We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved the food!”
Review of Haandi - CLOSED

Haandi
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I loved the food!”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Haandi restaurant offers great Indian food. This is one of the best Indian food that I ever had. I recommend that you call ahead if you are planning on going in the evenings. The waiting can be quite long, but it is worth it. The decor is so hot, but the food yammmy! Go for it!
Haandi
4904 Fairmont Ave, Bethesda MD 20814 Hours: 11:30 am-10:00 pm (301) 718-0121

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank raquelcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    14
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, MD
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Haandi is now Kadhai”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The restaurant has moved a block away to 7905 Norfolk Avenue, Bethesda, with a new name. Same great Indian cuisine, freshly prepared, wonderful spices and flavors, and a few new items on the menu. Service is pleasant and efficient.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank der_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Best local Indian food”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We love this restaurant. The food is authentic and tasty and always fresh. The naan is exceptional.
The servers are always attentive. I know the name has changed but the food remains delicious.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Haandi's name is changed.”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I love this restaurant but we went to their new location last night, and they changed the name. According to an employee the owner kept a Virginia location and sold off the Bethesda, and he took the name. It's Kaldea or something. Still great food; love the salmon tandoori, and aloo gobi and lamb korma.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian meal”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

This was quite special. My salted lassi was the best ever. Our somoza appetizers were freshly made an excellent. Garlic naan - exceptional. I had a lamb korma and my spouse had saag paneer. Both were quite good.

There was nothing on the menu that seemed terribly unique to the restaurant - all pretty standard fare - but the quality was simply the very best we have ever experienced. The service and setting is also excellent. Note, Haandi has recently moved to a new location a couple blocks away from the old.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank roboird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haandi also viewed

Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 
Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing