We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice little hotel in Bethesda” 4 of 5 stars
Review of American Inn of Bethesda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
American Inn of Bethesda
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Athens, Ohio
Level Contributor
243 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice little hotel in Bethesda”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Great service and very comfortable. Also the location is very convenient. This hotel is always much cheaper than the Hyatt and the Doubletree, yet it provides free wifi which seems nice and fast. it also has a little swimming pool. Be nice to have a fitness center, especially with all the good restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harring10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xxx8310, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Good Afternoon,
Thank you again for your review. I wanted to let everyone know that the American Inn of Bethesda now has a fitness center that is open for guests to enjoy!! We love hearing from our guests, especially when they have enjoyed their stay. We hope to see you again in the future!!!

Daniel Appolonio, CHA
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    97
    50
    20
    31
See reviews for
58
32
39
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Just recently returned for another stay recently.Had a follow up at Walter Reed....room was clean,staff was great as usual.looking forward to my next trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheermomNJ2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

I received great service from the minute I walked in. The staff was very courteous (kudos to Joyce - i think that was the name of the girl at the front desk) and accommodating. The room was very clean and the bed was EXTREMELY comfortable! Location was convenient, walking distance to metro and restaurants. Very satisfied, will definitely stay there again when I'm back in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

I found American Inn of Bethesda hotel value for money and even if stayed for really long time service and quality of room was as good as first day. Their continental breakfast is very good and its location is definitely plus

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
86 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

The fact that this hotel is a bit cheaper than others in the immediate area does not compensate for the dramatic step down in quality. The lobby and hallways are small, dark and wornout. Carpets are darkly soiled. No fresh air anywhere in the place. Very stale. Rooms are extremely small. So small, one has to put a suitcase on the bed to open it. Walls are very thin, you can hear your neighbor's every action. Linens and bathroom seemed clean and bed was firm or this would have been the lowest rating. For $25 bucks more you can do much, much better. Try the Sheraton Four Corners or even the Holiday Inn for a better deal.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WillametteEscapee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xxx8310, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Thank you for your review of your stay with The American Inn of Bethesda. I have shared your comments with the entire staff as well as the management group. The hotel is in the process of replacing the lobby flooring as well as the elevator flooring. I have looked into the A/C system and can assure you it is working well. Thank you again for your comments. If you have any additional concerns please email me at americaninngm@baywoodhotels.com

Dan Appolonio, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bethesda hotels

Moorefield, West Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Clean and affordable - free internet - frig in room - free breakfast - limited overnight parking - very pleasant staff - four block walk from Bethesda Metro - restaurant attached and 3-4 block walk to downtown restaurants - works for me!

Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank WVshort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

This hotel doesn't offer many thrills but is within a ten minute walk from Bethesda Row. I stayed here 4 nights and was quite thrilled that they offerred free overnight parking (when available) and free breakfast. They also have a small pool on site and the staff - from the breakfast room to the front desk to the parking attendent - were all quite nice. There is a restaurant attached to the hotel which was a great place to dine as well.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aekbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethesda
0.3 mi away
Bethesda Court Hotel
Bethesda Court Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 378 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
#6 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 stars 1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
3.0 mi away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#2 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 stars 355 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bethesda Marriott
Bethesda Marriott
#7 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 stars 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Inn of Bethesda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Inn of Bethesda

Property: American Inn of Bethesda
Address: 8130 Wisconsin Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-3640
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — American Inn of Bethesda 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delight to come home to, our Maryland hotel is designed to keep you comfortable and relaxed with stylish furnishings and a host of contemporary living amenities. Spacious and well-appointed with modern decor, our Bethesda hotel rooms are equipped with work desks, blackout drapes, premium cable television channels, clock radio, hair dryer, iron with ironing board, multi-line telephones and large in-room laptop safes. Free local calls and complimentary high-speed wireless Internet service (Wi-Fi) are provided in all of our accommodations to keep you connected on the go. We offer two different buildings to stay in, and a mini-fridge and rollaway beds are also available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your American Inn of Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Inn Of Bethesda Hotel Bethesda
American Hotel Bethesda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing