We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Like a Boutique!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of American Inn of Bethesda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
American Inn of Bethesda
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Salisbury, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Like a Boutique!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I was very pleased with this Bethesda gem of a hotel. It is nestled off of busy Wisconsin Avenue, close to everything. There are beautiful flower arrangements in the lobby and it has a Boutique, welcoming feel. The room was clean, quiet and the bed was very comfy. We pulled in, parked, was checked in quickly and went to our event. We had an awesome stay and would highly recommend the American Inn!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to talk about your experiences at our hotel. I am glad to hear that we met your expectations during your last visit to Bethesda. We hope that you found our hotel to have the best balance of comfort, service and value in Bethesda. We look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    97
    49
    19
    30
See reviews for
57
31
39
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Enfield, CT
Level Contributor
102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights while visiting family over Christmas. Our room was small but clean, and the beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was very small. Although the hotel was not nearly at capacity we did hear conversations from the hallway and doors slamming at night, so I think it could be very noisy if full. The front desk staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

The biggest problem we had was that housekeeping never showed up to service our room after the first night. Granted, this was on Christmas day itself, but if you are going to take in guests on that day you should have all services available. I would have given the American Inn three stars otherwise.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laslototh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience at the American Inn Bethesda. It is our goal to create memorable experiences for every guest. I regret that some of your memories were not as pleasant as we would have hoped. In order to provide our staff the opportunity to spend time with their loved ones over the Christmas holiday, we provided a limited housekeeping service to our guests on Christmas Day. I apologize that we did not set a reasonable expectation of housekeeping service for you during your stay. Please understand that this was an uncommon situation. I hope that you will try our hotel again in the future as we strive to offer the highest level of service at the best overall value in Bethesda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bethesda hotels

Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

we reserved for a group of 17: double rooms and meeting space. The hotel staff was very responsive during our planning phase. All of the guests were very happy with their rooms and amenities (like the free wi-fi). The staff was helpful and attentive to our meeting room needs and went the extra mile to make sure we had every detail in place for our meetings. We chose the hotel because of the room cost/meeting room rental fee (much less expensive than the other hotels in the area) -- but we got excellent value for our dollar.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IML613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl C, Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and patronage. I am happy to hear that we created a good balance of quality and value for your meeting. Our staff is committed to exceeding our guests' expectations and we look forward to serving your accommodation needs again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I stayed on the 5th floor for a week. The room was clean, well appointed and a decent size - worth about $100 a night. It's about a 10min walk to the NIH. The breakfast is not so great. It's in a decent location with lots of restaurants and bars within walking distance. The staff were OK. I would stay again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loves007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your business and are glad to hear that our hotel was a good option during your recent visit to NIH. I also appreciate your observations regarding breakfast. We will make some changes to the quality of offerings and presentation to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our guest expectations. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, CA
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Rodents were clearly running in the walls at night- I wasn't sure if they were mice or rats. I was on the third floor and my travel companion was on the fifth floor and reported the same thing. This was disgusting. Otherwise the room was ok but clearly very dated with out of place dropped ceiling panels. Staff was friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JP-RWC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for leaving your feedback on our hotel. I also appreciate you reporting your concerns to the front desk at check out. This gave us an opportunity to do a full inspection of the entire part of the building where you stayed. Although our licensed pest control provider has found no evidence of rodents in any of our rooms or public spaces, I understand how unnerving it can be to suspect pest activity during your stay. Please rest assured that we are closely monitoring this situation in the entire building and are taking appropriate steps to monitor and mitigate any potential problems that arise, particularly as critters seek refuge with the change in seasons. I would love the opportunity to speak with you further regarding your stay. Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel if you have any other concerns or questions. Thanks for your business and we hope that you will try us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

My daughter gave me 6 weeks notice that she was having a big wedding. I called the hotel to reserve and block of rooms for out of state guests. I was amazed at how easy that was to do. The service was amazing and it was all done so conveniently and quickly. The price they gave me was unbelievable for the Bethesda area. There was free parking also! We got back to the hotel late at night after the wedding and even though the parking lot at the hotel was full, there was ample parking in a lot across the street. Breakfast was included and met our needs very well, saving my guests a lot of money. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Many of my guests took advantage of being in the DC area and went site seeing the next day. I could not have ask for better accomodations and will definately use them again and recommend them to out of town guests.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for choosing the American Inn Bethesda to accommodate your daughter's wedding guests. I am delighted to hear that our staff created a positive and streamlined experience for you during a time that can otherwise be very stressful. We hope that you will stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseillan, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed there for a week, 158$/night with a coupon code for a single bed, not even a queen size.
Clean
Nice personnel
Very Noisy
bad window isolation
no continental breakfast (fruits overaged)
Flow variation Under the shower
Doesn't look like the pics at all

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank AGOOO A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to talk about your experience with our hotel on Trip Advisor. We appreciate you giving an honest impression of the the quality of our accommodations during your last stay. Our staff takes great pride in providing the best quality accommodations at the most competitive rate in Bethesda. I wish we could have done more to impress you while you were with us. If there are any more specific observations from you last visit that you would like to pass on to me to address, please feel free to send me an email at darryl.calloway@baywoodhotels.com. Thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethesda
0.3 mi away
Bethesda Court Hotel
Bethesda Court Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 368 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
#5 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 stars 1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
#4 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 979 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#2 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 350 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Inn of Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Inn of Bethesda

Property: American Inn of Bethesda
Address: 8130 Wisconsin Ave., Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — American Inn of Bethesda 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delight to come home to, our Maryland hotel is designed to keep you comfortable and relaxed with stylish furnishings and a host of contemporary living amenities. Spacious and well-appointed with modern decor, our Bethesda hotel rooms are equipped with work desks, blackout drapes, premium cable television channels, clock radio, hair dryer, iron with ironing board, multi-line telephones and large in-room laptop safes. Free local calls and complimentary high-speed wireless Internet service (Wi-Fi) are provided in all of our accommodations to keep you connected on the go. We offer two different buildings to stay in, and a mini-fridge and rollaway beds are also available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your American Inn of Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Inn Of Bethesda Hotel Bethesda
American Hotel Bethesda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing