We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice on Bethesda Row” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mon Ami Gabi

Mon Ami Gabi
Reserve with OpenTable
Mon Ami Gabi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 338 Restaurants in Bethesda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: French, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wisconsin
Transit: Mon Ami Gabi is a 10 minute walk from the Bethesda Metro Station.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great choice on Bethesda Row”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Having lived in Bethesda in the early 90s, it was a pleasant shock to see how much it's changed, including "Restaurant Row" where Mon Ami Gabi stands at one end of a long line of restaurants. I've been to the one in Vegas, so was hoping the service/food would be the same quality, and it definitely was. Atmosphere was quiet in the early evening when we sat down, but ramped up as the evening progressed, waiters were attentive and gave good recommendations,and the food was done well and priced accordingly. Out of three nights there we actually went twice, because we knew it would be consistent service, and we weren't feeling the rest of the choices on the block at the time. Living in the NYC/Northern NJ area, I wish they'd open up somewhere by us, because the consistency and charm would save me from mediocre/overpriced/inconsistent french bistro food up here!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Altosong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    269
    70
    24
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia PA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“An Oasis Along Capital Crescent Trail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This place never disappoints us. We bike from Silver Springs to DC and stop here on the ride back. If you're early enough, you can catch happy hour and enjoy a glass of wine with a small plate. The service is always friendly, even though we may be a bit dusty and in our riding gear. There's a bike rack just 10 yards from the door.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jimad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quality bistro fare in a comfortable upscale environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Mon Ami Gabi in Bethesda serves very good French bistro food in beautiful and cozy dining rooms decorated with dark wood. This was my second dinner there, and I chose again the steak and fries with Bernaise sauce, which I had enjoyed so much in the first visit (I'm all for variety, but sometimes it is nice to simply repeat what you know in advance you will love). And again, the steak was perfectly prepared and the fries and sauce as tasty as I remembered them being. I can also highly recommend the chicken liver mousse pate as a first course. The service was comfortable and efficient both times I visited. A great place for dining with friends or business colleages in a comfortable upscale bistro setting.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank opalsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria VA
Level Contributor
105 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good food, Very Good Service, but oh so noisy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very energetic atmosphere, very crowded at 6p (reservation) on a Saturday night, thank goodness for $7 valet parking. We were running late and didn't have time to look for parking or garages as we aren't familiar with the area. Good menu, lots of beef and seafood choices, waiter was friendly (not overly) and kept telling us to take our time when he realized it was our first time. Food was good...split caesar salad with spouse, had skate wings and pureed cauliflower, shared chocolate tart with tres leches ice cream for dessert. Husband had hanger steak which was tender and very tasty...great pommes frites (a special cut). Only "complaint" is that the vibe is very noisy and we could barely hear to talk. Side by side conversation was fine but across the table was difficult. Everyone seemed to be having a good time, it was just hard to hear.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ILiketoTravel55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Grove, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We're big fans of the Mon Ami Gabi in Las Vegas, so when we found out that we were staying 15 minutes away from the one in Bethesda, we had to go. The food did not disappoint, the service was fantastic. If you're going anytime soon, there is some construction going on which had our GPS taking us in circles - we called the restaurant for directions after our few failed attempts, and they were able to explain how to get to them perfectly. If we're in the area again we will definitely be going back!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mon Ami Gabi also viewed

 
Bethesda, MD
 

Been to Mon Ami Gabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing