We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“An Oasis Along Capital Crescent Trail” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mon Ami Gabi

Mon Ami Gabi
Reserve with OpenTable
Mon Ami Gabi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 351 Restaurants in Bethesda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wisconsin
Transit: Mon Ami Gabi is a 10 minute walk from the Bethesda Metro Station.
Philadelphia PA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“An Oasis Along Capital Crescent Trail”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

This place never disappoints us. We bike from Silver Springs to DC and stop here on the ride back. If you're early enough, you can catch happy hour and enjoy a glass of wine with a small plate. The service is always friendly, even though we may be a bit dusty and in our riding gear. There's a bike rack just 10 yards from the door.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jimad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    294
    82
    25
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quality bistro fare in a comfortable upscale environment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Mon Ami Gabi in Bethesda serves very good French bistro food in beautiful and cozy dining rooms decorated with dark wood. This was my second dinner there, and I chose again the steak and fries with Bernaise sauce, which I had enjoyed so much in the first visit (I'm all for variety, but sometimes it is nice to simply repeat what you know in advance you will love). And again, the steak was perfectly prepared and the fries and sauce as tasty as I remembered them being. I can also highly recommend the chicken liver mousse pate as a first course. The service was comfortable and efficient both times I visited. A great place for dining with friends or business colleages in a comfortable upscale bistro setting.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank opalsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria VA
Level Contributor
107 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good food, Very Good Service, but oh so noisy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very energetic atmosphere, very crowded at 6p (reservation) on a Saturday night, thank goodness for $7 valet parking. We were running late and didn't have time to look for parking or garages as we aren't familiar with the area. Good menu, lots of beef and seafood choices, waiter was friendly (not overly) and kept telling us to take our time when he realized it was our first time. Food was good...split caesar salad with spouse, had skate wings and pureed cauliflower, shared chocolate tart with tres leches ice cream for dessert. Husband had hanger steak which was tender and very tasty...great pommes frites (a special cut). Only "complaint" is that the vibe is very noisy and we could barely hear to talk. Side by side conversation was fine but across the table was difficult. Everyone seemed to be having a good time, it was just hard to hear.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ILiketoTravel55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Grove, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We're big fans of the Mon Ami Gabi in Las Vegas, so when we found out that we were staying 15 minutes away from the one in Bethesda, we had to go. The food did not disappoint, the service was fantastic. If you're going anytime soon, there is some construction going on which had our GPS taking us in circles - we called the restaurant for directions after our few failed attempts, and they were able to explain how to get to them perfectly. If we're in the area again we will definitely be going back!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
106 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“This is really classy family restaurant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

As a family we were here to celebrate a birthday. You really need to book especially for a Sunday lunchtime as folks are clamouring to eat here.
The service is always excellent and a fuss made of our 2 year old grandson. Nothing is too much trouble. There is a good variety of meals to choose from and the whole place has a really good atmosphere. The food is well presented and cooked well with variety of wines. It may seem a bit pricey but who cares when the overall experience is as good as this.
There are also Live Jazz evenings and these too can be a great experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve1724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mon Ami Gabi also viewed

 

Been to Mon Ami Gabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing