We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very enjoyable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Panetteria Ristorante Italiano

La Panetteria Ristorante Italiano
Reserve with OpenTable
La Panetteria Ristorante Italiano is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #38 of 339 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
276 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

My wife and I ate here and we both enjoyed our meals. Service was perhaps a bit slow but very friendly. Atmosphere is good and they have a pretty extensive wine list. Prices were very reasonable - dinner for two with an appetizer (before tip) was $57. I am confident we will return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JE01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    32
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
silver spring, md
Level Contributor
455 reviews
347 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Good (But Not Great) Food at Reasonable Prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

First, the positive notes: The service was very attentive and efficient. The ambiance is charming and cozy. The assortment of desserts we tasted was very, very good. The prices are reasonable.

Next, the neutral notes: The food is good, but not exceptional. The pasta and tomato sauce are good, but bland. The appetizers are good, but not great. I had the veal parmigiano; it was good but was not as tender as it should have been.

All in all, this place is good but, in my opinion, there are many other Italian restaurants in the Bethesda area that are better.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IAP65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
181 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal is the norm for this Bethesda favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We dined with College Fraternity brother and his wife and had as usaual an excellent dining experience. The restaurant offers a economical $45/couple four course menu, but we all opted for menu items and specials. The homemade tortellini and asparagus soups were flavorful and satisfying, the entrees were expertly prepared and presented and tasted superb. The dessert tray was impossible to stay away from and the cappucinos topped the evening off.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Phillip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marstons Mills, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent low key Italian restaurant in Bethesda, MD.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My husband and I have been enjoying meals at La Panetteria in Bethesda, Md. for many years. It is a quiet restaurant with excellent food. Each main dish comes with a big house salad. The prices are reasonable and the atmosphere is comfortable and attractive.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wfw8200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Do not go to this restaurant!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Food was below par. Service was very slow. The owner suggests that his staff tell him how much to charge and so he charged us 30 crafts of wine for 60 adults when half did not even drink and the other half had max 2 glasses each (i.e., during lunch time). When I told him about how it was totally illogical for our group to drink this much, he reduced it to apx. 15 crafts. What a cheat. I thought the owner was a decent person; unfortunately, totally unprofessional!!!! My suggestion is to pick another restaurant in Bethesda. There are lots of them that are better than this one! Sorry.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank razarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Panetteria Ristorante Italiano also viewed

 

Been to La Panetteria Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing