We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food has really gone downhill”
Review of Guapo's

Guapo's
Reserve with OpenTable
Guapo's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 364 Restaurants in Bethesda
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food has really gone downhill”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Last time we went to Guapos we were really disappointed. The shrimp appetizer has shrunk one shrimp while the price has increased. And it was served with stale French bread. The chili con carne dip was thin and watered down. We ordered the shrimp and beef fajita combo, another item we've ordered before. They've trimmed the amount of steak by 50 percent --a pitiful little serving. We will not return. Totally over priced and less than mediocre food. What a shame.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Milestheo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    80
    33
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
183 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Consistently good food if a little greasy and oily at times. They could clean up the chips off the floor a bit better, but service is good and prices are good too.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank SunriseFitness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
120 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Always great food; new tricks to succeeding here”
Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

Understand, we always LOVE the food here, and have rated it high in earlier reviews. This visit, we learned two additional items: (1) the tortillas are all made fresh in the back; you can walk back there and watch the process, even if you just leave out the back door; (2) when placing a take-out order, even if you order it in person at the front, pay the manager himself when he rings it up, and then stand there in the noisy front area for thirty minutes (could be less: keep reading) while they prepare your meal, when it is ready, your meal will be placed behind the bar and held there until you happen to walk over to the bar and ask about the bag full of food just sitting there...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sweetsourtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millsboro, Delaware
Level Contributor
179 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Classic favorite!”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We've been going there since they opened almost 20 years ago! We know the owners and a lot of the staff and feel good. They have the BEST house Margarita that I've ever found.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Budrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
2 reviews
“Great family restaurant”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Guapo's has very friendly wait staff. Their salsa and chips are so good that I want my next meal to be just those thin chips and salsa. My husband and I and 5 children all found food that we enjoyed, and my 3 teenage girls are very fussy. I think the meals also accomodate someone trying to eat healthy as they include plenty of vegtables.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guapo's also viewed

Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 
Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 

Been to Guapo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing