We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Madeleine French Bakery & Cafe

La Madeleine French Bakery & Cafe
Ranked #26 of 347 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: French, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

I love breakfast and this place is great for a quick, reasonably priced breakfast that is beyond the usual suspects (Panera, Au Bon Pain, Cosi).

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    55
    26
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kutztown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1,837 reviews
621 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,835 helpful votes
“Tasty choices at this self serve French cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We try to visit this small chain of cafes when we are in the DC area because of the great choices of very good soups, sandwiches, salads, pastries. This one in the heart of Bethesda has a small free parking lot and free parking at a local garage. We had excellent tomato bisque soup and a large croque monsieur with pasta salad--a filling lunch. There are also breakfast items and platters. Free refills on soft drinks and unlimited tasty breads.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pnemiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Delightful French cafe for any time of day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

I love the soup-salad-quiche or sandwich combinations you can order at La Madeleine. The food is superb and is an excellent value. We also went there for dessert one night. Besides their normal portioned desserts there are mini-desserts that are just the right size if you want a few bites of something scrumptious but don't want to overindulge. I haven't yet made it there for breakfast, but I am sure it will be awesome when I do.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Profco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kankakee, Illinois
Level Contributor
124 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Adored this little charming cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

CUTE place full of real French people; very charming and welcoming. Delicious French menu. This is an open kitchen counter service concept. The inside decor makes you feel like you are really in some cozy ancient home somewhere in the French countryside. LOVED IT.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KmomChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Tremendous breakfast !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Ate here whilst staying in Bethesda.

Helpful staff even tho' it is ,largely, self service.

SUPERB yoghurt with fruit etc, fresh bakery items too....and the OJ was wonderful !

Worth a visit for a quick bite or coffee - recomended

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank killie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Madeleine French Bakery & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to La Madeleine French Bakery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing