We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Selection selection” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Original Pancake House

The Original Pancake House
Ranked #24 of 351 Restaurants in Bethesda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Selection selection”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

First off friendly staff friendly service from the time you walk in the door.
The selection of pancakes and crepes covered about everything you could think of. Fresh squeezed orange juice good portions fast service great breakfast

Helpful?
Thank Tazmwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    59
    29
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food, challenging location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

Was in town on business and went here strictly from the TripAdvisor Reviews. Good food but I did not find the right parking, which meant I could not get my ticket validated. The restaurant is not visible from the street but I had Google Street viewed it and had an idea where to find it. It even has a street view of inside the restaurant. So, if you can find the correct parking and get here, here's the rest of the story.
The food was great. Super tasty pancakes and hash browns. I got a little of everything (eggs, sausage, oj, fruit), it was all good. I did not have much time and they accommodated quick service. Overall Great food, reasonable price (not cheap, not expensive), challenging to find fro an out of towner (specifically the parking).

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pilot8766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast Option”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

I love the Pancake House for its excellent eggs and (especially) thick-cut bacon. Spouse is less enamored than I, but it is one of the better places in Bethesda for breakfast. Portions are large, value is good, service is prompt and no-nonsense, atmosphere is average. It can be crowded on weekend mornings-- deservedly so.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ANetliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wish there was one in my city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

I ate there twice while in Bethesda and enjoyed it both times. There is a wide selection of food, though I loved the pumpkin pancakes and the mango crepes the best. They also have tasty freshly squeezed orange juice.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alisha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Old time charm.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

I met friends here for breakfast this morning, and it was delicious. It has a sort of retro feel. Our waitress was very attentive and the food was delicious. I ordered the apple pancake and it was Huge and yummy. I felt it was a little pricey (10.75), but it is Bethesda, so that is to be expected. A word of warning. It was a little hard to find because it faces a pedestrian area. Also, you can get free validated parking in the parking garage under the shopping plaza.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Boonstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Original Pancake House also viewed

 

Been to The Original Pancake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing