We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place”

La Panetteria Ristorante Italiano
Reserve with OpenTable
La Panetteria Ristorante Italiano is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #39 of 365 Restaurants in Bethesda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good place”
Reviewed January 27, 2012

I've been going to this restaurant for 30 years, mainly because it has the best pizza in the area by far. The other pasta dishes are ok but I wouldn't go out of my way for them. But the pizza is fantastic!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank oldruggedx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    36
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Olney, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“How Service & Food Should All Be!”
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Decided on Italian food,1cold Saturday January night. Warmly greeted, table ready. Chianti was very good. My husband sampled & e njoyed both Italian beers recommended. Calamari Fritte BEST we have ever had. ( and we travel & dine out quite a bit). Delicate - no heavy breading. Marina sauce perfect. Veal was excellent. Staff very attentive, without being overbearing. We won't wait to return! A true neighborhood " gem", for over 35 years. Prices reasonable as well.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarylandTaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Solid home made Italian”
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Group of 8 sat toward the rear. Attentive service. Basic Italian menu with a few daily specials. Everyone was pleased with their dinners. House wine acceptable also. Good for families.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DCtraveler1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nothing to write home about”
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We tried this place after I noticed the favorable reviews it had gotten on tripadvisor, but we were disappointed. My wife & I ordered the same dish, scallops with angel hair pasta. Mine had the scallops on top of the pasta, my wife's had the pasta on top of the scallops. I thought it was strange that the presentation of a dish was arbitrary. Otherwise the foods tasted OK.
Also, the sink in the ladies' room was clogged.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StanOre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, ON, CA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Waiter”
Reviewed September 15, 2011

I took my twelve year old son here to visit the capital and read the reviews for this restaurant on Tripadvisor. They weren't wrong. Great food; my son ate his pizza in less than five minutes; and my pasta was lovely and light. Our waiter, who was from South America, mentioned how polite my son was which gave me a warm feeling. The atmosphere was intimate and charming. The only negative was that the table wasn't level but overall would recommend enthusiastically.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank Landshark31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Panetteria Ristorante Italiano also viewed

Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 
Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 

Been to La Panetteria Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing