We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great choice for Indian”
Review of Haandi - CLOSED

Haandi
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Tokyo, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“great choice for Indian”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

There is a lot of bad Indian food in DC - but Haandi does it right. Don't let the small dining room put you off - the food selection is full and quality is excellent; traditional dishes made well. We were a party of 4 (1 vegetarian) and all agreed dinner was excellent.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank soy_latte_togo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    14
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Our go-to for Indian Food”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Haandi is always our first choice, go-to restaurant for Indian food. Even my extremely picky daughter loves the food and asks to return frequently. Drove by the restaurant yesterday and was sad to see that it is currently closed, but from their website I see that they will be reopening in a new location in Bethesda later this year.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Family Favorite”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

One of the best around. Love the staff. A great place to try indian our kids want to go all the time now. Especially like the lamb byriani (we always get an order of mango chutney to eat with it) and the chicken Masala is particularly good. Also love the potatoes with cauliflower and the chick peas.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DJuicebox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead City, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“An all time favorite”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Can't count how many times I have been pleased with lunches and dinners there! Lunch is all u can eat buffet, if you wish. That's where I fell in love with the food and service + really reasonable ! Go!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn Beane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best of many good Indian restaurants”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

It's the standard Indian menu but brilliantly done with great service. I love Indian food and have tried many restaurants around D.C., this is the best

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haandi also viewed

Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 
Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 
Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing