We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Sushi, sushi, sushi.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hinode

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hinode
Ranked #184 of 341 Restaurants in Bethesda
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sushi, sushi, sushi.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Lunchtime features an imaginative all you can eat buffet. Take what you eat, but eat what you take. They charge an extra $1.50 for leftovers on your plate! Seriously! Bonus-- sweet potato sushi.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    9
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I've been to this restaurant numerous times. The sushi buffet is great either for lunch or dinner.
I feel at home here. The staff is always attentive and friendly.
This restaurant is a keeper!!!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnaCL_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great for a group”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

I eat here every month with friends, on our way to an evening meeting. It is good enough.

Lunch buffet has plenty of choices.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best place to go with a group of friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We go dancing on the weekends often, and always get together with our friends for the Hinode buffet first. There are several reasons:
* The food is good and plentiful, and the choices range from traditional sushi to inventive rolls to cooked food to a nice selection of vegetarian dishes. Say hello to Kai, the sushi chef when you're there - he knows his stuff!
* The staff is accommodating and pleasant
* There is ample parking
* We can always get a table big enough to accommodate our group (of course, we go early to get to the dancing sooner)
* When people come late (and someone inevitably does), they don't have to wait to be served, they just jump into the buffet
* It is so easy to divide the check, as the buffet is fixed price

Highly recommended. And yes, we also go there when it's just the two of us. We like it that much.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JAT-DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“lots of variety in lunch buffet, good for the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

I have been to their lunch buffet twice now. For the price, it can't be beat. Lots of variety in sushi and rolls. Salmon and tuna are very fresh. Of course, for this price it cannot be top-shelf sushi, so the rice/fish ratio is larger than at the more expensive places. Service is friendly. Will definitely go back for lunch!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank smattijs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hinode also viewed

 

Been to Hinode? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing