We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a fun night” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mussel Bar & Grille

Mussel Bar & Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
Mussel Bar & Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 356 Restaurants in Bethesda
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Elm Street
Description: We serve mussels & frites, wood-fired tarts (Belgian pizzas) with seasonal toppings, grilled meats and fish, salads, soups, sandwiches. As your server about our daily specials, we mix it up! We also have the largest selection of craft and Belgian beers in Bethesda! Happy hour daily with great specials and $1 oysters.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
132 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Always a fun night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We eat here every time we're in Bethesda (every couple of years) and always look forward to it. The place is popular and can get busy so if the weather is permitting we like to go a little early and get one of the outside tables - that allows us to people-watch and cuts down on some of the noise inside.
The choice of Belgian and European beers is great and most are served in individual glasses designed to enhance the flavor of the particular brand/brew you're drinking. The Classic White Wine and the Provencal sauces are both great and the sauce is wonderful for soaking your bread in. The Crab Dip is fantastic!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    106
    34
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mussel Bar”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Way too noisy including music playing loudly indoor and on the outdoor seating. Crowded and noise level too loud. Mussles o.k., fries are good.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great bar area... very good food, wine and beer...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

A tiny noisier than my preference... but a fun atmosphere... And it has a broad variety of steamed mussels... I recommend trying the "Mussels Provencal" :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Meh”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Expected more…got less. Server was inexperienced and didn't quite understand what we wanted. The entree came out 30 seconds after the appetizer. The mussels themselves were pretty gritty and unflavorful.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marc1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Attentive wait staff & host”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

My husband & I had read about the many restaurant options in Bethesda,Maryland- we opted to try Mussel Bar- glad we did. I would highly recommend reservations. We reserved for 8:30 pm, arrived a bit early to a bustling restaurant. We were greeted promptly at entrance and by 8:30 pm had our booth. ( due to noise level, a booth is preferable ) If weather permits outside seating would be nice. Our waitress was friendly & attentive, filled our water glasses frequently. I had the classic mussels in white wine with garlic, great portion and cost reasonable. My husband had the Kennett Square mussels & I think they were the best... We agreed we would do a return trip to Mussel Bar. Only negative was noise level.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Riceit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mussel Bar & Grille also viewed

 

Been to Mussel Bar & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing