We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Pleasantly Pleased” 4 of 5 stars
Review of American Inn of Bethesda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
American Inn of Bethesda
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Pleasantly Pleased”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I stayed at the American Inn for two nights during the Presidential Inauguration. After spending one night in a much more expensive upscale property I felt I got "more bang for my buck" at this one. The staff was friendly, helpful and accomodating, they truly seemed to value your business. A problem with the bill was adjusted immediately. Adeline and the property manager deserve high marks for their professionalism and excellent customer service. I would definelty stay at this property again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xxx8310, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for taking time to let everyone know about your stay. I have shared your comments with the entire staff, and we will all continue to work hard to ensure that each and every guest has the same experience as you did!! Should you have any additional comments or concerns please email me directly at americaninngm@baywoodhotels.com. Thank you again!!

Dan Appolonio,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    97
    50
    20
    31
See reviews for
58
32
39
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed in the hotel during the inauguration week. i really like the freebies that were given to us. it was so helpful most esp the inauguration map. Adeline of the morning shift, and the two Asian girls was very informative of the places. Arianne helped us show the directions and Zein helped us look for the perfect place to eat and shop.

Dan the GM is very friendly and very approachable. to sum it all, American Inn is a best hotel to recommend for those people who wanted to visit the DC area.

Room Tip: 5th floor away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I had a wonderful experience staying in this hotel. Staffs were professional and helpfull especially Adeline at the front desk. The breakfast selections were awesome. If I go back to DC, I will definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluemusician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xxx8310, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for taking time to let everyone know about your stay. The staff and management at The American Inn of Bethesda take great care to make sure that each guest has a wonderful experience. Should you have any additional comments or concerns please email me directly at americaninngm@baywoodhotels.com. Thank you again!!

Dan Appolonio,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saint louis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This a wonderful hotel. Being on vacation, I wanted a hotel mainly for sleeping and this is perfect. It's very clean and the staff is warm and helpful. Only about five blocks from the Metro station it's convenient to all of the D.C. attractions. The staff goes beyond expectations to take care of their visitors. Also, if you are exhausted from sight-seeing, there is a great mexican restaurant next door that offers take out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dcvisit0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, Indiana, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Helpful staff, I left my glasses on the counter and they over nighted them to me. The continental breakfast was really good. Good fresh food. Polite staff helped carry our luggage upstairs.IF i go back to this area I will stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ValerieB1600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xxx8310, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you again for the positive review. The entire staff at the American Inn of Bethesda works hard every day to ensure all guests have an exceptional stay. We all appreciate it when we hear from our guests, especially when they really had a wonderful stay. If you have any addtional comments, please email me directly at americaninngm@baywoodhotels.com. Thank you again!
Dan Appolonio, CHA General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel was selected for us using Hotwire. We were clueless about the city and the area because it was our first time in Maryland. Hotels were so expensive during the inauguration so we had no complaints about their prices. Arriving early gave us an opportunity to explore the area and the front desk held our luggage until check-in time. This area is very unique and comforting. There are lots of places to eat, have a beer, watch the game along with a CVS directly down the block. If traveling to D.C. or any of the surrounding areas, the Metro is just 4 blocks away and the MARC/Bus stops are just a block away. Visit metroopendoors.com for all transit times and schedule and this will be your ideal location to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarrieGPMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Arianne and Adeline were the best! Good access to the Metro, well done breakfast. The neighborhood was very interesting for a first timer. The Tastee Diner is a must see in Bethesda.
Looking forward to another visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethesda
0.3 mi away
Bethesda Court Hotel
Bethesda Court Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 379 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
#7 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 stars 1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
3.0 mi away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#2 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 356 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bethesda Marriott
Bethesda Marriott
#6 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 stars 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Inn of Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Inn of Bethesda

Property: American Inn of Bethesda
Address: 8130 Wisconsin Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-3640
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — American Inn of Bethesda 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delight to come home to, our Maryland hotel is designed to keep you comfortable and relaxed with stylish furnishings and a host of contemporary living amenities. Spacious and well-appointed with modern decor, our Bethesda hotel rooms are equipped with work desks, blackout drapes, premium cable television channels, clock radio, hair dryer, iron with ironing board, multi-line telephones and large in-room laptop safes. Free local calls and complimentary high-speed wireless Internet service (Wi-Fi) are provided in all of our accommodations to keep you connected on the go. We offer two different buildings to stay in, and a mini-fridge and rollaway beds are also available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your American Inn of Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Inn Of Bethesda Hotel Bethesda
American Hotel Bethesda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing