We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent overall but not so handi to DC.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Headed to DC to visit our daughter for parents weekend, our three family members stayed Friday and Saturday nights at this awesome hotel. Rates are excellent at about a hundred bucks for a suite room somewhat similar to Embassy suites. (or maybe a toned down version of Embassy suites) Traffic anywhere was never great, and getting anywhere always seemed to take too long. (For example 9 miles took us 30 minutes) In any event, the room was clean, modern and nice with two tvs. One for the bedroom with king bed and one for the other room with pullout queenish size couch. Room had fridge, coffeemaker, sink, and desk too. Bed was very comfortable and pillows and linens/comforter were 5 star in my book. Rooms were complete with shampoo and conditioner and lotion.

The employees were VERY helpful and accomodating. Front desk gladly gave us a printout with local restauraunts with descriptions and distance from the hotel. Parking was a flat $15 which seems cheaper than other hotels in the DC area. The parking was an indoor and connecting garage which would come in handi in bad weather. Hotel also had a nice indoor pool with sauna which we weren't prepared to use. :( Hotel ice machines and vending were handi. Lobby had an area to buy edibles and not just hokey souvenneirs.

Had this hotel been a bit more handi to DC, I'm thinking it would have been 5 stars. Then again,
it would have been 40-50 bucks more a night !

Room Tip: Can't comment on kids activities but i imagine they may have some based on them seeming to have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joe700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 438 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stay there for a 3 nights weekend..it is a very nice hotel but a little bit far away from downtown and you are really NEED a car..big room with nice decoration only thing that is you have to pay for parking is $ 15/ day bit too much but you have no where to park for free... nice indoor and outdoor swimming pools ... great for a family with a children in the same room because room come with sofabed..
I might go back again ...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sujamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The hotel itself is quite nice, particularly the spacious layout of the room, plus a nice pool and hot tub and landscaping. Restaurant was also adequate. However, the hotel is located in an out of the way location, not walkable to anything as far as I can see. I did not even see a Starbucks or cafe for breakfast so I ate at the buffet, which was good though pricey ($18 for the full buffet, $14 for the cereal/fruit). There is a hotel shuttle but it runs on a set, infrequent schedule - once or twice an hour - and they were unable to accomodate a large group of us when we requested a trip to Bethesda. They were rather flummoxed when we asked for assistance in ordering a few vans or cabs for our large party. After several minutes, they told us they had arranged for 2 vans but when these never showed up we were suspicious as to whether they had actually been ordered. The trip to the metro was only once an hour and we had to adjust plans to make it (given the problems getting cabs we thought this was the best option). If you have your own car, I would highly recommend this hotel but without it, be aware that it is not well situated.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buffal0gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This suite hotel is very nice. It is clean and the service is excellent. The food is good. It has a nice bar area and restraurant. The rooms have a good size living room with desk and a counter with built in mini refrigerator. No utencils or plates. The bedroom is sufficient and comfortable. The bathroom is two separated rooms both of good size with a large closet. The price on weekends is very reasonable about $130 per night (there are senior rates). There is an indoor/outdoor and exercise room. The only negative is $15 a night for parking and it is a little difficult to find. It is in an office park wth small sign at the main entrance. Easy to miss.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a balcony but it is not very usable and no seating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelerone_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Arrived at the hotel and was greeted right away by a friendly staff. Check in was very efficient. The room was your typical suite with a separate living and sleeping area. The room was large even as suites go.

The internet speed was excellent and as is typical with Marriott set up for business users. There is a fee for the internet but I would rather have a small fee than get very slow internet. The service allowed you to connect multiple (5) devices which was helpful for the laptop and iPad, etc.

The room was a bit dated and did not feel very modern. The TVs were still the old style tubes and small by today's standards (20 inches I would guess). With the current cost of flat screen HDTV I would expect a more modern look. The living room furniture was comfortable but did not appear new by its styling.

The desk while providing sufficient room to work does not allow you to watch the TV while working based on the angle. It could have been that way for just my room who knows. I like to be able to glance at the game (it was Monday night football) while working.

The bed and shower were very comfortable and overall my stay was enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank longhorninsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This hotel is on a Democracy Blvd., a road that has nothing on it but corporate buildings and park land. It isn't really even in Bethesda; it's about midway between Rockville and Potomac. It's over a mile to the nearest strip mall, much less to any of the downtown D.C. attractions. I cannot imagine being there without a car. You couldn't walk anywhere and get so much as a cup of coffee outside the hotel.

Aside from its weird location, it's a pretty decent hotel. The rooms all have a living room as well as a bedroom, each with its own TV. But the interior doors are thin, so there's really no privacy inside the suite. Aside from the extra furntiure (including a sofabed) I'm not sure it's any better than having one big room.

The staff is pleasant and helpful. The rooms and the public areas are clean and well-kept. The pool is open long hours (6 am-11pm indoors, 10 am-8pm outdoors)--a plus in the summer.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DEtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The check in is very smooth, the hotel staff is very helpful and prompt with every request we had. the room is very clean and the beds are comfortable. it is very nice to have small fridge to store kids item and drinks. We asked for additional blanket and the staff is at the doorstep in about three minutes. It is one of the best hotel we have ever stayed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Just G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bethesda hotels
1.9 mi away
Bethesda Marriott
Bethesda Marriott
#2 of 11 in Bethesda
132 reviews
3.1 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
#7 of 11 in Bethesda
1,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Bethesda Court Hotel
Bethesda Court Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bethesda
433 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
3.6 mi away
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bethesda Marriott Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethesda Marriott Suites

Address: 6711 Democracy Boulevard, Bethesda, MD 20817
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Bethesda
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bethesda
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bethesda
#4 Family Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range: $111 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bethesda Marriott Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bethesda Marriott Suites welcomes guests with inviting hospitality and spacious suite accommodations that are perfect for long stays. Our sophisticated extended-stay hotel in Bethesda, Maryland lets travelers enjoy large guestrooms conveniently located near I-270, the I-495 Beltway, D.C. Metro and 3 major airports. We are also close to the National Institute of Health, Food and Drug Administration, Suburban Hospital and other destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Bethesda Marriott Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bethesda Marriott Hotel Bethesda
Marriott Bethesda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing