We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a Diner Experience”
Review of Tastee Diner

Tastee Diner
Ranked #26 of 360 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great for a Diner Experience”
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Tastee Diner is an institution in Bethesda and deservedly so. I recommend it for breakfast, especially if you crave such down-home items as grits and scrapple. (I believe that breakfast is served all day.)

It is notable that Tastee Diner is an authentic diner, rather than a new establishment pretending to be an authentic diner. The service, while efficient, is open-hearted. The food is probably better at a couple of places nearby, but Tastee Diner excels because it is a soul-satisfying. Prices are old-fashioned, too.

If you are looking for an authentic diner experience, Tastee Diner is well worth trying.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ANetliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    53
    30
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A meal for your memories”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Tastee Dinner is still in its very old location in its dinner car style from the mid-20th century. Inside, besides seats at the counter, the booths still have rock and roll music you can play for a quarter using the old-fashioned jukebox method. The waitresses and cooks know what they are doing. After a few times here you will be a "regular" and the kind of coffee you want will be poured while you sit down. The hash-browns are excellent as are the huge pancakes, omelets and everything else you order. Their rice pudding is exceptional (ask for it to be heated up). It is very inexpensive for what you get and the whole experience is a lot of fun as well as very tasty.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devils Tower, Wyoming
Level Contributor
90 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Diner Food; the 60's Live on at the Tastee Diner.”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I've been eating at the Tastee Diner since the early 1960's. The place is Great...and unchanging....and still the original "Greasy Spoon". Why go to a diner that has re-modeled to become "retro". This place hasn't changed for 50 years! Yes, the same old jukeboxes at each booth, with the short-order cook cracking egs with one hand while he flips the Homefries with the other. Portions are generous to where the food laps over the edge of Your plate and they are Open from early-to-late (don' teven know if they ever shut the grill off...). I am far, far away from the Washington DC area now, but Every Time I visit "back Home" a meal at the Tastee Diner is High on my list of priorities. You won't be disappointed !!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wyomingpianoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern NJ
Level Contributor
100 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We went to this diner based on other reviews on this site mostly because we had a young child who wanted soup for dinner and we were on a budget. The place was pretty empty for a Sunday evening which should have clued us into what to expect. It looked rather run down and there was a lot of trash on the floors under the booths. We were not impressed with the limited menu selections. We asked our waitress if they still served the breakfast items and we got a sarcastic reply to the affirmative. In fact she was rather sarcastic during the entire meal which wore thin quickly. We had the chicken rice soup (only choice), a bowl of chili (with American cheese slices on top) and a grilled reuben with a side of overly crispy onion rings. We did not have large portions either but maybe because we did not have the dinners. I couldn't help thinking what a gold mind the place could be if they just spruced it up and went for a cleaner 1950s diner with burgers and shakes instead of having such a run down tired looking place. At least my grandson enjoyed putting quarters into the jukebox. Don't think we will return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank russofSNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly & fun”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Love this place & my duaghter who's 12 also does. Big portions and don't forget to ask them to box up what you can't eat to take away with you - we forgot the first time!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Birdioso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tastee Diner also viewed

Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 
Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 

Been to Tastee Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing