We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food -- pay attention to name and address change!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haandi - CLOSED

Haandi
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
510 reviews
342 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Excellent food -- pay attention to name and address change!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I found this restaurant using the TripAdvisor app and imagine my surprise and bewilderment when this restaurant not only changed its location, but its name! It's now Kandhai at 7905 Norfolk Ave., right across from Rock Bottom Brewery.

I had to call the restaurant a few times to find the location! But they were extremely helpful.

We ordered the chicken tikka masala and the methi malai chicken, and both were extremely delicious with wonderful sauces and full of nice pieces of chicken.

We will definitely remember this restaurant on a future visit!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kurokitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    14
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I loved the food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Haandi restaurant offers great Indian food. This is one of the best Indian food that I ever had. I recommend that you call ahead if you are planning on going in the evenings. The waiting can be quite long, but it is worth it. The decor is so hot, but the food yammmy! Go for it!
Haandi
4904 Fairmont Ave, Bethesda MD 20814 Hours: 11:30 am-10:00 pm (301) 718-0121

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank raquelcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Haandi is now Kadhai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The restaurant has moved a block away to 7905 Norfolk Avenue, Bethesda, with a new name. Same great Indian cuisine, freshly prepared, wonderful spices and flavors, and a few new items on the menu. Service is pleasant and efficient.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank der_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Best local Indian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We love this restaurant. The food is authentic and tasty and always fresh. The naan is exceptional.
The servers are always attentive. I know the name has changed but the food remains delicious.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Haandi's name is changed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I love this restaurant but we went to their new location last night, and they changed the name. According to an employee the owner kept a Virginia location and sold off the Bethesda, and he took the name. It's Kaldea or something. Still great food; love the salmon tandoori, and aloo gobi and lamb korma.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haandi also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing