We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent choice for our large group Including kids”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Uncle Julio's

Uncle Julio's
Reserve with OpenTable
Uncle Julio's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #38 of 358 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
654 reviews
372 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
“Decent choice for our large group Including kids”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Uncle Julio's worked out well for our group of nine, including four younger kids. Prices were a bit on the high side for Mexican but everyone's food was good. Tableside guacamole presentation was a hit. Service was very friendly.

Only negative was my drink, a strawberry daiquiri, which was not very good. The atmosphere was quite noisy and the included salsa was rather bland.

Helpful?
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    73
    42
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Always come away satisfied and full!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

This is my company's go to restaurant in downtown Bethesda for celebratory meals and it's great. Never had a bad experience. The food is sizzling hot and delicious and my favorite is the combination beef and chicken fajitas, which comes with beans and rice, cheese and guacamole and lettuce. They have a very extensive menu and other traditional mexican dishes are also appealing (burritoes, fish tacos, enchiladas). Very kid-friendly, and there's a great bar out front for happy hours. Service is generally good and due to the huge space can accommodate plenty of outdoor and indoor seating without much wait. Highly recommended!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cavalier1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Food in Yankee Land?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Originally from El Paso, TX the land of Southwest style Mexican Food, we consider ourselves "Mexican Food Snobs" we are not fans of Tex Mex. This however was a surprise as they serve enchiladas with a red sauce that is almost as good as any restaurant in ELP or New Mexico. The restaurant is in a great location in Downtown Bethesda.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LynnanGlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“TexMex Go To”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

Uncle Julio's (Rio Grand) is always on the destination short list for our family. Have to get there for their Fajita's, Camarones, Chili Con Queso and Guac regularly. Lots of beers and cocktails featured but the signature drink, the Swirl is part of the ritual. It is a frozen margarita swirled with frozen sangria and they do it best.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nabobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
363 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“A Trip to Mexico in Downtown Bethesda”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

Uncle Julio's is one of my regular spots for lunch in Bethesda - a girlfriend I lunch with frequently really likes going here. I'm okay with Mexican food and the food and service here are very good. I usually order tamales if they have them, or tacos, although on my most recent visit I had a quesadilla which was very good. Of course I eat more than I should of the chips and salsa which seem to be endless here. The wait staff is very helpful and friendly and the decor really feels Mexican. So, I enjoy coming here as it really is a break away from my day and it puts me in a good mood.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HistoryLover2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uncle Julio's also viewed

 

Been to Uncle Julio's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing