We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The "Cheers" Bar and Restaurant of Bethesda” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Times Cafe - CLOSED

Hard Times Cafe
4920 Del Ray Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-2512
301-951-9652
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Bethesda, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
123 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The "Cheers" Bar and Restaurant of Bethesda”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The wings are great. The chili, specially the 5 way, is plentiful and tasty. The Beer is cold and icy, a treat for those of us who like it cold. The staff remembers repeat customers and treat you like the favorite side of family. A great family atmosphere especially with kids. Good prices too!
Great week day specials too on the price of food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    10
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Airy, MD
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't Let One Bad Experience Guide You”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

After reading the review of the dripping water and burnt grilled cheese I can see why some would not bother with this restaurant. First off I don't blame that reviewer for the poor review. But that was one family and one time.

Since I moved my office to Bethesda I've become somewhat of a regular at many of the downtown restaurants. Hard Times is in my rotation and is one place I go to more often than many of the others. After visiting there over 15 times I can say that this is a good spot. Their salads are great, as are the burgers (discounted on Mondays). Try the root beer on tap, it's really really good.

For a moderately priced meal out this is one of the better places in Bethesda.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveinMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usa, Japan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Chili...even for a vegitarian!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012 via mobile

Fun place for a good lunch. They had a large enough selection to other a vegitarian chili & a veggie burger.....awesome veggie chili cheese burger!

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BradAndLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
229 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Go for the Chili”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

They have all kids of different versions of chili. And all of them are good. Burgers are good too. And inexpensive.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank GeraldWW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great hangout!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Yummy and very friendly wait staff! Had a very nice dinner.
Not the healthiest selections.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hard Times Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing