We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Restful and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mussel Bar & Grille

Mussel Bar & Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
Mussel Bar & Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 342 Restaurants in Bethesda
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Belgian, Bar, Seafood, Gluten Free Options, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Elm Street
Description: We serve mussels & frites, wood-fired tarts (Belgian pizzas) with seasonal toppings, grilled meats and fish, salads, soups, sandwiches. As your server about our daily specials, we mix it up! We also have the largest selection of craft and Belgian beers in Bethesda! Happy hour daily with great specials and $1 oysters.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Restful and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Do not expect sophistication in style or decor, but do expect good value in an informal ambiance. I had the mussels in ham and mushroom sauce - absolutely delicious and with wonderful bread, my wife had the lobster roll and she loved it. Plenty of parking nearby.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chunkyunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    98
    32
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Placid, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unique and Delectable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The foodie-mecca, Bethesda, has a great addition with Mussel Bar. Unique ambiance, soft and inviting, Mussel Bar confidently strays away from the cookie cutter menu. Offering an amazing assortment of imported beer and specialty house cocktails, there is something that is sure to satisfy both those who are adventurous and those who stick to their safe drinks. They perfect the art of simplistic cooking and run with it. I've been here for brunch, dinner, and late night and have been satisfied time after time. If the menu gets you in the door then the service will make you come back again. Polite, knowledgeable and human the staff at Mussel curb the stereotypical interview style dining out experience. They have a open kitchen that is spotless and that carries all throughout the restaurant. If you're looking for a place to unwind, relax and fill up on something delicious -stop here, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eatdrinktravellife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good but perhaps pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I'm not much of a seafood fan but dined here with a few friends. The French Dip special was very good, but at $15 for a sandwich and fries and another $11 for a beer I think I could have done better elsewhere for the money.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank E C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unique, inventive, delicious, and a great beer selection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I must say that the night we went there was no wait list. Usually this restaurant has a long one. But I think that because it was on a weekend where people were probably at Christmas parties or traveling we went right in and were seated immediately. I had been wanting to eat here for awhile and when the opportunity came up we went with it. It has a nice, casual atmosphere. Our waitress was extremely knowledgeable about the beer selection...which was extensive. I'm not a beer lover but when I'm at a Belgian style restaurant I do indulge. Our waitress suggested beers based on what we were telling her and we loved what we eventually ordered. First course was a dozen raw oysters. she had said they were on the small side so we knew they wouldn't be the big plump kind we wanted. When they came out though, they were still very tasty and plumper than we thought they'd be. We ordered the roasted beet salad with frisee and radiccio which was fresh and cold and flavorful. The mussel selection was diverse and interesting. The mussels themselves were juicy and plump, not overlooked as some can be. Overall this is a really nice place to go with friends to wind down and relax with good food and drink. I highly recommend it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gsinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great food, diverse beer selection, good wine and tasty cocktails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

If you like mussels and bistro-style dining, Mussel Bar is a must if you are hitting the Bethesda restaurant scene. If you are a beer aficionado, the choice of beers is staggering. They do wonderful things with other types of seafood besides mussels, i.e., seafood stew with shrimp, mussels and scallops; the lobster rolls are to die for. Great flatbreads, too and very reasonably priced happy hour specials. They do a really tasty charcuterie/cheese plate also, that can be a meal in itself. The restaurant is good-sized but the bar is small; if you want to sit there, get there early, especially on a Friday or Saturday.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank catwomyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mussel Bar & Grille also viewed

 

Been to Mussel Bar & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing