We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent low key Italian restaurant in Bethesda, MD.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Panetteria Ristorante Italiano

La Panetteria Ristorante Italiano
Reserve with OpenTable
La Panetteria Ristorante Italiano is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 342 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Marstons Mills, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent low key Italian restaurant in Bethesda, MD.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My husband and I have been enjoying meals at La Panetteria in Bethesda, Md. for many years. It is a quiet restaurant with excellent food. Each main dish comes with a big house salad. The prices are reasonable and the atmosphere is comfortable and attractive.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wfw8200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    33
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Potomac, Maryland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Do not go to this restaurant!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Food was below par. Service was very slow. The owner suggests that his staff tell him how much to charge and so he charged us 30 crafts of wine for 60 adults when half did not even drink and the other half had max 2 glasses each (i.e., during lunch time). When I told him about how it was totally illogical for our group to drink this much, he reduced it to apx. 15 crafts. What a cheat. I thought the owner was a decent person; unfortunately, totally unprofessional!!!! My suggestion is to pick another restaurant in Bethesda. There are lots of them that are better than this one! Sorry.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank razarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great local restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

La Panetteria Restaurant has been here for years, but the quality and service remain terrific. We just moved to the area and it has become our favorite restaurant in a city where great restaurants abound. Great wait staff, food and the prices can't be beat.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“really good food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is a very good restaurant. And they decorated it very nice too!
I went for lunch with colleagues. We shared an appetizer plate with kalamari, white pizza, zuchhini, mozzarella, tomato and mushrooms. nom nom nom
I had veal with Marsala sauce and mushrooms, very good, also my colleagues all liked their food. Most of them ordered the lunch specials. They had never been there and all want to come back.
I will definitely return for dinner sometime. It is also very romantic I think.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank smattijs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The restaurant has a wonderful atmosphere with a real Italian feel. The food was delicious with all 3 in our party totally enjoying their meal. The waiter was very efficient and informative. The price of the meal was quite reasonable for the quality of the food. Overall, a totally wonderful experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard51312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Panetteria Ristorante Italiano also viewed

 

Been to La Panetteria Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing