We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of American Inn of Bethesda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
American Inn of Bethesda
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Montana
Level Contributor
148 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the south tower and found a quirky room that resembled grandmas attic as far as the ceiling. That was really cool. The room was clean, cool and really what more is needed? Breakfast was excellent, really liked the breakfast sandwiches which are and excellent idea for hotel breakfast but I've never seen that before. The desk staff was incredibly accommodating. My husband needed a sewing kit and they could not find one. About 15 minutes later a knock at our door proved that they were vigilant and found one. Only downside is distance to the metro, but there is agree shuttle, which we did not use.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank goldfishcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. It's exciting to hear that our efforts to create memorable experiences for our guests are beginning to bear fruit. I hope that you will choose the American Inn during your next visit to the DC Metro Area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    97
    50
    21
    33
See reviews for
59
33
40
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I enjoy staying at this hotel everytime i visit Maryland. Viola is awesome and takes very good care of me when i visit and almost always checks me in. The breakfast is amazing I recommend this hotel for anyone that desrves good customer service.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LAMARCUS T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thanks for your comments. I'm glad to hear that Viola create a memorable experience for you during your last stay. We look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Clean rooms, friendly lobby staff, tasty full hot breakfast. It's not the Four Seasons so don't expect that but honestly, everything was just right for the price I paid or better than expected. I was nicely surprised. I highly recommend to anyone who needs a comfortable place to stay on the budget.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lu79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
We appreciate your honest feedback. I'm glad that we exceeded your expectations. Thanks for your visit and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Motel-like facility that needs a significant uplift. It is very clean though. Breakfast is not worth considering. Besides being the same every day, it comes directly from a box or a can. In the same building is Guapos, a Mexican food restaurant that is superb

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alberto L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your honest feedback. We appreciate your observations and are glad that the cleanliness of our rooms and public space met your expectations. We are always working to improve our breakfast offerings and we are open to special requests and suggestions. In addition, we are in the process of making improvements to the entire hotel including our guest rooms and public space. Although we fell short of your expectations on this trip, I hope that you will try our hotel again, during your next visit, to give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Friendly & conscientious people deliver great service at a reasonable price. Adeline the desk clerk provided exceptional service with a smile. We were able to park o the hotel property for free. Using the city's free bus service we found a great crabhouse restaurant within a reasonable distance.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j0eWay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
I'm so glad that Adeline and the rest of our staff created a memorable experience for you and your family. It is our goal to provide a high level of service for our guests. So, it's good to hear that we exceeded your expectations. Thanks for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, PA
Level Contributor
199 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Stayed here two evenings while attending a business workshop nearby. A warm and welcoming staff greeted me as I entered the lobby and thoroughly explained the Inn and its amenities which included a second to none rating for the complimentary breakfast.

Room Tip: West Wing is noisy with doors opening and slamming all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
We appreciate your comments. I am glad to hear that our staff went above and beyond to make you feel comfortable and welcome. I'm happy that our breakfast exceeded your expectations. We appreciate your business and hope that you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungary
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We booked this hotel because the price was pretty good and so was the location. However the pictures on their website paint a different picture then reality. The rooms are run down and in need of restoration. Parking at the hotel was limited so we had to park across the street and pay for it. We probably wouldn't stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eurogaltng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank for your observations of our hotel. I'm sorry that we failed to meet your expectations during your last stay. The pictures of our rooms on the website, although may not show the shapes and sizes of each room, are representative of accommodations and amenities offered in all rooms. And, although on-site parking is limited, we are unique in that we are the only hotel in Bethesda that offers any free parking. In addition, we are currently refreshing our entire hotel including guest rooms and public meeting space which will greatly improve the guest experience. Although we fell short of your expectations during this trip, I hope that you will give us another try in the near future as we work to improve. Thanks for your business and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Bethesda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bethesda hotels
0.3 mi away
Bethesda Court Hotel
Bethesda Court Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 382 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
#7 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 stars 1,332 reviews
0.0 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
3.0 mi away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#2 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Inn of Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Inn of Bethesda

Property: American Inn of Bethesda
Address: 8130 Wisconsin Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-3640
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — American Inn of Bethesda 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delight to come home to, our Maryland hotel is designed to keep you comfortable and relaxed with stylish furnishings and a host of contemporary living amenities. Spacious and well-appointed with modern decor, our Bethesda hotel rooms are equipped with work desks, blackout drapes, premium cable television channels, clock radio, hair dryer, iron with ironing board, multi-line telephones and large in-room laptop safes. Free local calls and complimentary high-speed wireless Internet service (Wi-Fi) are provided in all of our accommodations to keep you connected on the go. We offer two different buildings to stay in, and a mini-fridge and rollaway beds are also available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your American Inn of Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Inn Of Bethesda Hotel Bethesda
American Hotel Bethesda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing