We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place, excellent food”
Review of Mon Ami Gabi

Mon Ami Gabi
Reserve with OpenTable
Mon Ami Gabi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 364 Restaurants in Bethesda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: French, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wisconsin
Transit: Mon Ami Gabi is a 10 minute walk from the Bethesda Metro Station.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
134 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Fun place, excellent food”
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Do not go here expecting a tiny, hole in the wall bistrot. It is part of a chain, with restaurants in Illinois, and Las Vegas among other places. But it surely approximates the feel of a little bistrot - cozy bar in the front, separate dining rooms with tiled floors, chalkboard menus, jolly ambiance. So - it is a big chain restaurant - but never descends to the assembly line feel that you might encounter. Good food, good service, good wine - I always have fun and have a good meal when I go here. Steak frites are outstanding in every iteration, and the profiteroles are wonderful. Go early or go late, especially on a Saturday - otherwise you will have a VERY long wait.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DCvagabond1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    325
    93
    26
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
128 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Good little French bistro in the heart of Bethesda”
Reviewed October 2, 2011

My family recommended Mon Ami Gabi, and with good reason. The food, service, wine list, and ambiance were all very good. The boeuf wellington especially was a hit. I'd definitely return.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rockcreekgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good vibe restaurant with excellent service”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Above all, the service here is just fabulous. I have been there one other time. This visit I think I may have not chosen the best plate- the scallops (appetizers) where okay, a bit too much cheese and gooey for me. The salad was light and fresh- butter lettuce with beets. My mom absolutely loved her seafood crepes! We will definitely be back, I would like to try something else!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RakelG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
2 reviews
“Fantastic food and a comfortable atmosphere. Can dress up or down.”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I love this place. The food and drinks are delicious. The wait staff is friendly. It is easy to make reservations. All around yummy.

  • Visited November 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DCromance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
235 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Not really Frech, but an enjoyable dinner in Bethesda nevertheless”
Reviewed September 10, 2011

The menu is an eclectic mix of American, British and French food, served in the atmosphere of an elegant French bistro (with charming outdoor seating in good weather). Apart for the uniquely unappetizing fries which they inexplicably seem to have adopted as their trademark, the food is excellent and served in well prepared generous portions. I do I wish they had a more extensive and more diverse selection of French wines and offered a good selection of cheeses, but we still had a very enjoyable meal and were well attended to by the staff. It is not inexpensive, but makes for a nice meal out before a movie or with friends.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DCTravelerG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mon Ami Gabi also viewed

Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 
Bethesda, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 

Been to Mon Ami Gabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing