We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good food..Long wait” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bacchus

Bacchus
Ranked #43 of 342 Restaurants in Bethesda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good food..Long wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Went for a family birthday celebration. They ushered us into a private,very attractive small room which we liked.
. However, we had a very long wait to be served. The waiter apologized and said one of the waiters was sick.Once he paid attention to us, the food was delivered to us in a timely fashion and they gave us free dessert to make up for the wait.
Their list of appetizers is extensive and delicious. We made a meal of just appetizers and we loved it.
I would go again but insist on better service.
The value for the food was fair but drinks were on the expensive side.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tamar115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    25
    13
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I had the opportunity of dining at Bacchus twice last week. The first time on Monday night with just 4 of us and the second time on Saturday night with a party of 8. Both times we had an excellent experience. The food and service both times was excellent and helped make our stay in the Bethesda area even better.
We tried to choose a favorite dish but enjoyed them all. Both of our servers were very friendly and knowledgeable. We would definitely return when next in the Bethesda area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank drptravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
185 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good Lebanese food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Good Lebanese food! I had the stuffed grape leaves - very yummy. My service was fantastiic! Ya - I'm a fan.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank whollows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
143 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Best Lebanese food ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Have been in DC for four days - this is the best meal yet. Bacchus calamari - excellent - fresh with a wonderful butter sauce. Salad and fish kabob appetizer also very good. I thoroughly enjoyed the Fattet Makdous - exceptional. This entree has a combination of pomegranate seeds, eggplant, ground beef, yogurt, pine nuts, garlic and crunchy flat bread. A very wise choice on my part - absolutely superb.

Pleasant outdoor seating. Great service as well.

I am hesitant to rave on about a place, but this was really quite excellent

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank roboird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Agree with prior review.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Food is very good if you're in the mood for something mildly exotic. Unfortunately the service does not live up. On our prior visit a couple of months ago, the server was excellent. Last night It was mediocre at best. Common thread?? On the prior visit the dining room was empty. Yesterday (Friday) evening it was about 75 pct full. Moral of the story,,, be in the mood for exotic food on a Sun - Thu evening,,, suggest to avoid peak times!!

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ObjectiveTruth13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bacchus also viewed

 

Been to Bacchus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing