We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Haandi's name is changed.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haandi - CLOSED

Haandi
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Haandi's name is changed.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

I love this restaurant but we went to their new location last night, and they changed the name. According to an employee the owner kept a Virginia location and sold off the Bethesda, and he took the name. It's Kaldea or something. Still great food; love the salmon tandoori, and aloo gobi and lamb korma.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    14
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
143 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

This was quite special. My salted lassi was the best ever. Our somoza appetizers were freshly made an excellent. Garlic naan - exceptional. I had a lamb korma and my spouse had saag paneer. Both were quite good.

There was nothing on the menu that seemed terribly unique to the restaurant - all pretty standard fare - but the quality was simply the very best we have ever experienced. The service and setting is also excellent. Note, Haandi has recently moved to a new location a couple blocks away from the old.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank roboird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derwood, MD
Level Contributor
163 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very nice buffet.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

The buffet has a lot to choose from and the food is very excellent. It's also very good for vegetarians.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HRKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
126 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Reopened! Same great food, beautiful new digs!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

This Indian restaurant was closed for about 6 months and has just reopened in a new location in Bethesda. Each dish--eggplant, chicken curry, and shrimp--all excellent in ample portions so that everyone seemed to walking out with leftovers. The naan is great, too, served warm and freshly made. The staff is gracious about even packing up remaining naan and condiments, too. The couple next to us got their chutney and raita to go with their remaining entrees. The service is top-notch; just the right mix of attentiveness without hovering. If you're in a hurry, it's best to make a reservation; we waited about 20 minutes for a table--well worth it, though. The only thing we'd change about the new location would be a larger waiting area. With food this good, you can be sure there will always be someone waiting to get in.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryland54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“great choice for Indian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

There is a lot of bad Indian food in DC - but Haandi does it right. Don't let the small dining room put you off - the food selection is full and quality is excellent; traditional dishes made well. We were a party of 4 (1 vegetarian) and all agreed dinner was excellent.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank soy_latte_togo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haandi also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing