We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bethesda Marriott Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Certificate of Excellence
cayman islands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

simply put, this is the worst Marriot Hotel I have ever stayed in. Lobby and restaurant was fine but the doors to the rooms are old, rooms have a mild moldy smell. Just wasnt up to the marriot standard that Im used to. I was disappointed

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blackbeauty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty_Roth, General Manager at Bethesda Marriott Suites, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Hello Blackbeauty1,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback concerning your recent visit to our hotel. Based on your response we are currently investigating your room further to address the concerns you mentioned. We hope we will have an opportunity to host a future stay of yours and rebuild your confidence in our hotel. Please let me know if I may be of any assistance. I may be reached at Marty.Roth@marriott.com

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    150
    39
    12
    5
See reviews for
113
51
15
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kinston, North Carolina
Level Contributor
104 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I've stayed at Marriotts before, but this one was probably the best one yet, not counting the one on Pennsylvania Avenue in DC. Looks good. Up to date. Very comfortable room/suite. And price that can't be beat. Very courteous staff. A sure winner!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nando-Escabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty_Roth, General Manager at Bethesda Marriott Suites, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Hello Nando-Escabi,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. We are glad to hear that you and your family had a great stay. We hope to see you again in the future.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

I was visiting from London – meeting up for a boys reunion – all of us rapidly approaching our midlife crises. I was sharing the room with a friend of mine from Nashville and we were meeting up with two other guys, one from Fairfax the other from Baltimore. Bethesda was a good location for "central command". We went into DC quite a bit – a couple of times on bicycles that we easily rented from Bethesda downtown, rode into and around DC, taking the Metro back at night.
I emailed Marty, the general manager, before leaving the UK telling him about the trip and asking for a nice room if possible. Marty was as courteous and responsive as he is in all the posts below, and made sure a great suite was reserved for us. When we were checking in his staff were very complimentary of him indeed, which I haven't often found to be the case in US or European hotels. Thank you Marty for a great stay – despite never actually meeting up!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JazzAara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty_Roth, General Manager at Bethesda Marriott Suites, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Hey JazzAara,

I am sorry to hear that we were not able to connect. We probably passed each other in the lobby at some point. I am very glad to hear that you had such a great experience and that our staff took care of you. We appreciate you allowing us to host your boys' reunion. Those are often difficult to pull together, but it's great when you do.

We hope to see you again should your travels bring you back across the "pond". Please let me know if I can ever be of additional assistance.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

My room was as advertised. Very clean and surprisingly quiet for being across an elevator and right next to the highway. The bed... wow, the bed was phenomenal!!!!! The staff was courteous and helpful too. Only problem is it isn't near anything for after hours. You have to drive somewhere if you want to eat other than the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OutdoorLover4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty_Roth, General Manager at Bethesda Marriott Suites, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Hello Outdoorloverforlife,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at our hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the beds and found the rooms to be comfortable and clean. We hope to see you again in the future.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We checked in on April 11th very early due to my appointment on the way to Myrtle Beach. Since we're gold members at marriott, they know we love hight floors and especially the top floor. We were put on 11 (Top Floor) in room 1114. We had a really good view which wasn't the best but we still loved the view, especially the sunrise! We also got free breakfast which was really nice. The one thing they could improve is renovating the hotel and adding more stuff to it because other than the restaurant and rooms, there's nothing else to do except to go swimming in the indoor/outdoor pool which is clean!

Room Tip: Request the top floor with a front view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrandonMarkowitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty_Roth, General Manager at Bethesda Marriott Suites, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Hello BrandonMarkowitz,

Thank you for your recent post about your experience at our hotel. I am glad to hear that you had an awesome stay with us. We hope to see you again in the near future should your travels bring you back to the Maryland area.

Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

First, know that this hotel is on the campus of Marriott headquarters, just across the courtyard are the offices for the company. So, I have to say I am shocked and disappointed with some of the quality here.
I have stayed here a number of times out of convenience to a business location. The rooms are always immaculate, comfortable, and well appointed, and very quiet. However, the old box televisions with limited channel line up is a little frustrating. Rooms have little to no information on the neighborhood, dining options, etc.
My chief complaint involves an apathetic staff. I checked into one room and the TV did not work, so I was moved to another room. On A prior stay they were having plumbing issues and had to move everyone off of a floor.
Dining room is there, but the food was terrible and lacking decent healthy choices. Go to the next door Mall or better yet head for Bethesda if you have the time. Edible food in the dining room, but really not enjoyable at all. The bar is lively and business people gather to watch sports. The only thing I like about the food service is that they can prepare starbucks coffees at the bar.
Now, staff at the bar and dining room, including maintenance all were wonderful, helpful, smiling and kind.
Desk staff not so much. Every stay I have had problems with accounting errors, charging the wrong rate, forgot to give me credit for my stay on my rewards, etc.
Maybe I am naive to assume the hotel at Marriott headquarters would be run well and an example of how all other properties should be managed? I think not. As I say, disappointing.
Also, wifi and parking can add $30 per day.

Room Tip: Plan meals at the Mall next door or better yet drive into Bethesda. Expect to pay for parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthCarolinaAida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty_Roth, General Manager at Bethesda Marriott Suites, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Hello NorthCarolinaAida,

I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback concerning your recent stay at our hotel. Thank you for the kind words about the maintenance, bar and dining room staff as well as the rooms being immaculate, comfortable and well appointed. I was very disapointed to read about the poor service you received by our front desk team and the food quality at the restaurant. Please accept my sincere apologies and know that our objective is to provide exceptional service and superior quality of food, so when we fall short of that goal it is not taken lightly. If you would like to discuss this or any of the issues you experienced, I would welcome you to e-mail me directly at marty.roth@marriott.com. Thank you again for taking the time to make us aware of your experience so that we may have the opportunity to learn and improve from it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

My husband and I have stayed here repeatedly over the years. Room accommodations are always top notch. Housekeeping is immaculate. Food and beverages are of the highest quality. International staff cater to a diverse clientele with great warmth and professionalism. Every need is consistently met. We look forward to next visit.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billiesmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty_Roth, General Manager at Bethesda Marriott Suites, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Hello Billiesmile,

It was great reading that you enjoyed your return visit to the hotel. We hope to see you again in the future and appreciate you continuing to select our hotel when in the area. Let me know if I may ever be of any assistance.

PS - Your profile picture looks like a great place to visit as well.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethesda
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
1.9 mi away
Bethesda Marriott
Bethesda Marriott
#7 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 stars 433 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
#6 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 stars 1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
#4 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 986 reviews
3.6 mi away
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
3.3 mi away
Bethesda Court Hotel
Bethesda Court Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bethesda Marriott Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethesda Marriott Suites

Property: Bethesda Marriott Suites
Address: 6711 Democracy Blvd, Bethesda, MD 20817-1128
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bethesda
#1 Business Hotel in Bethesda
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bethesda
#4 Family Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bethesda Marriott Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inviting hospitality welcomes guests to the Bethesda Marriott Suites, a sophisticated hotel in Bethesda, MD, where travelers can enjoy some of the largest guestrooms in the county. Conveniently situated near I-270, the I-495 Beltway, D.C. Metro and 3 major airports, our Bethesda, MD hotel's location is just 30 minutes from downtown Washington, D.C. Making it an ideal choice for family vacations, business travel or extended-stay needs. Large guest rooms feature warm tones, a separate living room and large bedroom, all designed with comfort and convenience in mind. Plush bedding ensembles, king-size beds and high-tech amenities combine to insure an outstanding Bethesda, Maryland, hotel experience with convenient access to the National Institute of Health, Food and Drug Administration, Suburban Hospital and other destinations. Our Bethesda hotel's free shuttle service to the Metro, Montgomery Mall and other local points, makes it easy to enjoy DC sights, local restaurants, shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Bethesda Marriott Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bethesda Marriott Hotel Bethesda
Marriott Bethesda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing