We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Lovely early autumn outdoor dining experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bacchus

Bacchus
7945 Norfolk Ave., Bethesda, MD 20814
301-657-1722
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 338 Restaurants in Bethesda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely early autumn outdoor dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We arrived 20 minutes before the kitchen closed on a weekend night and chose to sit on the patio outside. A great deal of thought went into the outdoor decor,,,a three-cascade water feature bubbling over subtly lit rocks, a lovely Japanese maple tree and barberry to accent the falls to really make the ambiance cornerpiece. This feature alone nearly counter-balanced the server pushiness, but, considering the restaurant was closing quickly, was somewhat understandable. Lots of lamb, eggplant, and chick pea dishes on the both the appetizer and entree menus, as expected. Classy, professional crowd. Reasonable prices considering the area, decor, food quality, and food portions.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank schobalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    25
    13
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seven Corners, Virginia
Level Contributor
558 reviews
347 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Tasty Appetizers, Poor Service, Meh Main Course”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We visited Bacchus for lunch with a group of colleagues from a nearby NIH. The place came highly recommended by friends and also by TA itself. Restaurant has a large outdoor terrace with a waterfall. That's where everybody seems to get seated when the weather is nice and a waiter moved tables together for our 10 people group quickly. We were given water and menus and that's when the long waits started. Lunch special consists of an appetizer and a main course for around $12+. We waited forever for an appetizers to come out. To be fair the appetizers were wonderful. I especially enjoyed Baba Ganoush. Then we waited even longer for main course. I and many of my friends were ordered Shawerma. Big mistake! The meat was very dry and french fries (specifically mentioned in the menu) were substituted with rice without first consulting with us. Overall, we spend 2 hours there for what supposed to be a one-hour quick lunch. :( I came away very disappointed and would not recommend it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Seth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
71 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good, fresh food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Having eaten middle eastern food most of my life, I found Bacchus to be a very good restaurant. We had a few appetizers before our meal and both were excellent (fattoush and eggplant salads). The meals were well prepared and tasty as well. Overall, a good experience. The lunch special, by the way, includes one item from the appetizer menu and one item from the main course - a very good deal!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VegasLovr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good food..Long wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Went for a family birthday celebration. They ushered us into a private,very attractive small room which we liked.
. However, we had a very long wait to be served. The waiter apologized and said one of the waiters was sick.Once he paid attention to us, the food was delivered to us in a timely fashion and they gave us free dessert to make up for the wait.
Their list of appetizers is extensive and delicious. We made a meal of just appetizers and we loved it.
I would go again but insist on better service.
The value for the food was fair but drinks were on the expensive side.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tamar115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I had the opportunity of dining at Bacchus twice last week. The first time on Monday night with just 4 of us and the second time on Saturday night with a party of 8. Both times we had an excellent experience. The food and service both times was excellent and helped make our stay in the Bethesda area even better.
We tried to choose a favorite dish but enjoyed them all. Both of our servers were very friendly and knowledgeable. We would definitely return when next in the Bethesda area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank drptravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bacchus also viewed

 

Been to Bacchus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing