We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and consistently good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mon Ami Gabi

Mon Ami Gabi
7239 Woodmont Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-2959
301-654-1234
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mon Ami Gabi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 339 Restaurants in Bethesda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: French, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wisconsin
Transit: Mon Ami Gabi is a 10 minute walk from the Bethesda Metro Station.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Comfortable and consistently good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Mon Ami Gabi in Bethesda is a hit; it is always packed and very popular. It has great service and consistently good food, and is quite elegant without being too expensive. The menu is classic french bistro but has variety for all tastes. I particularly like the room in the back that can be closed off for private parties or large groups. Even when packed, the restaurant is quiet enough to actually carry on a conversation -- that's rare these days.

On the down side: be careful with the tile floor, even with rubber soled shoes it always feels slippery. Also, to their credit, Mon Ami Gabi does not push bottled waters like so many other restaurants do but the "filtered" water served has a very strange and chemical taste.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carlupi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    270
    70
    25
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
57 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Duck a L'orange!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Two of us went here for lunch recently since we've always heard good things about this restaurant. We loved the warm, whole baguette that is given at the start and we ordered a few other appetizers as well. The French onion soup is delicious - I enjoyed it more than at another well-known country French restaurant in the Washington, D.C. area. The soup had a slight sweetness to it and I will definitely order this again. We also ordered a caesar salad and escargots - both were fine but I've had better at other places. For the entrees we ordered the Duck a'Lorange and Trout Almondine. We enjoyed the trout but the Duck a L'orange is what I'll come back for next time! They give you half a duck which is cooked to perfection. It's accompanied with a delicious sauce that is not overpowering and the duck didn't have too much fat on it like at some other places. The next time I come here I'll definitely get the duck and the French onion soup!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kiwikobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tecumseh, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Wide variety of French food. Waiter was extremely knowledgeable about menu and wines. We had a large group and he was on top of everything.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
191 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Very excellent service. We took our parents here for their anniversary and the restaurant sent out complimentary glasses of champagne for the table. The steak and frites are well executed. Fish dishes, appetizers, salads, and desserts also were all well done. Good quality food and very prompt service.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great to go and Relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Nice to have a place after a ard day to sit relax enjoy wine and then dine
Service outstanding. Always checking your table to make sure you have what you requested. Dies not rush you

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bethesda26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mon Ami Gabi also viewed

 
Bethesda, MD
 

Been to Mon Ami Gabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing