We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Ok”
Review of Morton's

Morton's
Reserve with OpenTable
Morton's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #66 of 366 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $26 - $90
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Potomac, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Just Ok”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

As good as its reputation is the food is good but service needs some help. We have had a small gathering there and as the food was about a 7 the service was a 5. We will try again

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank KathyZanoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    45
    23
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mountainside, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A great restaurant”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Compared to the Daily Grill which is terrible, this restaurant is excellent. It is pricey, but worth it as you get an excellent meal. Wine selection is outstanding.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
845 reviews
357 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 498 helpful votes
“A disappointing experience”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The short version: In three tries, this place could not follow my wife's straightforward directions on how she wanted her steak.

The longer one: It had been a long day involving an unexpected move from Hotel A to less convenient Hotel B (both high class places) when Hotel A had to shut off its water and seek lodging elsewhere for its patrons. My wife and I had intended to eat at some midprice restaurant, but Morton's was the most obvious place within easy walking distance of Hotel B, and we decided to treat ourselves to steaks.

My wife always orders her steak medium well, and to make sure it is understood what she means by that, specifies that it should be "slightly pink at the very center, but cooked until the meat is firm and with no blood running out of it". I order mine medium rare. When the steaks came, mine was a bit on the rare side of medium rare though acceptable to me, but hers was noticeably rarer, and served swimming in blood. (In retrospect, the steaks were both of the same type and I think that the orders were swapped, and that the rarish medium rare should have gone to her, and the more bloody one to me.) When we called the waiter over and told him that her steak was badly undercooked, he told us that we could expect upper class steak houses to cook steaks less than other places, since it preserves the flavor better, but that he'd send it back for some more cooking.

It then arrived back at our table perhaps a little more seared on the outside, but still swimming in blood, and still red and gelatinous once you got to the interior. It then went back a second time, and arrived back at the table hardly any more cooked. To his credit, the waiter (who did express concern that the chef had tried to recook the same piece of meat a second time) took my wife's steak off the bill (which still came to $80 with tip but no drinks included; this place isn't cheap), and we had it put into a takeout box after which our hotel room microwave took care of the problem.

My second conjecture, in addition to believing that the original steaks were swapped when served: The chef got an order for a medium well steak, and Just. Could. Not. Force. Himself. To. Do. It. Well, instead he took second place to an in-room food nuker as food preparer, and it did a better job.

Postscript: The asparagus we ordered with the steaks was fine.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnArborMiBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“could be soooo much better”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

poor service, no wine glasses on table, overpriced, food was incredibly slow and not terribly hot. wasnt busy enough to justify being treated the way we were for a $700 check. DIdnt seem to be anyone in charge either.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TLOBNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“nice but expensive”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We ate here over the long holiday weekend, great food but expensive. Very friendly waitstaff.
No complaints about food quality at these prices.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnnyboy320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morton's also viewed

Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 
Bethesda, Montgomery County
Chevy Chase, Montgomery County
 

Been to Morton's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing