go to a different room to was your hands.Who designed this??? For a short term stay, this is nice place but if you need it for a week you may want to check in elsewhere as the little things do add up.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oversold_plus_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    181
    46
    15
    8
See reviews for
144
60
18
160
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kitty Hawk, NC
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Stayed 2 nights for business at a company within walking distance of the hotel. Positives: Hotel is immaculate and staff is friendly and helpful. Although I did not use, the indoor/outdoor pool looked inviting and the exercise area looked well attended and nice.
Negatives: High priced internet, no coffee or anything else in reception despite the power outage on the morning I had to leave or roast in the room. Parking and internet were each $12/day extra despite very high daily room charges. I think this is called nickel and diming the patrons but here it is big bucks instead of small change. I would think Marriott would throw in a few free amenities for their "Rewards" customers.
Comment: The bed although comfortable was somewhat weird in that you feel you are sleeping on hundreds of little pillows about the size of softballs.....a little strange the first night as your feet slip into the gully between these "large tufts". I do a fair amount of traveling and this was a first.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OBXRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2010

We got this reservation through Priceline and were pleasantly surprised by the accomodations. The bed was very comfortable and the area is quiet and away from traffic noise. We had a rental car but the hotel provided shuttle services to the Metro which we took to downtown DC. The workout area was clean and had great equipment. It's not within walking distance to restaurants but is an easy drive. We did not use the hotel restaurant but others seemed to be enjoying it.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ready2gohavefun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kennett square, pa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2010

As others have said suites are clean and comfortable. We needed budget suite and this fit the bill perfectly. 5 min. drive to metro station and 25 min. metro ride so we easily went into DC to do tourist things. DC very crowed (spring break/cherry blossom) festival so it was nice to get away to the quiet of Bethesda. Front desk VERY helpful from check in to finding restaurants. Balducci's grocery off Old G-town road wonderful items for breakfast/picnic and starbucks in the shopping center. Took 270Nto Rockville Center and found great area w/movies/restaurants and Buffalo Wild Wings to keep teens/hubby happy watching NCAA playoffs. ATe at Rock Bottom Brew Pub in downtown Bethesda and good food there as well.

Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank boysntravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2010

My husband and I made very last minute reservations to stay at this hotel during the January snow/ice storm in the DC and Virginia area. We were supposed to go on to Virginia, but had to stop due to the weather. The staff at the hotel were very nice, very soothing after a really difficult drive and the room was great. Very quiet, very clean and the bed! The bed was sooo comfy. I loved it. We stayed here before, but I had forgotten just how comfortable and nice this place is. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ejboldt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bethesda hotels
1.9 mi away
Bethesda Marriott
Bethesda Marriott
#5 of 11 in Bethesda
118 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bethesda Court Hotel
Bethesda Court Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bethesda
426 reviews
3.1 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
#7 of 11 in Bethesda
1,668 reviews
3.6 mi away
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bethesda Marriott Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethesda Marriott Suites

Property: Bethesda Marriott Suites
Address: 6711 Democracy Blvd, Bethesda, MD 20817-1128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Bethesda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bethesda
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bethesda
#4 Family Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bethesda Marriott Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inviting hospitality welcomes guests to the Bethesda Marriott Suites, a sophisticated hotel in Bethesda, MD, where travelers can enjoy some of the largest guestrooms in the county. Conveniently situated near I-270, the I-495 Beltway, D.C. Metro and 3 major airports, our Bethesda, MD hotel's location is just 30 minutes from downtown Washington, D.C. Making it an ideal choice for family vacations, business travel or extended-stay needs. Large guest rooms feature warm tones, a separate living room and large bedroom, all designed with comfort and convenience in mind. Plush bedding ensembles, king-size beds and high-tech amenities combine to insure an outstanding Bethesda, Maryland, hotel experience with convenient access to the National Institute of Health, Food and Drug Administration, Suburban Hospital and other destinations. Our Bethesda hotel's free shuttle service to the Metro, Montgomery Mall and other local points, makes it easy to enjoy DC sights, local restaurants, shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Bethesda Marriott Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bethesda Marriott Hotel Bethesda
Marriott Bethesda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing