We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”

Mussel Bar & Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
Mussel Bar & Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 364 Restaurants in Bethesda
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Elm Street
Description: We serve mussels & frites, wood-fired tarts (Belgian pizzas) with seasonal toppings, grilled meats and fish, salads, soups, sandwiches. As your server about our daily specials, we mix it up! We also have the largest selection of craft and Belgian beers in Bethesda! Happy hour daily with great specials and $1 oysters.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Food was fair and quite overpriced. Music was so loud we could not hear the waitress describe the specials and she had to go and ask the manager to turn it down, If you are a beer drinker there is a huge variety and you would enjoy that.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kcarbfaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    110
    34
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Beer, Pretentious Staff”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Awesome beer, and what used to be great service. But, our last outing changed my perspective. After ordering a good deal of appetizers and some good conversations with friends, we came to realize that our "45 minute wait" had become an hour and a half. When we brought this to the attention of the hostess and manager, we were dismissed. So much so that numerous other parties were seated ahead of us again. We calmly let them know that we had been waiting for some time - only to be dismissed once more. It was a busy night, sure. But for a place that asked for my cell phone number, gave me a pager and then ignored my place in line to show zero remorse makes me feel like my money would've been better spent across the street at a more friendly, attentive restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not Bad And Not Terrific Just A Restaurant”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

OK, love seafood that is well prepared and like to eat where you can carry on a conversation.

To start had to wait 20 minutes for a menu and by the time the order was taken and the food was delivered it is one (1) hour - yes one hour. Never waited so long to be acknowledged at a restaurant. The waiter was attentive, but did not know if we were in his area or not. So, where was management - at the front after they seat you.

Ordered mussel's and when they came at least 8 were not open. If the mussel is not open after cooking you should not eat it. The other party had salmon - arrived warm. When you are hungry you will eat anything.

If you expect to carry on a conversation at dinner you can forget that because the acoustics are horrible. We would hear the conversation of a group 5 tables away. They may have been loud but with all the other distractions being heard it was not a pleasant meal and it was useless to carry on a conversation.

Best place to park is at the public garage not far away.

This is one of those places you go to drink, eat and be merry. Not a place for business meetings.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelermir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Hard to find outside of Belgium or France”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Well-prepared mussels in many different types of sauce/broth. Very filling for the price. Yes, beers are a tad expensive, but they are Belgian or microbrews that are expensive in the shop as well. Not out of line for Bethesda. Bar service was efficient if not effusively friendly.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidOrtiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent Belgian Mussels and Beer”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is another place in downtown Bethesda where one can get a pretty decent meal without breaking the bank--although beer prices are, frankly, awfully high. Mussels are what one comes here for, and their preparations are outstanding. There are eight different preparations, and all are delicious. My favorites are the classic, the wild mushroom and bacon, and the Thai. For about $20 one gets a large bowl of mussels, bread to soak up the broth, and pommes frites with a homemade aioli. As I said, beer prices are steep, with the cheapest draft running $7, but there is a tremendous variety of Belgian beers and ales, and as long as you don't drink too much the meal price remains quite reasonable.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TBSIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mussel Bar & Grille also viewed

Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 
Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 

Been to Mussel Bar & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing